We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savour and sleep like a Count”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Burg Colmberg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colmberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Once you have managed to drag your bulky luggage from the parking lot across the cobblestone paved courtyard to the reception you will be relieved to find out that everything is very well taken care of at this genuine Castle Hotel. If your room happens to be on the third floor you will in vain look for an elevator but when climbing the stairs you will be entertained by views in to various medieval rooms such as the Knights Hall, the Chapel, the dungeon and by a spectacular view of the surrounding scenery from your room. The rooms are tastfully decorated, the curtains, the sheets and the linen remind you of the good old days. The bathroom and shower are meticulously clean.
Not only does the hotel provide a great breakfast but they are even better at serving delicious venisson dishes for dinner using the deer being kept in their own adjacent forest. "Unfortunately" there are many more choices than you may wish to eat after tasting your first dish at this fine restaurant.
We were only wondering if the former count would have approved roof tiles depicting "1.FCN" on one of his Manor Houses in Colmberg, a name representing one of Germany' s Bundesliga soccer clubs that didn't score too many victories recently, but never mind, why should this spoil such a wonderful experience ?

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ventus_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 833 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here in July 2013 while celebrating our 25th anniversary. We were in in the historic Burgherr room, beautiful! We had dinner out in the courtyard, salmon and schnitzel, it was absolutely delicious. You are free to explore the castle interior and grounds on your own. Photo ops around each corner, the front desk will give you an information sheet about the history of the castle, too. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank keena123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a hotel with a cute garden, pretty decorations, comfortable rooms, good service, beautiful scenery, delicious breakfast, friendly waiters and a generous owner. It's really worth a visit. BTW, I can't believe living in a fancy castle is not expensive at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Best hotel I've ever stayed in, hands down. My boyfriend surprised me with a booking here on our anniversary last year while travelling in Germany, and we loved it so much we stayed an extra 2 nights! Gorgeous castle, freely allowed to wander and look at the old church and other old rooms. We were here in September 2013 and could hear hilarious deer sounds coming from the fields next to the castle - seriously funny and cute. The staff are amazing - we are both vegan, and decided to try our luck and ask if they would be able to make a simple vegan meal for us on our first night there, and not only did they make us a meal but it was delicious! We ate here every night of our stay, and all of the staff were extremely helpful and gracious. We're planning on staying here again in the future, and encourage anyone in the vicinity to definitely stay here at least a night and experience how amazing it is!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Castle Colmberg was wonderful!

The owners and staff were amazingly accommodating and were full of helpful advice on travel and on the area at large during our two days there. The castle itself had great views and was a great place to explore or just wander and enjoy the antique furnishings and out-of-the-way sitting areas. The room we took overlooked the courtyard outside the front desk and restaurant and had a nice modern bathroom with a very comfortable bed.

The restaurant had a great selection of meals at a reasonable price and was absolutely delicious, especially the venison! Definitely a must. We thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor eating at dinner both nights and during the provided breakfasts, which had plenty of options.

We could not have been happier and will hopefully be able to arrange a return trip at some point in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ted A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the castle and dined in the resident both nights

Our rooms were large and clean. It was very quiet and our view was excellent. Hotel staff were fluent in English and very friendly.

Hotel Wi-Fi is provided by T Mobile for which you have to pay, but not a lot.

Restaurant meals were excellent and reasonably priced. Breakfast was plentiful and there was a very big selection.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomFromOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We just returned from three weeks in Europe (mostly in Germany) and everyone agrees that this Castle stay was by far the most memorable and "favorite" thing that we did over the course of the entire trip.

We woke up bright and early in Berlin on the 24th of June 2014 and we drove the 5+ hours to Colmberg (mostly on the Autobahn). Once we arrived at the Hotel, our collective breaths were taken away. This place is GORGEOUS.

We did arrive a bit early, around 1pm I believe, and thankfully they heard us knocking on the door (doors are locked before 3pm from what I understand). The lady who unlocked the door was very friendly, checked us in, allowed me to drive my car to the front door to unload our luggage (this is not possible during business hours because the area becomes outdoor seating for their restaurant), and they stored & delivered our luggage to our rooms because our two rooms were not ready at that time.

We headed off to Rothenburg ob der Tauber for a few hours to explore (20 - 30 min drive from the Hotel) and once we returned (after 5pm or so), they handed us our keys & personally walked us to our respective rooms (where all of our luggage was placed & they even hung our clothes on hangers in the closet). The lady gave us some information about the Castle on our tour to our room as well which was fantastic.

My wife and I booked the Hochzeitszimmer (Honeymoon Suite) and my Mom booked the Fürstenzimmer. Our room was gorgeous and was themed more classically (castle-esque) and my Mom's room was very modern & handsome. I am not sure which room I liked better as both were equally fantastic & fit their respective themes. My Mom definitely had the better bed & view but our room was perfect with that absolute romantic vibe fir for my Queen and I.

Everything about this Hotel is perfect. The grounds are well manicured, the structure of the building is classic, the interior is amazing (perfect for exploring during the day and night, as are the grounds), the rooms are outstanding and the service is second to none. We didn't see one unhappy face on the owners or their staff and everyone was very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

The best part of this Hotel is the restaurant. You absolutely have to dine here at least once for Dinner. The food is exquisite, the service is very professional and friendly and it is an overall great experience.

I really can't thick of anything negative to say about this place. It WAS booked to capacity (as many Asians travel through the area in massive groups) but the rooms remained quiet and it didn't feel as if we were packed in like sardines. It is a castle after all!

We cannot wait to stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Make sure to book your room online at the Hotel's website. It is absolutely worth the extra mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colmberg
10.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
721 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
716 reviews
10.5 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Gasthaus-Pension Hofmann
Gasthaus-Pension Hofmann
#1 of 1 in Oberdachstetten
45 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Fantasie
Hotel Fantasie
#11 of 12 in Ansbach
26 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#1 of 2 in Steinsfeld
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burg Colmberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burg Colmberg

Address: An der Burgenstrasse, 91598 Colmberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Colmberg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colmberg
Price Range: $146 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Burg Colmberg 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Burg Colmberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing