We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Little Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Made in Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Made in Louise
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect Little Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

My only regret is that my busy schedule didn't allow me to spend more time in the hotel. The staff was charming and helpful. The room was large, beautiful, and comfortable -- I would like to import the bathroom directly into my house. The hotel has been thoughtfully renovated with great taste. I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Brussels. All this and a delicious breakfast too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Effi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDucha, Directeur général at Made in Louise, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for this beautiful review! We hope that we are able to make it soon to Brussels again and enjoy the Made in Louise. I will share your message with the team, its the best encouragement they can have! Thank you, Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    230
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
118
422
78
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for a romantic break for the weekend in a superior room. Upon arrival and throughout the stay the staff were nothing but helpful and very welcoming. The room was fantastic with a spacious bathroom with a bath and overhead shower, which was very warm and powerful. The whole hotel area is very clean and bright with a free pool table for customers in the bar area.

Breakfast is included in the price and is of high quality and choice.

Made in Louise is located slightly out the centre of Brussels so be prepared to walk about 20 mins or pay the €3.40 return journey on the metro.

We were very satisfied with our three night weekend stay here and would certainly recommend Made in Louse to other couples looking for a hotel in Brussels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

In Brussels for the first time and attending a conference, I had no real idea of where to stay so depended on Trip Advisor and selected Made in Louise because it was in the Ixelles district and had good reviews.
On arrival quite late, I was delighted to be upgraded to a superior room on the 5th floor. The decor throughout was grey and white and it was all so calming and restful. My room was huge but the bathroom was almost as big with a double sized shower and huge bath. it took me a while to realise that the wardrobe was also in the bathroom!
The very large bed was very comfortable and the beautiful white shutters on the windows just added to the ambience.
The reception staff were very pleasant, cheerful and helpful, with a taxi ordered and waiting for us just ten minutes after our arrival. They also helped with directions and tram numbers.
The hotel was about 15 minutes walk from the Conference Centre and less than 30 minutes pleasant walk from the old town centre.
The breakfast room (The Eating Corner) was nicely laid out, decorated in grey, white and pink place mats. The food was tasty with a good of cake, bread, meat and cheese. There was also a selection of cooked food for those who wished it.
A few small issues (all my own fault - like forgetting the code to my safe!!) were sorted out immediately with a smile.
I was only sorry I had so little time actually in this lovely hotel because of my timetable. I would love to go back, sit in the small cosy bar next to the fire, play pool and just soak in all the little things like the paintings, sculptures and the teddy bear corner!! For now, I'll just need to look at the photos I took - even ones of my bathroom!!!

Room Tip: Don't be put off if given a room on a high floor - there's a lift for all but the 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gladysScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

For a romantic gettaway I chose this boutique hotel and was not dissapointed at all. As it opened recently the decor was still fresh and modern designed, but with a touch of 'home'. Staff was very friendly but also very respectfull of our privacy. I booked a superior room, which was huge, with a nice big bathroom. The bar is in the lobby and it was great meeting our friends there and have a drink at the fireplace. There also is a pooltable and stuff for kids. Breakfast was in a nice smaller room with a view on the garden. Breakfast was varied and nice.
All in all, a great and very cosy family-run hotel which i highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDucha, Directeur général at Made in Louise, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comment!
It makes our day ;-)! We hope to see soon.
Best regards,
The Made in Louise team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Paula, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I went to Brussels in October. So I expected a bit of grey skies. And well, no surprises there. The funny thing is that my room was very grey too. I booked a comfort room. It had 'the urban look' about it, including all the colors of a rainbow hidden by a cement tower in the mist. Well, no surprise there as well. It's what I booked based on what I saw online and it was actually great. The sunlight in Belgium is clearly people... and beer, or maybe both together! Service was awesome, breakfast very decent and the hotel clean and fun.
It's a great place for a week stay. The location is good enough to make it convenient too.

Room Tip: comfort is awesome if you are not allergic to grey (or if you drink beer)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlOrff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I booked this hotel because of the positive reviews I read on Tripadvisor, and I was not disappointed.

I arrived at the hotel at about 9 or 9:30 am, after an overnight flight from New jersey. I was able to get into my room at about 10 am, despite the official check-in time being several hours later. The room was small (I was in one of the "cosy" rooms), but the size was fine as I was traveling by myself. The room was clean and comfortable,and the bathroom was a nice size with a good shower. The (free) wireless worked very well. Breakfast (which was included in the room price) was ample and delicious. Some of the items available include: Belgian waffles; scrambled eggs, bacon, various breads, fruit salad, yogurt, cereal, fruit juices, and cheese. The coffee was excellent! I also can't say enough about the lovely staff--all were helpful and very nice. I also appreciated the recommendation of a chocolate shop--Pierre Marcolini.

The hotel is walkable to a number of attractions, as well as to the Gare Midi (or Sud)--handy for taking day trips to Bruge and Antwerp (which I did). Apparently international trains also go through the Gare Midi. There are also a number of good restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. During my stay, I had many types of food: Lebanese, Thai, Chinese, of course Mussels, and more.

I would definitely return to Made in Louise if I am ever back in Brussels. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingLibrarian11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed the first Saturday of October, allocated room 43 on the fourth floor which has a nice elevated ceiling, although the creaking ceiling and footsteps sound from the room above really ruined things and continued till after midnight. As as a boutique hotel I expected much more. Also breakfast room was quite small with a reasonable food selection, although with only a children`s cereal selection!
Mentioned the noise issue to the reception staff the next morning which was met with a quizzical expression. Overall a clean well looked after place, but on a noisy street which doesn't really allow you to keep a window open on a balmy night, coupled with no air con is an inconvenience.

Room Tip: If you're booking, ask for a top floor room if possible. Should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDucha, Directeur général at Made in Louise, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment! It really helps us to improve our hotel and service.
I would really like to apologize if you did not get your "dream" night; you have stayed in our "Maison de Maitre" which is a fully renovated house with an emphasis on soundproof. It remains of course a house that was build 100 years ago, which you will found charm and grace.

Like in all places, if we you have disrespectful people staying above you and jumping on the floor, you might hear it.
We have as well Comfort rooms and Cottage rooms (February 2014) that are extremely quiet and peaceful.

The hotel's location is in a very quiet street, secluded from the busy traffic, so I’m really sorry if you were disrupt during the night.

Regarding the cereals, it's true we have a kid's selection but as well a nice homemade " Granola".

Again, as a team, we are really trying our best to improve every day and ensure that all our customers just feel like "home". I am really sorry if we did not meet your expectations.

If you visit Brussels soon, don't hesitate to contact me directly for the booking, I'll do my best to change the opinion you have on MIL!

Best regards,

Martin Duchateau
General Manager
Made in Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
1.2 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
1.4 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brussels Welcome Hotel
Brussels Welcome Hotel
#8 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
1.2 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#10 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Made in Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Made in Louise

Property: Made in Louise
Address: Rue Veydt 40, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium (Formerly Louise Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Family Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Made in Louise 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Made In Louise HotelThe Made In Louise … your Brussels boutique hotel where grace and charm are a way of life. Where guests enjoy the kind of hospitality that can only be experienced in a family owned and operated hotel. Discover this unique and relaxing environment in a historic early 20th century building on a quiet street.The ideal boutique hotel in Brussels, the Made In Louise offers personalized and unique service. Entirely refurbished in 2012, the hotel’s 48 rooms in Brussels Belgium are bright, comfortable, and full of character.At Made In Louise, our family welcomes you as a privileged guest. Enjoy the grace and intimacy of a private residence, and the distinctive touches of our Made in Market & Bar and our Made in Breakfast, where you’ll enjoy the authentic tastes of Belgium.Welcome to the Brussels Boutique hotel where you’ll feel at home from the moment you enter.Welcome to Made In Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Made in Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Made In Louise Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing