We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay for entire family.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Burg Colmberg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colmberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We brought our daughter, her husband and our two grandchildren (8 months & 3 years) for an overnight stay. Got two rooms, one with whirlpool. Excellent experience in every way. Great meal in evening switch kids menu and high chairs. Very nice rooms. Beds for the kids. Breakfast in the morning. Beautiful location and facility. Will definitely make this a regular for our guests to Europe! Feel confident in this choice for any occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobDaPastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 824 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

We only stayed one night with our three children but we had so much fun! After a very nice dinner at their restaurant (must get the recipe for the cheese and wine soup) we took out three little flashlights for the kids and went exploring the dark old rooms! It was fun seeing the antiques, old weaponry and taxidermy and pretending there were ghosts and spooky stuff around the corner! Like an episode of scooby doo! The breakfast was fine and in a lovely sunroom with views down the mountain. The beds were very comfortable. We had a deluxe room and it was luxurious. Excellent distance from Rothenburg. It was helpful that others wrote about no elevator because we down sized our luggage taking only what we needed to our room. I would highly recommend the castle if you are visiting the area. Was a highlight of our 17 day trek through Europe!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for a special event and it was wonderful. Heidi on reception was lovely when we checked in, even walking us to our room when we got lost! The room was lovely, with spectacular views. There were many lovely nooks and crannys set up with comfortable chairs and tables throughout the castle, which if we had stayed longer we would no doubt have made use of for a quiet afternoon with a book in the ambience of a real castle!The restaurant was fabulous also.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nova1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the castle for three nights while visiting Rothenburg ob der Tauber. The castle is absolutely incredible in terms of the comfort of the rooms and their decorations. In fact the decorations of the whole castle and grounds was exceptional. We stayed in the Furstenzimmer and had view if the town and fields, and of the deer in the grounds. A wonderful experience - this is not something we can find in Australia!

Room Tip: The Furstenzimmer room is a corner room and has excellent views
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mg021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stay in an actual, 1000 year old castle. The rates are reasonable and the area is surrounded by fields and farmland. There's no need to leave in the evening, as they have a great restaurant right there. I had the venison steak - they harvest the meat from their own herd - and it was very good. The beds were comfortable and the castle really is a showplace, right on the Romantique Road.

The only negatives I can identify are that the rooms do not have air conditioning, but in the evening you can open the windows to cool down the rooms. There is no elevator, so if you don't like or can't handle stairs, be sure to get a room lower down. There is no internet in the castle, but there was no internet 1000 years ago.

This was a very relaxing get away. Many of the visitors were cyclists who were riding the area, which made me jealous a bit. If you are in the area, try to stay a night here.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, get a room closer to the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texas_Roamer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

It is wonderful to stay in a real 14th century castle. The room was lovely, the bathroom perfect with a very good shower and the food was great. Really a romantic and different experience for this chilean couple. The town is not as beautiful as their neighbor but Rothenburg o.d.t. is very close by car. 100% recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pame2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Recently stayed with my husband, son and his family, including 2 children at this incredibly special castle hotel. The staff were outstanding, and our rooms had such super views. My grandchildren really enjoyed running around the castle and climbing up and down looking at all the special displays. The views throughout the castle are breathtaking, especially in the early morning hours and the early evening. We were able to spot deer and wild hogs during these hours. The food at their restaurant was delicious, both for dinner and their breakfast as well. A truly memorable experience for the entire family!!! We will return for a longer period of time for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms have a wonderful view, but I would recommend a view of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nab800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colmberg
10.5 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
628 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
707 reviews
10.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
391 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
10.4 mi away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#6 of 45 in Rothenburg
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burg Colmberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burg Colmberg

Address: An der Burgenstrasse, 91598 Colmberg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Colmberg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colmberg
Price Range: $125 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Burg Colmberg 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Burg Colmberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing