We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”
Review of Made in Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Made in Louise
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Louise is a little gem. Friendly helpful staff and breakfast standout. The area is quiet and the great team have plans to expend the business. Nice lounge bar area for a glass of good Belgium beer. Room was quite small but larger were available..

Room Tip: Mine was a basic room which was OK but perhaps go for a more expensive option
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    236
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
124
439
81
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The four of us, all experienced travelers, have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Made in Louise, a small hotel in a refurbished building just a few blocks from the bustling Avenue Louise. From the warm greeting to the beautifully appointed public areas, comfortable rooms, and generous breakfast, we found everything perfect. Martin, Alix, and Naomi helped us arrange excursions, taxis, and restaurant reservations, all with a smile. Reserve well ahead of time for a stay in this beautiful haven. And take advantage of the incredible restaurants just a block or two away.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ReturningIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A newly open hotel, away from main city center but located in a really nice area (Ixelles) where you'll find a great deal of bars, cafe, restaurants and real Brussel's life.
Hotel is extremely quiet and everything inside is up to expectations. Quality materials, cleanliness, and a great staff. Breakfast is excellent. Honestly one of the best stay in Brussels. Will definitely go back there!.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, and for ultimate quietness ask for a backyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebastien g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in March.The immediate friendly welcome on arrival lasted throughout our stay-with pleasant, enthusiastic delightful staff always helpful and aware of treating us as guests with individual tastes and wishes . Our requests were treated efficiently and with an eagerness to help.This hotel manages to be tasteful -beautifully designed but extremely comfortable with a log fire in the lounge and an absolutely delightful breakfast room with a superb range of food to suit everyone.Our bedroom was peaceful and spacious. We just felt so much at home here and would gladly stay again .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearsiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed for a night in the Made in Louise and had booked the executive room, which is the largest and most expensive room category. The room was truly stunning, five meter high ceilings, spacious, bright, a huge bathroom. The entire hotel is decorated with a lot of modern charm, for lovers of boutique hotels Made in Louise is a true find. Given the convenient location and the standard, the price is really reasonable.

The only matter of complaint was the breakfast. We entered the beautiful breakfast room at 10:00 am on a Sunday, breakfast was supposed to be served until 10:30. However, we found the plates and bowls on the buffet table almost empty and had to scrap together the leftovers. Although there were two servers around, the girls preferred to clean up the kitchen instead of re-filling the buffet. I had to ask for basics like butter and orange juice. When one of the girls brought out the butter, she pointed out to the margarine which was on the buffet table. I didn't want margarine, but butter! At least four more people entered the room while we were eating and yet, the staff still thought it was not necessary to bring more food out. For 155 Euros per night I do expect that I don't have to scrap my breakfast together. The quality of what was available was good - something also confirmed by other reviews - but in our case breakfast was a huge disappointment. Also the coffee was horrible.

The staff generally seemed spaced out. Apart from one girl at the reception who dealt with our arrival, the others were kind, but neither very fast nor quick in comprehension. Maybe it was a matter of language - when the receptionist offered a "free parking space" it did not mean it was complimentary but not occupied (not a big deal, we would have paid the 15 Euro anyways). Also, when I complained about the breakfast at the reception (to the same girl who was serving the breakfast room earlier) she apologized, but I'm not sure she got the point. "You could have asked for everything"...nope, a buffet is a buffet, and I do not have to ask for every single item.

Apart from the empty breakfast buffet, our stay was really nice and we would come back again. There's definitely room to improve the professionalism of the staff, but at least they're very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the court yard probably have the nicest view and are quieter. The hotel is in a renovat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDucha, Directeur général at Made in Louise, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment! I am happy to hear that you liked our hotel.
First of all, I would like to apologize if the breakfast did not reach your expectations. We are organizing several training for our staff in order to ensure consistent, friendly and professional service from the moment you enter the hotel to your Check out. For us it is really important, that you feel like HOME during your stay.
I will discuss your matter with our breakfast team in order to ensure that it will not happen again. Our aim is that all our guests receive the same attention and the same choice on the buffet despite the time.
Again I would like to apologize and we hope to welcome you soon!
Thank you,
The Made in Louise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A sea of calm in a busy city. Staying at the Made in Louise was one of the highlights of our 3-night stay in Brussels!

Conveniently situated near two major streets (Chaussee de Charleroi and Avenue Louise) it is in easy walking distance to trams, great shopping and restaurants.

We loved the quiet hues of gray throughout the hotel that made for a restful and relaxing environment with ecclectic details and lovely typography throughout. The beds and linens were comfortable and our bathroom (with bath AND walk-in shower) the size of a Manhattan apartment.

Breakfast was a delicious buffet of fresh breads and spreads with a Belgian accent (syrop de Liege, chocolate-hazelnut spread, jams, local cheeses), as well as cereal and hot items such as eggs, all in a bright, beautiful and inviting setting.

Management and staff were present, attentive and personable.

For one of our dinners we went to nearby Le Chou de Bruxelles (after reading a recommendation for it on TA) where we enjoyed a delicious dinner of local specialties hosted by equally friendly staff.

Wifi throughout the hotel worked well, and my only wish would have been an in-room safe to fit a laptop or ipad. I understand they will have them in at least some of the rooms soon.

While some of the finishing touches were still going on during our stay, it did not detract in any way from our stay, rather we were thrilled to be among the first to experience this delightful hotel. We look forward to staying there again next time our travels take us to Brussels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velocitytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I planned a stopover in Brussels to breakup my long trip USA-Africa. Saw the many GREAT recommendations for Made in Louise Hotel. The staff & hotel did not disappoint. They are going through some renovation...so bare with them for a bit as rooms are completed. Melanie @ the front desk could not have been nicer w/ checkin, luggage & greeting. And she made a nice little sandwich after I arrived - and found myself famished. The morning breakfast is really excellent. Lots of choices, not just bread, rolls & coffee.

One note: the hotel is on a quiet street, but there are lots of cafés & sites nearby. Do know that if you are taking a taxi to/from the airport, it's about 50 Euros each way. Expensive.

I would definitely stay @ Made in Louise next time. Clean, comfortable, great staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDF713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
1.4 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brussels Welcome Hotel
Brussels Welcome Hotel
#8 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.2 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#9 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Made in Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Made in Louise

Property: Made in Louise
Address: Rue Veydt 40, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium (Formerly Louise Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Family Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Made in Louise 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Made in Louise is a Brussels boutique hotel where charm is a way of life. Guests can enjoy the kind of hospitality that can only be experienced in a family-run setting. Discover this relaxing environment in a historic early 20th century building situated on a quiet street. Made In Louise offers a personalized and unique service for your every need. Each of the hotel’s 48 rooms are bright, comfortable, and full of character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Made in Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Made In Louise Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing