We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly a Dream”
Review of Hotel Sempachersee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sempachersee
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottwil
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Utterly a Dream”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The room was immaculate. The setting out of a storybook. And the food? Out of a dream. This place is expensive and caters to the visiting clientele of the nearby orthopedic clinic. We stayed here while visiting the Paiste cymbal factory. One of the best stays I've had anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocMacNab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    36
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
4
5
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I was at this hotel for 5 nights during a business trip in the month of May. Its a quaint little hotel, next to the most beautiful lakes in Switzerland.
The 'hotel' set up was more like a motel, with rooms on two floors. Carrying large suitcases up two flights of stairs wasn't very convenient. The rooms were average - large and clean but spartan. The food was good to taste, but the spread lacked variety. Staff was polite, helpful and friendly. One does get the feeling of being miles away from 'civilization' but it also provides immense peace away from the hustle-bustle and also the feeling of being close to nature. It wasn't a luxurious stay, but it was a happy stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myreview2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

The entire hotel looks like an army barrack setup. That said, the hotel is quite comfortable and the breakfast was quite nice. The restaurant is also vert good but then it needs to be as there is nothing else around for miles. About the only thing close by are some swiss cows that you might be able to milk. Internet was good. Staff was friendly. I left with a nice positive feeling. The only consideration is that it is out in the countryside which you may or may not consider to be a drawback.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kcpeppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

As been previously mentioned the hotel is unusually designed in that they are accomodation blocks and a central unit with the the reception ,bar ,restaurant in it. we liked the room ,sparse ,modern but ridiculously hot ! Radiators going at full blast . unable to open windows as already a mosquito flying around the room . This feasted royally on us during the night.

Ate in the restaurant which tries very hard to be a fine quality dining experience but falls short. Staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozziesyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed for one night whilst driving down to Italy so the location is ideal for the first night following a reasonably long drive from Dunkirk/Calais and has plentiful, free parking The hotel looks a bit like an upscale holiday camp, with bedrooms situated in blocks adjacent to the main hotel (so the rooms are quiet). The rooms are basic and quite minimalist: you have everything you need, but without frills. The restaurant was superb - we sat outside on the terrace and there was a good selection of food and wine and a couple of English speaking waitresses. There is also a snack-bar/cafe and bar, neither of which we tried.

Room Tip: Rooms are not carpeted so I would guess the upper floor rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to Nottwil to tour the cymbal factory and stayed at Das Seminarhotel Sempachersee. It was magnificent. Das Restaurant was magnificent. The rooms were magnificent. We stayed one night, then went to Munich for two nights. We wish we had stayed two nights in Nottwil and one in Munich. Had the BEST time there. elegant, simple and sophisticated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I attended a 3 days seminar at Seminarhotel Sempachersee.
The hotel offers a very good self service restaurant and several seminar rooms.
On the second floor you find a bar which is quite busy in the evening.
Hotel rooms are located around 100m next to the hotel in separate buidlings.
The rooms are OK but nothing special.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hirsch72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottwil
1.9 mi away
Sonne Seehotel
Sonne Seehotel
#1 of 2 in Eich
157 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Vogelsang
Hotel Vogelsang
#2 of 2 in Eich
90 reviews
3.5 mi away
Birdland
Birdland
#1 of 1 in Sempach
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bellevue am See
Bellevue am See
#1 of 2 in Sursee
45 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Sursee
Hotel Sursee
#2 of 2 in Sursee
53 reviews
11.0 mi away
Seerose Resort & Spa
Seerose Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meisterschwanden
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sempachersee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sempachersee

Property: Hotel Sempachersee
Address: Kantonsstrasse 46, Nottwil 6207, Switzerland (Formerly Das Seminarhotel Sempachersee)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Nottwil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottwil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sempachersee 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sempachersee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sempachersee Nottwil, Switzerland - Canton Of Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing