We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A poetical heaven in the dire desert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bab el Oued Maroc Ecolodge
Ranked #2 of 16 Agdz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
378 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“A poetical heaven in the dire desert”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went to Bab El Oued, coming from charming Kasbah BahaBaha (see our critic) on our way back to Marakkech.
The place, though only few years old, is really charming, thanks to the beautiful garden, the nice bungallows that are built in traditionnal materials and using antiques, the warm and inviting swimming pool and, the excellent cuisine -bio from what was said- and, last but not least, the communicative enthusiasm of the owners, Mathilde and her Moroccon husband (whose first name I didn't catch though he definitely speaks fluent French).
Close to this charming maison d'hôte-very well suited for a few days halt- is a wonderfull Kasbah, formerly owned by Caid (sorry, again I missed the name), an opponent to Pacha Glaoui, who built one of the most beautifull Kasbah we visited in Morocco and that has a wonderfull inyard court spanning over three stores that dates back to the XVIth century.
Indulge yourself in a visit with one of the 10 local guides who won't count their time when evocating the past glory of the place (the fours caid's ladies, the slaves and the strong Jewish community he helped flourished as they linked him to the -then-global merchant place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famille_LENIQUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    23
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
75
107
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

After hours of hot, bumpy driving from Merzouga, opening the heavy wooden door into the gardens of Bab El Oued was like stepping into paradise. A peacock strutted past flowers and the only noise was birdsong. It was beautiful, quiet and tranquil. For a moment I couldn’t quite believe my eyes!
We stayed in the largest of the 6 wooden huts/rooms right next to the pool. The hut/room was rustic and cosy, decorated with a beautiful blend of Moroccan artefacts and European design. Our bed was the most comfortable of the whole trip – lovely.
Straight after we arrived at Bab El Oued we set off to look round the ancient Tamnougalt Ksar (a 5-10 minute walk away and definitely worth a visit). Our 3 kids were all exhausted and rebellion was in the air so we had to hurry through the dilapidated alleys and low doorways of the old fort. Back at Bab El Oued the kids soon relaxed in the beautiful pool.
Supper and breakfast at Bab El Oued were delicious – including organic fruit and vegetables grown in the gardens. The owners were really charming, providing a warm welcome and very attentive service. We were all sad to have to move on the next day. With hindsight I would have planned a stay of at least 2 or 3 days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquetta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
192 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Absolutely delightful in every respect . Very Eco friendly and perfectly built in a delightful palmerie .
Wonderful service , great food and total tranquility - it really doesn't get any better. European / French standard of construction and with perfect taste - not overdone - just right. The absolute perfect honeymoon destination as long as you can sacrifice the beach for a lovely pool!

Five stars all the way - will certainly return .

Fab, Fab , Fab

Room Tip: All the rooms are fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horacebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A True Oasis
This was the last riad of our 16 day tip of Morocco. After returning from the desert (Erg Chebbi) this was to be our last night before our journey home and I couldn't have asked for a more romantic and idyllic oasis to finish our wonderful trip. The photos all do the riad justice. It's location within the Draa Valley is spectacular. We relaxed and soaked up our stress free existence with peacocks walking around the beautiful garden, listening to relaxing music, drinking mint tea and eating dates picked right off the palm tree in front of us!! Who could ask for more? The rooms (cabins) are very well equipped and the food was excellent. The temperature was too cool to try out the pool but it looked delightful. If you are looking for a tranquil oasis ..then this is for you!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bud-Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

A lovely peaceful place to stay in the Draa Valley. It's right next door to the Tamnougalt Kasbah - an interesting lace to explore. The 6 individual cottages are cool & comfortable. The meals were good. The owners are very friendly and helpful - and even gave us a box of dates from their own palm trees.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonakilty, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent 10 days travelling around Morocco and this place was a real highlight..

We arrived at night and the pool and huts were lit up with morroccan lights; it was quiet enchanted. That combined with the music, the food and the ambience makes this place well worth the visit.

The owners were really lovely people - very friendly with great taste in food and music - she even gave us her play list (thank you!).

What sets this place apart for us is the 16th century Kasbah which is right next door:Tamnougalt. A stones throw from Bab el Oued. We went exploring with an inpromptu friendly guide - it was ancient and blew our minds. We were even invited in for tea!

Thank you for a wonderful stay at Bab el Oued - you are superb value and so peaceful. We live in Ireland, but Morocca was in a league of its own when it came to hospitality and warmth.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was absolutely the best part of our entire trip to Morocco and I would recommend it to anyone. I'd suggest you put this stay between two cities, as the cities are wonderful, but exhausting in every way. This is a great place to get a rest- although there is plenty to do here, you can also opt to just relax. It really is an oasis, and not far from the Sahara and across the street from an old Casbah, but inside it cool and the air is fresh with smell of flowers. The pool feels great when it's incredibly hot outside. Our last day there, the peahen's eggs hatched. The food was fantastic. I love this place and will be back for sure.
The owners were amazing and inspiring and welcoming. Be sure and go there!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neillhowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agdz hotels
3.7 mi away
Maison d'hote Rose du Sable
3.8 mi away
Chambres d'hotes Kasbah Azul
3.7 mi away
Dar Qamar
Dar Qamar
#5 of 16 in Agdz
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Dar Jnane
Dar Jnane
#3 of 16 in Agdz
53 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lodge Hara Oasis
Lodge Hara Oasis
#1 of 2 in Agdz
68 reviews
3.6 mi away
Riad Tabhirte
Riad Tabhirte
#12 of 16 in Agdz
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bab el Oued Maroc Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bab el Oued Maroc Ecolodge

Property: Bab el Oued Maroc Ecolodge
Address: Palmeraie Mezguita_, Agdz 45050, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agdz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Agdz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ecolodge Oasis Bab el Oued Morocco. Located in Tamnougalt (5 km from Agdz direction Zagora) in the heart of Draa Valley, in the south of Morocco. In the heart of Draa Palm Groove, in a 5000 sq m wide oasis where many species of flowers and fruit perfume the air, Bab el Oued Morocco just opened its doors. In an enchanting setting with Kasbah Tamnougalt and Jebel Kissan as background, Bab el Oued Morocco Ecolodge proposes you 6 independant unique bedrooms. Each bedroom offers full comfort including reversible air conditioning and a mixture of traditional materials for your senses' delight​. At the Ecolodge, each independent room is built according to unique traditional techniques inspired from South Moroccan Kasbahs: Clay and straw walls, tadelakt, wood and reed palm. They are all entirely powered by solar panels and equiped with reversible air conditioning, large bathrooms with walk-in shower and water saving toilets 3L/6L aerator (Dual Button) and comfort queen size beds. These unique all comfort Eco Houses benefit from a warm and personalized ethnic decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bab el Oued Maroc Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing