We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (488)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveler rating
398
69
15
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
398
69
15
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old mill water mill the river beautiful setting tasting menu excellent food michelin star comfortable rooms croissants water wheel didn't disappoint relaxing environment tennis courts small hotel charming hotel delicious dinner foie gras
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 489 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

Impossible not to love this lovely hotel. Warm, attentive staff, a beautiful hotel and outstanding dining. This converted riverside mill with easy parking, comfortable rooms full of character is just fantastic!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank A4842CGmatthewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019

This convertted mill in the middle of a small park is now our favorite small hotel in Europe and Dordogne has become our favorite springtime destination. Wonderful rooms overlooking the Donne river which flows through the old mill and its gardens and bridges. We were there three nights in May andcould have easily stayed for a week. The restaurant was also great for both and dinner and we will definitely be back - especially off season without the crowds

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moulinduroc, réceptionniste at Le Moulin du Roc, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2019

Hello, we're so happy to read our Moulin is your favorite hotel in Europe! What a lovely reward for the hotel and our restaurant too! Thanks a lot from all the staff, we will definitely be delighted to welcome you again next spring or whenever you want… Valérie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

We booked the restaurant in advance. We had on a Arrival a great welcome and enjoyed a aperitif at the terrace.

The menu offered was incredible and so the wine list. Even the restaurant had a power failure it served a perfect meal with candles.

The service was very professional and perfect. This is a must place to visit and dine.

Truly excellent.

Thank you

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank 883helmuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moulinduroc, Réceptionniste at Le Moulin du Roc, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2019

Hello from Le Moulin du Roc, thank you for this very good title on our restaurant Ròda, which proves you spent a lovely time with us for dinner, outside on the terrace and inside. All the staff is very sensitive to your review. Have a nice summer, and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019

The hotel is based around an old water mill (moulin) that was used to extract oil from walnuts and other nuts. A river flows past and the water wheel still turns, creating a peaceful, relaxing environment. The staff are cheerful and helpful and always go the extra distance to ensure that guests are happy. The restaurant has a very pleasant atmosphere and the food is first class. Breakfast is a little quirky and at first seems somewhat sparse, but it is quite satisfactory.
We had a room on the second floor with a wide balcony, table and chairs, overlooking the river. All rooms are named after grains and seeds and ours was "orge" (barley). There is no elevator/lift so if you have problems with stairs, make sure that you request a ground floor room.

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

The whole experience was even better than we expected. Quirky beautiful bedrooms and sitting rooms. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Food was exceptional, one of the best meals I have eaten in France. Can't wait to go back.

Room tip: Rooms facing the river are lovely
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gwendalee95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews