We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diessenhofen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seminarhotel Unterhof am Rhein
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Diessenhofen
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Business trip”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed for one night on a recent trip to the area. Rooms were very clean, albeit a little basic. Reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Restaurant in the castle was fantastic. Excellent standard of food and service very friendly and efficient. The hotel is a little off the beaten track and I didn't have time to explore. Being November and -3'C with a more with windchill, it wasn't the time! However, the castle, gardens, town and proximity to the Rhein, I would expect this to be great place in the summer. Certainly would go again if the opportunity.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

It is my regular Home Base when I travel to Schaffhausen in the summer. The Rooms are clean and spacious for European style rooms, the breakfast buffet is amazing, the staff is excellent. Going back in August. You're a 5 minute walk from the train to Schaffhausen and not far from Stein-am-Rhine. Sundays can be a bit boring, but that's not the hotel's fault. Also, run across the bridge to Germany.

Room Tip: West side gives you a view of the castle,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariobourque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landshut, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here from the 14th to the 15th of may for one night. Beautiful garden and castle where you will get your breakfast. In the evening hours you can sit right to the rhein. The rooms need some new furnitures but at all it was very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaschaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I've stayed here several times on business trips - it's convenient for me, but is a little off the beaten track.

The hotel is clean and very functional - the bar area has a good central fire in the winter.
For breakfast you need to walk to the Fischer Stube which is 5 minutes away, this takes you down on the banks of the Rhine - great in the summer but it can be a cold and wet walk in the winter! A good breakfast buffet is only served from 7am, so if you have an early start let reception know and they'll organise a light breakfast in the bar.
The Fischer Stube is in an old castle, built somewhere in the 1100s, so it's quite interesting, they have a restaurant there too for the evenings.
The downside of this hotel is that the rooms are overheated in the winter and there doesn't seem to be any way of turning it down. Fine - open a window - but the local church bells ring every 1/2 hour all night.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yenrab666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was the first time I received a map to follow when going to a hotel breakfast. It takes you through the green park to the picturesque castle next to Rhine, not far from the main hotel building. The hotel itself is very nice and comfortable.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Da_rt_1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hotel booked through Bike Tours Direct. We were on a self-guided tour and easily found the hotel as stated in our guide. The rooms were very clean and spacious with a large window and small patio that opened up and faced the castle. We had dinner in their restaurant which is on the banks to the Rhein. Service was great and they had menus in English. I have no idea what wine the waiter gave me, but it was amazing as was our meal. Breakfast was served buffet style with great service and strong coffee. Plenty of meat/cheese choices and of course beautiful breads in addition to other breakfast items. Loved to sit out on the large castle "patio" which overlooked the Rhein. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel was booked for us for two nights by our bicycle touring company. After a long, stormy ride the welcoming staff, spacious room, comfortable surroundings, and the sauna were all greatly appreciated. The associated restaurant did not keep late hours, so we were only there for breakfasts. The breakfast buffet was fabulous and in gorgeous surroundings. The hotel is modern; the dining facilities are about a 5-minute walk through a nice park and up a hill, in a great old castle. We had a triple room and it was really spacious enough for us to spread out. Free WiFi was a plus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diessenhofen
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Restaurant Krone
#1 of 2 in Diessenhofen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
3.2 mi away
Landgasthof Hotel Hirschen
Landgasthof Hotel Hirschen
#4 of 6 in Stein am Rhein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Park Villa
Hotel Park Villa
#5 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Am Kellhof
2.8 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Alte Rheinmuhle
Hotel & Restaurant Alte Rheinmuh...
#1 of 1 in Busingen am Hochrhein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Kronenhof
Hotel Kronenhof
#4 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seminarhotel Unterhof am Rhein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seminarhotel Unterhof am Rhein

Property: Seminarhotel Unterhof am Rhein
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 8, Diessenhofen 8253, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Thurgau > Diessenhofen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Diessenhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seminarhotel Unterhof am Rhein 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient castle combined with modern hotel offering outstanding services in unspoiled environment by River Rhine and attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing