We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hope it improves and succeeds.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Made in Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Made in Louise
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
185 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Hope it improves and succeeds.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Read the reviews and thought this was for us. Well, it wasn't. We are in our 70's and found that the stairs were too much. Must walk up a dozen stairs to reach reception. Kind of hard with luggage. Melanie is fantastic and suggested we use garage entrance which leads right to lift. Room, Comfy size, was very small. That's saying something coming off a river (Danube) ship cruise. Very little storage. Bathroom, water pressure, bed and breakfast very good. Hotel needs to find good cleaning help. Shows signs a neglect even though recently painted. When Melanie is not present hotel drops a notch. Could use a common computer. Might increase bar sales. Night nan from Algeria was really good guy. I could not say this is for seniors. Not the best location either.

Room Tip: Ours overlooked the street. Overlooking the back woul be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chienee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDucha, Directeur général at Made in Louise, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear "chienee",
Thank you very much for your comments! We appreciate receiving feedbacks such as yours, which allow us to improve our services.
Regarding the stairs, unfortunately there is not much we can do. The hotel's main building is 100 years' old and we were keen to keep the original atmosphere, the spirit and the beauty of the achitecture during the renovations. As a result, as you rightly mention, there are a few stairs at the entrance and in some bedrooms. We have a lift that goes to the 5th floor but you might have to climb a few stairs nevertheless. (This was really difficult to avoid if we want to keep the charm of a "Maison de Maitre").
I am happy to read that Melanie suggested you to use our garage entrance.
Regarding your room, you stayed in our Comfort room which is our "Standard" room, very convenient for travellers on the move. If you stay a little longer and require more space, we have our Charming or Executive rooms, which are situated in our "Maison de Maitre"; very spacious rooms with high ceilings.
It is essential for us to have several room types that would suit different needs.
Regarding the service, I will of course transfer the message to Melanie and Chafik (our night receptionist).
We really apologize if we did not match your expectations!
We hope to see you in the near future to experience one of our Executive room!

Best regards,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    235
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
124
430
79
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is situated on a nice quiet street near to the action. The rooms feature 4-5 meter high ceilings and are basically brand new. The hotel has a great feeling that you are guest in someone's home. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant they recommended was spot on of what I was looking for.

The property has a really charming lobby and common area including a billard's table.

All in all, I can see why this is the top rated hotel in Brussels.

My only negative about this hotel is: it is not the best suited for a business traveller. Yes they have free wi fi, but I like to have a big desk work station with a comfy executive chair. So it's for this reason only that I give it a very good rating instead of excellent. All other points are great!

So if you are on holiday, this is your place.

Room Tip: I had an executive room. Only a few € more and it was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chadmidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I agree with all positive reviews written here: it is a beautiful and cosy nest with very good taste. Breakfast is very good and the "eating corner" is absolutely charming. You will not be disappointed. We loved it so much that we are coming back this Summer.

Room Tip: Room 54 is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FB218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

During our 3 week European visit, staying at boutique hotels in Paris, London and Amsterdam, this one is by far the best. Wonderful atmospher, light, open, airy and warm. Outstanding service. Rooms very well appointed. Very good value. Highly recommend. Extended our stay in Brussels just to have another night at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryJane65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Louise is a little gem. Friendly helpful staff and breakfast standout. The area is quiet and the great team have plans to expend the business. Nice lounge bar area for a glass of good Belgium beer. Room was quite small but larger were available..

Room Tip: Mine was a basic room which was OK but perhaps go for a more expensive option
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The four of us, all experienced travelers, have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Made in Louise, a small hotel in a refurbished building just a few blocks from the bustling Avenue Louise. From the warm greeting to the beautifully appointed public areas, comfortable rooms, and generous breakfast, we found everything perfect. Martin, Alix, and Naomi helped us arrange excursions, taxis, and restaurant reservations, all with a smile. Reserve well ahead of time for a stay in this beautiful haven. And take advantage of the incredible restaurants just a block or two away.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ReturningIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A newly open hotel, away from main city center but located in a really nice area (Ixelles) where you'll find a great deal of bars, cafe, restaurants and real Brussel's life.
Hotel is extremely quiet and everything inside is up to expectations. Quality materials, cleanliness, and a great staff. Breakfast is excellent. Honestly one of the best stay in Brussels. Will definitely go back there!.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, and for ultimate quietness ask for a backyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebastien g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
1.4 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brussels Welcome Hotel
Brussels Welcome Hotel
#8 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
1.2 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#10 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Made in Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Made in Louise

Property: Made in Louise
Address: Rue Veydt 40, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium (Formerly Louise Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Business Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Made in Louise 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Made in Louise is a Brussels boutique hotel where charm is a way of life. Guests can enjoy the kind of hospitality that can only be experienced in a family-run setting. Discover this relaxing environment in a historic early 20th century building situated on a quiet street. Made In Louise offers a personalized and unique service for your every need. Each of the hotel’s 48 rooms are bright, comfortable, and full of character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Made in Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Made In Louise Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing