We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mid week break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Hotel - Framlingham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Framlingham
Hockley Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mid week break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Recently took advantage of one of their special offer (3 nights for the price of 2. b& b basis. Reception very friendly and helpful, as the weather turned chilly, manager turned on the heating, which was thoughtful of him. Food excellent especially the bar meals. Ideal base for visiting Snape, Aldburgh and many places of interest.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the square make for an interesting visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hethersett08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and home that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    80
    27
    10
    10
See reviews for
51
116
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark
Level Contributor
258 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Six cyclists rocked up for Sunday lunch and beers - the Crown measured up perfectly with fine ales and marvellous food. The ploughmans with Scotch egg was excellent and the young and enthusiastic staff were all very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I am really pleased that you were well looked after and enjoyed your stop off at The Crown and thank you very much for taking the time to submit your review. Do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We held a 50th birthday party on Saturday with near 100 guests. I am a regular at The Crown so know the venue well including proprietors David and India. Difficult to know where to start since we had guests in rooms, we took over The Stables (function suite), had dedicated bar staff etc and booked in a band and DJ's as well as putting on a buffet for our guests.

First, our family and friends that were staying at the hotel were highly complimentary of the smooth check in from India and the reception team and high quality rooms of character. I think when three folks say how good it is it must be good!

Second, I arrived an hour early for the party to ensure all was ready. David and Richard the Bars Manager had already had the venue and bar set up and let the band in to set up. The DJ's follow shortly after. Richard didn't hang around and set the band up with a tab. It's the little things like that which made the evening so smooth.

Third, the bar staff were magnificent throughout the evening. No undue delays and queuing at the bar. No request was too much trouble even if it meant a quick trip to the main hotel bar to get something. Happy, motivated and professional staff - perfect!

Fourth, we ordered at buffet for later in the evening. Booking was simple and David and Ash the Head Chef were very accommodating with changing the buffet menu around to suit our party as well as keeping the kitchen team on later to serve us after their normal hours. The food was excellent and again many folks were complimentary of the quality. It was also well presented and didn't last long enough for a picture!

Fifth, the venue itself (The Stables) was perfect. We could fit all our guests in comfortably plus a 5 member band plus DJ and disco set up as well as the buffet later. The team had already posted Private Party signs around the venue and we had a dedicated patio area for the party too. It really is a great, flexible space that lends itself to many things not least of which is a good party!

If you are looking for a beer, nice glass of wine, hotel accommodation all the way up to a big event - I highly recommend The Crown. David and India and the team will be more than happy to help with the planning the same as they did for us and what a great venue and service!

Many many thanks for a memorable night!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review. I am delighted to read how well the "happy, motivated and professional staff " looked after you and your guests throughout the weekend. It was a pleasure being the venue for your party and we very much look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked for a couple of nights to visit a local vineyard. We had a suite overlooking the main square with views of Framlingham college. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The bar and restaurant are friendly, the courtyard is also a good drinking spot. I think they are missing a trick as on our weekend there were three couples visiting the vineyard bringing in about £1000 and no wine from Shawsgate vineyard on the wine list.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your kind review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lovely place, needed a break and wanted to go to Framlingham Castle and Sutton Hoo. Perfect spot as there is so much to do locally. Had a family room overlooking the courtyard. Perfect, as we got the kids settled, left window open and sat drinking wine just below in the courtyard so they could check on us!.
David and India's team were extremely attentive, friendly and polite. The food was excellent and the full English breakfast lovely, almost too much to eat! The beer is very good too.

Room Tip: Phone up to check which is the best room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks very much for your very kind review, I am very pleased that you had such a good stay and particularly that the staff looked after you so well. Hopefully you will come back at some stage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a lovely stay at The Crown - The Hotel is in a lovely village with the Castle and Church just a short walk away. The hotel itself is the cleanest I have ever been in. Our room was large, airy and very comfortable. The staff were all very helpful and eager to please. The restaurant was super - our evening meal and breakfast were first class.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Fabulous. Thank you for such a glowing review. We are very lucky with our staff and I will pass on your comments to them. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Beautiful location with the castle just up the road and a few lovely shops.
We stayed in room 8 with the four poster bed and old furniture. For the money the room was lovely and it is the biggest in the hotel.
The service was good and we would be happy to eat there all the time as the food was perfect.
We look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel - Framlingham, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
What can I say? Thank you very much indeed for the review, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Framlingham
7.3 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
7.8 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
9.6 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
11.9 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel - Framlingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel - Framlingham

Property: The Crown Hotel - Framlingham
Address: Market Hill, Framlingham IP13 9AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Framlingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Framlingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel - Framlingham 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Hotel - Framlingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing