We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local cuisine at it's best!”

Le Chou de Bruxelles
Ranked #1 of 180 Restaurants in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $38
Cuisines: Belgian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Since 20years our restaurant have the pleasure to serve you a local cooking in a "belgo-belge" decoration, our specialty, the mussels, prepared in more then 30 kinds, built our reputation and well outside our borders. In good weather, a beautiful garden will welcome you.Special in Brussels, you can compose yourself your Menu "à la carte" for 29€: starter, main course and dessert to choose in the menu.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Local cuisine at it's best!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

The mussels were amazing (bring hunger with you), me and my wife recommend getting the fixed menu so you can have an amazing price/variety feast!!!

Helpful?
Thank Felipe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    294
    31
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
277 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Very good Belgian Restaurant with a Plethora of mussels varieties”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great, friendly service, good value and brilliantly executed moules. The chips were brilliantly Belgian, crispy on the outside and soft in the middle. My moules were recommended by the house and were excellent. Enjoy with one of the draught beers and good bread basket.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hypothalamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect Dinner at the Chou!!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were many times there and it was always perfect: The prices are good for Bruxelles and everything I ordered (moules, lamb) was very tasty and good portions! The ambiente ist very nice, the poeple as well. I really recommand to go there for traditional belgian foot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Well worth the walk !”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Wanted somewhere a bit different away from the mediocrity of the Grande Place and certainly got it here. Its a bit out of town tucked away up a side street but still walkable and you wont be disappointed when you make it there (Probably only a shortish taxi journey if you prefer)

Has an excellent 29 euro three course menu with loads of choice. I think it also has a 4 course at about 35 euros or you can just eat off the carte. Place is busy with lots of atmosphere even if we were in the middle of the dining area which was a bit of a busy thoroughfare for the staff. Lots of what appeared to locals and regulars in there and pleased we booked as lots of walk ins being turned away on a Saturday evening !

First class seafood cassolette de fuit de mer. Croquettes de crevettes OK but a bit bland. Both had mussels for main course (although there is plenty of other stuff to choose from). Two huge pots of delicious piping hot mussels served with home made chips and bread. Both types of mussels were delicious and Mrs couldn't eat all hers ! Desert for her and assiette de fromage for me which was a huge portion. Couple of beers, bottle of wine, complimentary digestif about 80 euros. For the British amongst you that's just over £30 each at todays rates which we thought was excellent value. Service good and no probs at all if your French is cr*p!

Nice informal lively atmosphere with nice people and good food. Overall a very enjoyable dining experience. Would definitely return.

I think this place is typically Belgian (although no expert but just felt it!)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank applethug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic. I have eaten Mussels everywhere and the House Mussels with ginger, garlic and white wine are one of the best things I have ever tasted. Great service, the servers went above and beyond. It will become a regular stop whenever I am in Brussels

Helpful?
Thank sleeks22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chou de Bruxelles also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Le Chou de Bruxelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing