We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot wait to go again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Burg Colmberg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colmberg
Certificate of Excellence
Hilversum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cannot wait to go again!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband, 2.5 year old son, and I stayed two nights in the Prince's room and had an amazing time! The staff was very responsive with my emails and very accommodating. The room was large with several windows with great views and a jacuzzi tub. The food was incredible and greatly priced. The grounds were fun to explore. The staff carried up our luggage for us. We drove to nearby Rothenburg and enjoyed the shops. I highly recommend a night or two in this castle. I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andersje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    162
    33
    7
    9
See reviews for
245
387
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burglengenfeld, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I had always wanted to stay in a castle, and Burg Colmberg did not disappoint. The building and the furnishings were incredible and so much fun to explore. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant was top notch. As a matter of fact, the food was so good, we returned at a later date just to eat. You really feel like you've gone back in time (with the added benefit of modern conveniences).

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy and Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2014

wonderful owners who are hands on with the business. they were everywhere taking care of their guests. old castle but the amenities were very modern. bathroom is very new. food was great. you could imagine yourself being in the middle age

Room Tip: talk to the owners who are always there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kenzenicdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I did a lot of searching to find something extra special for a couple of nights on the tale end of a holiday in Austria and Bavaria. This German Castle hotel was everything and more than we could have hoped for. Friendly staff and management excellent food in the restaurant - the cheese and wine soup was exceptional!
The only negative was the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room - I understand from what we were told it is on health and safety grounds - but I think that in this day and age it is an expected standard!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BishopMead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The castle is a lovely base from which to explore the surrounding region. I learnt more about the 30 years war last week than ever I did at school

Not only is the castle in a lovely place, but the hotel itself is delightful and the staff and family are very welcoming.

All in all, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrabeen, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Beautiful location, friendly staff. From the moment we entered the gates it felt like stepping into a picture book. Christian greeted us warmly & carried our bags up to the 3rd floor to our room. Eddie & Ricarda were the drinks wait staff very friendly & helpful. Yvonne was our dinner waitress, charming & efficient.
Our room was overlooking the courtyard & tower, everything perfect. Restaurant had a great selection of local food. Breakfast waitress who served us both mornings was excellent.
Thank you to all the staff for welcoming us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joolesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We visited Burg Colmberg over Pfingsten. We had plannned on doing a little day trip but once we arrived and had lunch (it was asparagus season), we just decided to hike in the forest and come back for dinner. Around the castle are a lot of deer and its peaceful. The castle was beautiful and unlike many other castles I have been in there are no tours; as a hotel guest you can wander around. Simply amazing.

Then came dinner. The deer is the specialty on the menu and was excellent!!

Also go for the Schwarzer Ritter. It is a pretty good beer.

I was thoroughly impressed with the views from the castle, the staff, and the food.

This is a 5 star experience at a 3 star price.

Room Tip: How can you go wrong staying in a castle??
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colmberg
10.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
667 reviews
10.5 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
614 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
688 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#8 of 45 in Rothenburg
410 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burg Colmberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burg Colmberg

Property: Hotel Burg Colmberg
Address: An der Burgenstrasse, 91598 Colmberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Colmberg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colmberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Burg Colmberg 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Burg Colmberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing