We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor sound proofing ruined occasion”
Review of Made in Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Made in Louise
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor sound proofing ruined occasion”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed the first Saturday of October, allocated room 43 on the fourth floor which has a nice elevated ceiling, although the creaking ceiling and footsteps sound from the room above really ruined things and continued till after midnight. As as a boutique hotel I expected much more. Also breakfast room was quite small with a reasonable food selection, although with only a children`s cereal selection!
Mentioned the noise issue to the reception staff the next morning which was met with a quizzical expression. Overall a clean well looked after place, but on a noisy street which doesn't really allow you to keep a window open on a balmy night, coupled with no air con is an inconvenience.

Room Tip: If you're booking, ask for a top floor room if possible. Should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDucha, Directeur général at Made in Louise, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment! It really helps us to improve our hotel and service.
I would really like to apologize if you did not get your "dream" night; you have stayed in our "Maison de Maitre" which is a fully renovated house with an emphasis on soundproof. It remains of course a house that was build 100 years ago, which you will found charm and grace.

Like in all places, if we you have disrespectful people staying above you and jumping on the floor, you might hear it.
We have as well Comfort rooms and Cottage rooms (February 2014) that are extremely quiet and peaceful.

The hotel's location is in a very quiet street, secluded from the busy traffic, so I’m really sorry if you were disrupt during the night.

Regarding the cereals, it's true we have a kid's selection but as well a nice homemade " Granola".

Again, as a team, we are really trying our best to improve every day and ensure that all our customers just feel like "home". I am really sorry if we did not meet your expectations.

If you visit Brussels soon, don't hesitate to contact me directly for the booking, I'll do my best to change the opinion you have on MIL!

Best regards,

Martin Duchateau
General Manager
Made in Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    242
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
125
455
84
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I were very impressed by this hotel from the moment we arrived. The staff were very friendly and professional. Our room was huge compared to our accommodations in Amsterdam ... Our whole room would have fit within the bathroom at MiL! The hotel was clean and homey. It was about a 25 minute walk from brussels-midi (or a 10 euro cab ride). Most of the sights were within a 30 minute walk. Lots of restaurants nearby ... Strongly recommend the Italian restaurant right up the street, Ciao Bella.
The only issue we had was the wood burning fireplace. Although it added to the homey, welcoming atmosphere the smoke tended to linger on the upper floors ... Which could be a bit problematic for asthmatics or those with allergies.
This was definitely in list of our top 3 hotels!

Room Tip: The elevator only goes to the 5th floor so don't get a room on the 6th floor if you don't li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DogsLovingWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Made in Louise location, in a quiet upmarket neighbourhood is ideal for tourism as well as for business: good public transport, short taxi rides to centre and EC,

The hotel has modern, pleasant , clean and tasteful facilities. its staff is professional as well as friendly staff. They serve a super breakfast. And to cap it all, they offer excellent value for money,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireFairhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel has a really lovely feel to it and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. My husband and I stayed in a comfy room and there was enough space for a three night stay. The bathroom was clean and it had a good shower. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. It was a twenty minute walk to the centre but we enjoyed the walk and there were shops and restaurants around the hotel. We would definitely recommend this hotel when staying in Brussels and would stay again when we visit the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sezwez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

OK, so if you want some bang in the middle of Bxlls with 24 hour party action then this is not the place for you. But if you like somewhere quiet and comfy with a style that has been carefully thought through than just merely thrown together then this is the place for you. Bathrooms are spotless - perhaps the shiniest surfaces I have ever seen - beds comfy. Good wifi. Staff friendly (a rarity in this city I have to say). Perhaps walls are a bit thin but then it's a place to relax and sleep not party. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Durbs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setubal, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Having stayed in several hotels in Brussels this one is, by far, my favorite one. The reason why I do not stay there every time I go to Brussels is the location, since it is a bit of a walk to the Metro station.
Apart from that I really enjoy the hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are cosy, large and very comfortable. It is true there is no place like home, but you will definitely feel at home if you stay in this hotel.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank EUAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pyeongtaek, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with very helpful staff. The rooms are very clean and chic. I stayed in a single room and although it was quite narrow, I had everything I needed for a weekend stay; perfect for one person. There was no safe for valuables in the room which didn't bother me considering I didn't have a need for one (A friend stayed in a double room where there was a safe). Not sure how the room would be during the summer with no air conditioning, but the opened window and nice cool weather made it comfortable (mid August visit). There is free wifi and the breakfast, particularly the waffles, was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cols97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
1.4 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 199 in Brussels
591 reviews
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
1,774 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Made in Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Made in Louise

Property: Made in Louise
Address: Rue Veydt 40, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium (Formerly Louise Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Family Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Made in Louise 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Made in Louise is a Brussels boutique hotel where charm is a way of life. Guests can enjoy the kind of hospitality that can only be experienced in a family-run setting. Discover this relaxing environment in a historic early 20th century building situated on a quiet street. Made In Louise offers a personalized and unique service for your every need. Each of the hotel’s 48 rooms are bright, comfortable, and full of character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Made in Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Made In Louise Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing