We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budgeted stay”
Review of Carnegie Motor Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carnegie Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Carnegie B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there with family for 3 nights. Overall satisfied with the stay. Bread toaster and micro wave were of good use. Free wifi was an added advantage, though the speed was not that much. Good locality too.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimchacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 29 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Awful, carpet dirty and not vacuumed, not all pillow cases had been changed, bathroom old and grotty, cupboard and fridge grotty, air conditioner filthy dirty and was a waste of time having it on, very very disappointed as we were sent there by staff from Cabrini Hospital.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pegs416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have stayed before and are staying again. Now, this is not a 5 star motel. If you want a 5 star then you will pay for it. The room is nice, bed is nice, bathroom is nice. What more do you want for the price and location?
We stay here because the price is right and the location is what we want. We use the room for sleeping. We are not living 24 hrs a day in the room.
The staff we have dealt with are nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The stay started off badly after being rudely informed by the motel that we had been classified as a "no show" for arriving a day late and "had we never heard of a phone". This was despite having emailed them a week before to let them know we would be arriving late and receiving an email confirmation back from them.

The room was not serviced everyday as promised. And on the days it was serviced it was not cleaned well at all. The carpets were never vaccuumed, the beds were "made" by just pulling the top cover over (the books that were on the bed were not even moved before pulling the cover over them), the towels were not clean (not even on arrival) and in a non-smoking room, it smelt like someone had been smoking in our room every evening when we arrived back.

On leaving we checked under the bed to make sure we had not left anything behind, only to discover 2 empty wine bottles that were clearly not removed after the last people had stayed in the room.

The staff we found to be extremely rude and unhelpful.

Would definitely not stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

When we drove into the motel I thought at first glance it must have been closed for several years - the grounds are derelict and the signs are faded (there were also no cars in the lot!). However, check-in was smooth and we found our two-bedroom apartment easily. The rooms are old, have not been updated (except for the flat-screen telly), but have everything you need, including comfy beds (probably the most important criteria). The motel is close to Chadstone Shopping Centre and is easy to find on Dandenong Road. It's near a supermarket and rail station, so it would be a good budget/suburban option for families travelling to Melbourne if you don't need/want to stay in town.

Room Tip: The two-bedroom apartments are very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily_Was_Here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Highly awful - I stayed because I was put here by the people I was working for - I would never have stayed myself - crockery and cutlery all smeary, bathroom had not been cleaned properly, every day my bed was not made but the cover was simply thrown over the top, air con did not work properly. All night party one night by guests. It was awful.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Downunderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

There is little accomodation available near caulfield racecourse where our conference was held. This motel was 10 mins drivetime. Very basic motel room. Although they had some 2 bedroom SC apartments - the only we saw had beds to sleep 5. The rooms were clean enough but dated. Breakfast was a very basic cold continental delivered the night before for you to cook in the toaster in your room.
A train into the city would be a better option for accomodation & breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katorcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnegie
3.2 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
4.1 mi away
Punthill Burwood
Punthill Burwood
#2 of 3 in Burwood
64 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hawthorn Gardens Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
4.8 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
469 reviews
4.1 mi away
Apartments Ink
Apartments Ink
#5 of 19 in St Kilda
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnegie Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Motor Inn

Address: 1102 Dandenong Rd, Carnegie, Glen Eira, Victoria 3163, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Glen Eira > Carnegie
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carnegie
Price Range: $94 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carnegie Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carnegie Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing