We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Burg Colmberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Burg Colmberg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colmberg
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
295 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

What more can be said, this is a real castle. This is not an out building or annex, this is a complete structure and not a partial ruin. The service is top notch and very personable. The interior is neat and has a full chapel with stained glass. My room was a basic room. I found it to be large, warm, and very clean. It was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and all you could eat as well. My second night I ate at the castle and found the food to be good with large portions and surprisingly reasonably priced. They even have their own beer brewed for the castle. Being approx. 15min. from Rothenburg and 50min. from Nurmberg this is a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorkon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    156
    33
    7
    9
See reviews for
234
380
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife, I and three daughters stayed there for two nights in 2004 and loved the place. It has all of the ambiance that you would want in an ancient German Castle, such as long twisting oaken and stone corridors, hidden rooms, towers and huge fireplaces. The food and service is excellent and local attractions like the town of Dinklesbuhl and Rothenberg are an outstanding visit to the medieval past. The girls are mostly grown and gone now but my wife and two friends are going back in 2014 to re-visit Colmberg and this great castle.

I highly recommend it to travelers to Germany......Also, if you do go there, check out "The Romantic Road"

Leo
Minnesota
USA

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Mother and I spent a wonderful stay at this enchanting, 1,000 family owned and runned castle hotel. Since she is 90, the staff made extra certain she well taken care of! Evening meal was delish, service impeccable, rooms warm and comfortable. We felt sad leaving. Great stay at great price!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TexasAnnie7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

My sister and I stayed here and had a wonderful time! We really enjoyed the night we spent here after spending the day in the adorable mid-evil town of Rothenberg d.o.t.
The staff was wonderful and friendly and we just LOVED our room. It was a piece of old world charm but with modern amenities without feeling like you were living in mid-evil times.

The view from our room was amazing and the sunset even more amazing to top it off.
We loved watching the live game they raise in the pastures and touring the grounds. Many picture perfect settings to capture, especially the tower and castle wall entrance.
The most enjoyable part of visit was just walking around the castle interior and of course our meal. Our dinner was superb and the food was prepared just perfect.

I highly recommend staying here to really soak up all the midevil charm that Germany has to offer!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelngal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night right before Christmas on our honeymoon. It was by far my favorite hotel on our trip and I wish we stayed longer. We arrived in the evening, driving in our rental car. I saw the silhouette of a schloss in the distance, and thought, "Oh my gosh, could that be our hotel?" We kept approaching and the GPS indicated that it was! We ascended up to the castle, and it was just amazing, driving around the curves into the courtyard, surrounded by the old grey stones and Christmas lights. Our room was amazing - high, wood-beamed ceilings; clean; with a view of the courtyard and the valley below. Great bathroom. The hotel is decked out in old paintings, giant antiques, and taxidermy. It was such a wholesome Bavarian experience! We had dinner in the restaurant, which was wonderful - stone walls, wood beams. It was so much fun just to explore the castle! Breakfast was also fabulous. The Christmas decorations were wonderful, but we would love to visit during the summertime. We highly recommend this hotel - fabulous service, comfort, beauty, value - truly a magical experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenrescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed here for 2 nights in the midst of a 24-day, 7-country European tour. While our travels took us to London, Paris, Rome, Barcelona, and several other higher-profile locations, our family rated our stay at Burg Colmberg among the most pleasant experiences of our entire trip. Lovely and generous staff (front desk, restaurant, and cleaning staff were all delightful!), clean and spacious rooms, spectacular views, delicious and generous breakfasts ... and a wonderful dinner experience in the courtyard. We wish we could have stayed for several more days just to gaze over the meadows, watch deer, and wander the halls of this enchanted castle.

The location is a great blend of isolation and proximity ... feels like you're away from it all, but Rothenburg ob der Tauber is about a 20 minute drive away, and the charming town of Ansbach is even closer. Best of all, your hosts are extremely hospitable. Vielen Dank, Familie Unbehauen!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe4968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schnaittach, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were furnished with lovely antiques. Rooms were warm and very quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. We hope to return soon for another visit. We had the set menu on the first night and everything was first class. For dinner on the second night we had venison that was locally caught. Breakfast was a standard European affair. Definitely worth the trip!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tonya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colmberg
10.5 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 47 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
10.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 47 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#4 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
4.0 mi away
Gasthaus-Pension Hofmann
Gasthaus-Pension Hofmann
#1 of 1 in Oberdachstetten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burg Colmberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burg Colmberg

Property: Hotel Burg Colmberg
Address: An der Burgenstrasse, 91598 Colmberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Colmberg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colmberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Burg Colmberg 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Burg Colmberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing