We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really is camping under the koalas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bimbi Park - Camping Under Koalas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have camped here twice now. It is a tranquil spot, close to the ocean with Koalas everywhere. There's great bush walking in the area. The hosts are wonderful and even cook pizzas for the guests. I seldom recommend places but this one deserves it.

Room Tip: We camped but they have really nice looking cabins too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 516 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in a deluxe cabin for three nights in early September. What an amazing place! You can read all the reviews you like but it still doesn't prepare you for the hundreds of koalas around there. Once you turn into Manna Gum Drive there they are! It's totally a surreal experience, I had never seen a koala in the wild and by the end of our three days they almost became a normal sight!
Our cabin was spotlessly clean, super comfy and just so peaceful. We had a lovely view over the paddocks where we sat quite a lot and just watched the birds go by. Heaps to do around the area, feels like you're a million miles away from anywhere yet Apollo Bay is only a short 25 min drive. Could not recommend Bimbi Park highly enough!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in the Family Deluxe 4 Star 3 Bedroom en-suite cabins in October. The cabin was clean & tidy. It was great to have a bit of space to ourselves to cook our food & put our feet up at the end of the day. The cabin has outdoor furniture on the decking which is great for an early morning breakfast or afternoon drink. You can spend a night by the fire if you bring firewood & use the metal fire bin provided. Excellent climbing frame for the kids including horseback riding & pony rides (recommend booking in advance). There are some many koalas! Also recommend some of the great walks in the area, particularly as Bimbi Park is a short 45 min walk to the Cape Otway Lighthouse.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank js37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

after staying in lorne camping with the kids we met a local who told us about this place & was about about an hr & half drive to it.was in the middle of nowhere though lovely forests down a dusty road & boy was it worth it not long after turning off the road you soon started to see them in the trees & the nearer you got to bimbi park the more you saw! the site was right in the middle of the park you felt really close to nature koalas were everywhere! our tent was right under a tree with koalas so close you could nearly touch them! if have had paid to go to the zoo you could not of got as close to them as these! the facilities in this site was the best one we had come across in the 5 weeks we were in oz a huge camp kitchen with everything you needed massive fridges & lounge with tv & outdoor bar-b-ques was spotlessly clean! showers you had to pay form as water was metered with it being so dry! Wi-Fi was free there no phone signal there but who cares! this place was magical to the kids was what oz was all about & by far was the best camping/caravan park we had stayed at if you have kids make the trip here you wont regret it! the price was fair & staff very friendly if I ever came back this way would make a bee line for here!

Room Tip: doesn't matter everywhere is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jezza2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have just spent a nights stay at Bimbi Park. For people looking for a great holiday showcasing Australias natural environment, Bimbi Park is certainly the place to be. We were woken in the morning by Kookaburras singing, cuddly Koalas in the near by trees and Kangeroos feeding in the paddocks. Our accomodation was a new modern style cabin, all facilities provided, including linen, tea and coffee and flat screen tvs. There is plenty of room for casual bookings, overnight and longer term stays, for those who love to camp, public amenities and a kitchen/lounge area available for all to use.
Owners Katrina and Frank were very hospitable, we would recommend a stay at Bimbi Park for all who want to experience a real Aussie bush holiday!
Elizabeth and Lakshmi, Geelong Visitor Information Centres

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a three-day family weekend at Bimbi Park over Father's Day. Booked in at the very last minute (the same day we arrived) but their online bookings system makes it all quite easy. On arrival the very friendly hostess (sorry, didn't find out her name) kindly upgraded us from a basic cabin to a deluxe ensuite cabin. The deluxe cabin looked quite new and was very clean and comfortable. An excellent standard of accommodation given the remoteness of the park. The park itself has great facilities including an updated communal toilet/shower block, coin-operated barbecues, fire bins, a communal hall, camp kitchen and shop stocked with basics. There's plenty to keep the kids occupied including a playground, rock climbing and animals. Bimbi Park seems overrun with koalas, to the detriment of the native trees, so you are guaranteed to see plenty. We counted more than a hundred, including a couple with joeys. There are several interesting bushwalks, though they were challenging for the kids. We did a half-day walk to the Cape Otway lighthouse (great place) and the 90-minute round trip to Station Beach (wild and remote but covered with rubbish and a bit disappointing). Apollo Bay, Otway Fly and other attractions all within driving distance of the park too. In summary, Bimbi Park is an excellent place for a family holiday but I would suggest you need at least 3-4 days there to soak it all up. The park is exceptionally well kept and professionally run. We went there on a bit of a whim but the kids loved it, so we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImFromMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Highly Recommended.

We have been there last week and they have upgraded us from a standard cabin to an En-suite cabin for free. Very cleaned. A lot of koalas running around. Very good amenities. Recommended for families and for young people too.

I also forgot a personal effect in my room and the posted it to my address for free!

Again, very recommended. Everything was perfect!

Hope the get there again in the short time.
Luca

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Otway
9.9 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
10.2 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
642 reviews
8.9 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#4 of 12 in Apollo Bay
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cape Otway Lightstation
Cape Otway Lightstation
#4 of 5 in Cape Otway
52 reviews
9.9 mi away
Apollo Bay Eco YHA
Apollo Bay Eco YHA
#5 of 34 in Apollo Bay
268 reviews
10 mi away
Skenes Creek Lodge Motel
Skenes Creek Lodge Motel
#11 of 12 in Apollo Bay
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bimbi Park - Camping Under Koalas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bimbi Park - Camping Under Koalas

Address: 90 Manna Gum Dr, Cape Otway, Great Otway National Park, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Great Otway National Park > Cape Otway
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cape Otway
Price Range: $37 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bimbi Park - Camping Under Koalas 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of the Great Ocean Road and the Great Ocean Walk, an area of magnificent forests, beaches, secluded bays and spectacular coastline. Sheltered among tall manna gums far away from the wearing noise of towns and traffic. Grounds full of wild life including Koalas, echidnas, wallabies, kangaroos and up to 70 variety of birds. We offer camping, powered sites, on site vans, bunk rooms, standard cabins and 4 star deluxe cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Bimbi Park - Camping Under Koalas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bimbi Park - Camping Under Koalas Cape Otway, Great Otway National Park, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing