We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot by the river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nornalup Riverside Chalets
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed in the Western Rosella chalet recently whilst on a Motor Bike ride to the South West with 3 friends.
Good, clean and quiet with no mobile phone service a bonus. Well equipped kitchen and BBQ facilities available. Kayak and canoe hire onsite if you want to fish or explore the river. With a lot of site seeing in the area its a great location and Walpole only 10 minutes away for any shopping and supplies. I plan on another stay at Easter with the wife in the smaller Chalet the Firetail Finch ideal for 2 adults as the prices are very reasonable. We were lucky enough to see the Dolphins that travel up the river to feed on the many fish varieties.

Room Tip: All the Chalets are good depends on how many are staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Shackwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 40 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

Splendid wrens, twenty eights, rosellas, honey eaters, etc kept us company for a lovely evening meal on the verandah overlooking the Frankland River. Our overseas visitors were completely captivate by the bird-life. Only bummer was that there was no way to make a decent coffee.

Room Tip: Fairy Wren chalet closest to the river is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank mark_ncompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My Partner and I stayed 2 nights in the "Teal Duck" chalet that could accommodate 3 just last week. The chalet was the perfect size, basic but very well kept without any damage. The River is basically on your doorstop and you can easily hire kayaks or canoes from reception - for a reasonable fee. The hosts were also very friendly and helpful during our stay.

For a relaxing place to stay outside the main towns - but not too far away (10kms from walpole), I would definitely recommend giving these chalets a try. An affordable option for those that like the outdoors but are looking for a little comfort away from camping.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aus_traveller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed in the Firetail Finch chalet for just one night on our way through the South West and very much enjoyed our time there. The walk we took along the river was lovely and the staff were super friendly. The cottage had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable. The gardens and area surrounding the chalets is really pretty and well kept.

Would definitely recommend it to friends and family!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heodeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My partner & I stayed 3 nights in the Firetail Finch Studio Chalet. This Chalet is perfect for the couple who spend their days outdoors exploring this wonderful part of the world & simply need a place to lay heads at night. It lacks a fire place to warm up with (the heater worked fine but lacked the romance & aroma) & a lounge to fall into after a hard day touring & adventuring would be nice. Besides these small issues, it suited our needs perfectly. We took full advantage of the BBQ facilities onsite both morning & night. Whether we unwound with a glass of one of the local vintages in the evening or much need caffeine hit at breakfast, the wild life is astounding! Oh, & make sure you don't leave your doors open as the very friendly ducks will drop in to see what you plan to have for breakfast....for them. Location wise, the Chalets are close to all. We spent a day in Albany & a day in Pemberton. However, having said that, it was lovely walking & canoeing the Franklin River a short stroll from our front door. All in all, the chalet & grounds were well above average & cleanliness & we would have no hesitations in recommending this little piece of heaven.

Room Tip: The Chalet we stayed in was the smaller of the Chalets. If you plan to unwind and lay close to base...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itioonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki I, Owner at Nornalup Riverside Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for your review of our chalets and recommendations. We usually suggest to guests staying more than a couple of nights to stay in one of our larger chalets as Firetail Finch is our smallest chalet (but is also our most inexpensive). We appreciate your positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night in the Kookaburra chalet. We had a lovely time. The hosts were accommodating and helpful and the room was clean and had everything we needed. Vicki let us rent two kayaks the day before, so we could take them out early in the morning and check out upon return.

I would recommend it and say there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magdus82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki I, Owner at Nornalup Riverside Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are happy for guests to arrange canoe hire the day before to enable an early morning start on the beautiful Frankland River. Hopefully we will see you back again sometime for another stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Have stayed here twice, last time just before Christmas 2012, and also organised a walking group to use all chalets in June. Geoff and Vicki, together with Geoff's brother and his partner and of course pooch Gus, have worked wonders to make these chalets a very relaxing place to stay. All chalets are kept in top condition, and the three newer chalets on the left are highly recommended. And with a large BBQ for those meals on balmy summer eveninings. It's a great place to sit back and relax in the evenings, after Geoff has fed the birds, watching the birdlife and ducks patrolling the lawn. Very calm, relaxing location, only 10 kms from Walpole. No wonder that it's heavily booked throughout the summer season. Would always go back there when down that way.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkersWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki I, Owner at Nornalup Riverside Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our chalets. We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nornalup
10.3 mi away
Walpole Wilderness Resort
4.7 mi away
Tree Top Walk Motel
Tree Top Walk Motel
#2 of 3 in Walpole
142 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tinglewood Cabins
Tinglewood Cabins
#1 of 9 in Walpole
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Coalmine Beach Holiday Park
5.4 mi away
Rest Point Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nornalup Riverside Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nornalup Riverside Chalets

Address: Riverside Drive | Corner of South Coast Highway, turn into Riverside Drive., Nornalup, Western Australia 6333, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Nornalup
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Nornalup
Price Range: $85 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Frankland River overlooking the spectacular Walpole-Nornalup National Park within the Denmark region of Western Australia. Several chalets have river views. These fully self-contained chalets are only minutes from the Valley of the Giants and world renowned "Tree Top Walk". Also close by is the famous Bibbulmun Track that stretches from Perth to Albany. Other activities on offer are sight-seeing, canoeing, fishing, bird-watching, swimming, visit local wineries, Bartholomew's Meadery and the Toffee Factory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nornalup Riverside Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing