We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Burg Colmberg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colmberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed one night in the castle the 11th of May in a modern room. Even in this room, you can see some of the old castle. The room (Bergfried) was very comfortable, with all the amenities you'd expect from a 3 star hotel. The view from the castle is fantastic, and food in the restaurant was very good, and very reasonably priced. Room was super clean, and despite a wedding with lots of small children running around, room was very quiet. Noticed the owners are among those running the castle and restaurant, and the whole experience reflected their care. Would recommend it as a hotel; it being a castle is just a great bonus. For the golfers out there, there is a course at the foot of the hill the castle sits on.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 832 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

An actual medieval castle, with stunning views. Warm welcome, comfortable rooms with modern bathrooms. Good restaurant at reasonable prices and a rich breakfast buffet. Free parking outside. Definetely a must-do for those who looks for a romantic and historical place to stay over.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisHaenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My family stayed at the castle Wednesday, April 16th. Staying in the castle is like stepping back in time. We absolutely loved our stay there and loved visiting the town of Rothenburg.The castle itself and the surrounding grounds are impeccably maintained. The owners and staff have done a great job in maintaining the historic look and feel. And they have done as good a job in adding the necessary modern conveniences. There is no better feeling than being in a centuries old room overlooking the beautiful town and fields and then stepping into a modern bathroom with jacuzzi tub!
I must also compliment the restaurant. Our dinner was one of the best we had in Germany. The local beer was excellent and served in the castles' own steins. All the entrees were great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a wonderful location to stay for a night as a stopping off point to see Rothenburg ob der Tauber or other Romantic Road towns. It has a beautiful view of the surrounding countryside, a wonderful courtyard where you can enjoy a drink, and a children's playground where the kids can play while you relax. The restaurant has an excellent selection of local game and wines. Highly recommended, we'll definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCtoStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

If you are visiting Rothenberg by car, this is a great castle hotel to stay. About 20 min drive to Rothenberg, with a stunning view of the town. Also recommend eating at their restaurant, good food with reasonable prices. Try their local brew, really smooth and comes with their own mug. Not easy access via public transportation so hard to do without a car. Also.... no elevators, it is an old castle.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We knew there were lots of castles scattered throughout Europe so when looking for accommodation we tried to stay in some of them. This was our first ever stay in a castle!! Our second night in Germany was spent at Castle Colmberg. The history of the castle can be traced back to the 13th century. We had a room upstairs and there were no lifts, so we put what we needed into a small bag and hauled it up several flights of rickety stairs. We went for a walk through the quaint village before a dinner of cheese soup and bread and some local wine. There was an American military base close by, so lots of Americans in the restaurant. We were able to explore most of the castle and it was a lot of fun pretending we were living in the 13th century. We had a yummy European breakfast in the morning with a variety of cheeses meats and breads. If you are visiting Germany this is a must even if only for one night. what an experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie-Becki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We normally use the international business hotels when we travel, but this time we decided to try another type of hotel. We came across the Hotel Burg Colmberg which had a perfect location for our travel. And what a great hotel it is. The hotel is located in an old medieval castle.The hotel is located in the outskirts of the village, on a high hill, surrounded by forrest and fields. We brought our little dog along, and the dog was very welcome at the hotel (they charged an additional EUR 10 for the dog). We got a very nice room on the 4th floor (no elevator) with thick exposed beams, and a great view over the fields. The room had a very nice and large bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rate included a fantastic breakfast. We will definitely stay there again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joergen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colmberg
10.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
718 reviews
10.5 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
639 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Gasthaus-Pension Hofmann
Gasthaus-Pension Hofmann
#1 of 1 in Oberdachstetten
45 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
10.1 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burg Colmberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burg Colmberg

Address: An der Burgenstrasse, 91598 Colmberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Colmberg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colmberg
Price Range: $141 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Burg Colmberg 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Burg Colmberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing