We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kasbah Oulad Othmane
Nearby Hotels
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dar Kamar(Ouarzazate)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Les Tourmalines(Ouarzazate)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dar Ahlam(Skoura M'Daz)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rose Noire(Ouarzazate)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveler rating
26
28
4
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
28
4
3
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 62 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent 3 atmospheric nights at the Oulad Othmane, hosted by the gracious Abdul Majid and his small hard-working staff. This is clearly a man who loves guests – he spent evenings (after serving dinner) sitting with us in the cushioned, carpeted dining salon (no chairs here), and during the day, took guests on a visit of the palmery which extends lushly from the bottom of the rise on which the kasbah and ksar sit. In contrast to the brown mud of the building, the interior is ablaze with colour – rugs, wall hangings, bed coverings.

On arrival, we stepped into the beaten-earth floor reception area with pillars soaring above us. Natural light came down through this light well, accentuating the effect of having entered a caravansaray. I expected to see couched camels being unloaded! Then up a narrow winding adobe staircase to a heavily carpeted hall with rooms off it and the exotic dining salon. Our rooms were comfortable and very traditionally decorated in keeping with the centuries-old feel of the rest of the building. One marvels at the realization that this massive building with its towers and terraces is made of mud and a variety of materials provided by the date palm. Because of its pise construction, it retained its warmth at night and its cool during the hot day.

Bathrooms were good. We enjoyed the dinners in the colourful salon, and breakfast on the roof terrace overlooking the gorgeous palmery. At the end of our trip, my companion and I agreed that of 9 hotels we had stayed in during our trip, the Oulad Othmane led them all in ambience and authentic traditional architecture. Recommended for any traveler seeking just that, but be aware guests need to be able to climb stairs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level, as opposed to the suite at the entrance level.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Fascinating ongoing restoration of a traditional mud walled kasbah, set at the edge of a traditional village. Once a large family house, the building has been transformed by the current owners into a very comfortable hotel with good rooms and bathrooms. And the food is excellent, with a great breakfast roof terrace overlooking the millions of palms.

Of course it's NOT bland 4 or 5 star international hotel style and it doesn't have level paved access, lifts or predictable facilities - it's much more interesting and charming than that.

Stayed for one night with my family and the owners couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.

Assuming you're going to Morocco to experience something of the culture and history of the country (why else would you be reading TA?) then you won't regret staying at this Kasbah. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Proper_Look-out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This Kasbah is incredibly beautiful and in a stunning location, surrounded by a real Ksar of mudbrick buildings, overlooking a large palmery and with desert mountains behind. Its beauty and authenticity also bring the minus points.
The owners, are very nice, the food was great and we were given a tour of the palmery. They have embarked on a fantastic project to restore the ancient family kasbah by traditional methods. The restoration is ongoing. The building is traditional adobe, tall and with high ceilings. Cavernous and gloomy in some areas. There are narrow stairs leading to a pleasant roof terrace with those magnificent views, or there is a small pool area with seating and again views of Ksar and palmery. Unfortunately the pool could have been cleaner and better designed, but was nonetheless very welcome. The floor we were on was pleasantly decorated with a large communal area centred on a light well. The airy dining area was very comfortable and pleasantly cooled due to the through draft. Our room was of adequate size and comfort, the en suite bathroom could have been better designed (it flooded if you showered).
The food was very good - tasty and huge portions (especially the lunch), although not always on time.
The gloominess and mud build are to be expected and welcomed in a traditionally constructed building such as this, it is also not normal to have aircon in such circumstances. But given the extremely high summer temperatures in this region it was basically impossible to sleep, and the bedroom we stayed in had no through draft (unlike the dining room).
All in all, beautiful location, building and concept, but still a work in progress and unbearable in summer. If rooms could be somehow cooled it could be excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GandNBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

This is an authentic Kasbah and you are literally transformed back in time. The owner is very friendly and proud to show you around his Kasbah and village. The rooms are basic but clean and the atmosphere is so very different. There is a Mosque directly in front but this adds a certain charm, if not an element of suprise. The swimming pool was in desperate need of a clean or at least being emptied until the summer months. The views from the roof terrace were captivating and a pleasant breakfast was served there. There is no doubt we have never stayed anywhere like this on our travels before but what an experience. I suppose you could relate it to Marmite........ Go with an open mind and remember this is not "package holiday" material. There is work going to improve the entrance, so avoid if you have any mobility problems.... lots of clay stairs etc. ....... Enjoy... as this Kasbah will be the talking point of your travels within Morocco for a long time to come.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALLYJWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dankasbah, Responsable relations publiques at Kasbah Oulad Othmane, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2011
Google Translation

Nous avons le plaisir de vous informer que les travaux de la terrasse de la piscine sont terminés depuis le 18/03/2011. Cette dernière est maintenant remise en service. Nous vous remercions d'avoir si bien présenté cette authentique kasbah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews