We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming atmosphere”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Framlingham
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Lovely hotel with plenty of character, very welcoming atmosphere. Cosy fires, fantastic restaurant, quirky, interesting decor, comfortable bedrooms. A very enjoyable place to stay, fantastic coming down to breakfast and seeing roaring log fires - so welcoming. Staff all very friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiona r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you for coming to stay at The Crown, I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay. Thank you very much for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 276 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel has been changed beyond imagination, the decor is bright and welcoming, as are the staff. The food is imaginative and excellent and the hotel is charming and very old in this Suffolk market square.
All in all, very worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186382Allan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review I am really pleased that you appreciate the changes that we have made and hope you will come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Everything about this hotel is good. From checkin to checkout. we were greeted by India and David, perfect hosts. Every member of staff were bright and chatty. The room was perfect. The food was top class, better than most restaurants we have been to.A very good choice to cater for all tastes. The food was all cooked to order, and quality was second to none. The service was perfect.This hotel is well worth a visit,there were logs fires greeting you when you came down for breakfast, newspapers and and perfect service.
The staff are a credit to David and India, and long may it last.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevera-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. India and I are thrilled that you had such a good stay and I will pass on your kind comments to the staff. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

my wife and i love to visit historic places so decided to stay at the crown hotel so we could visit sutton hoo saxon burial site orford castle and of course framlingham castle and church.All were really interesting and great places to visit but the best bit of this trip was the hotel.Three big log fires on the go lovely clean room all staff were very helpfull all the time we were there.Food was great the full english breakfast was all we needed for the day. While we were here one of the staff showed us room 9 one of the feature rooms.it had a great big window overlooking the market square nice roll top bath and was a nice big room.We booked a feature room for a visit in may cant wait.Had a great stay Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very lucky to be in such a great part of the world and with so many great places to go I am thrilled that The Crown was the best part of your trip. We look forward to welcoming you back in May.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our first time at the Crown and we will be returning. The staff were really friendly. The only downside to this stay was that the heating went wrong and the room was cold, but this was compensated for upon payment and the management were very apologetic. These things happen. Food was lovely and the fires in all the rooms gave a warm glow over a very cold day. Look forward to returning in the Spring. Perfect location (Centre and right near the castle)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. and I am delighted that you will be coming back. I am sorry that it was cold, the current system has been a little temperamental but we are in the final stages of arranging for a whole new heating system to be installed. Hopefully when you return in the Spring the weather may have finally warmed up a bit. We look forward to seeing you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

When you're in the area it's the place to be. Good ambiance, friendly, Sooo clean and just simply the top place where I wanna spend catching up with friends and local night out.cosy sitting by the fireplace on winter months . Beautiful place to enjoy the sunshine on friday evenings for a quick drink or two ... An all year round place to go

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thanks so much for the glowing review - I may have to use your headline as our slogan. We look forward to seeing you back at The Crown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were a group of over 50's cyclists looking for great accommodation at the end of our cycling break- which we got!

First of all our bikes were secured in a large outbuilding which was reassuring. Our rooms were good but with some issues over hot water- which the hotel owner was particularly exercised about given the recent investment in the plumbing. This was resolved by a prompt change of room.

The group (5 of us) eat in for dinner which was excellent- as was the breakfast.

The hotel decor has been refreshed very tastefully and the whole hotel feels as if somebody cares about the customer experience which they do having spoken to the owner.

The hotel added to the bubble which we all felt we were in as we cycled around Suffolk in the late Autumn sun.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick31Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you very much for the review, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and hope you will come back to discover more of the delights of Suffolk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Framlingham
7.3 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
7.8 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
732 reviews
14.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
353 reviews
9.6 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,039 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: Market Hill, Framlingham IP13 9AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Framlingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Framlingham
Price Range: $112 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being a part of the idyllic and historic market town of Framlingham, we are surrounded with stunning scenery from the beautiful 11th century Framlingham castle, to walks around the outlying countryside and Framlingham College. Inside The Crown you will find a building full of character with wonky walls, squeaky floors and exposed Tudor oak beams. With four log fires to cosy up to on the coldest of winter nights and outside seating to while away a hot long summers day. Stay the night in one of our 14 en-suite individually styled rooms including six double rooms, three twins, one single, one family and three prestigious feature rooms perfect for a weekend getaway or a midweek treat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing