We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget but clean”
Review of Hotel Roggerli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Roggerli
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hergiswil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2008

We stayed here for one night as an alternative to staying in Lucern.

We had the option of a mountain view or a lake view and went for the mountain view as we were told by reception that it is quieter. However, the room overlooked the hotel parking lot and were awakened by a delivery truck at 7am!! Perhaps the lake view would have been nicer but then a highway passes down below in front of the hotel.

The hotel is very much a budget hotel but very very clean. The carpet in the room seemed new and though everything else is a little dated, it is neither worn, dirty, nor nicked. The bed was pretty hard though. The bathroom was really big with a huge shower stall. Again, the fixtures and tiles are old but spotless and in good condition.

They have an interesting key system when you leave the room which I think is a safer alternative to leaving the key at the reception (which a lot of people don't like). You put your key in a keyhole on a board which then releases a smaller key for the entrance door since the reception is not open til very late. So, your key is kind of 'locked' on the board until you return and insert the entrance key to retrieve your room key.

Breakfast was good with a nice table right at the windows overlooking the lake. Too bad it was raining because it looked as though you could eat breakfast on the balcony. The breakfast consisted of the usual German stuff of cold cuts, müsli, jam, rolls, coffee, tea, and juice.

I can't comment on the town of Hergiswil as we had limited time and only drove into Lucern which isn't very far by car. All in all I'd recommend this hotel for the price and cleanliness for those who don't care too much about luxury and don't really need to be in downtown Lucern.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Roggerli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 71 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2007

We were looking for a quiet hotel in Luzern and we wanted to avoid business hotels, for we had in mind something a bit cosier and maybe not so expensive. Finally we decided to expand our search a bit away from the city itself and the final choice was Hergiswil. It turned out to be a good move: the town is in a very nice location on a corner of the Luzern lake and driving to Luzern is reasonably fast and easy. In fact, it took more time to drive from the city centre to the highway access, than from there to the door of the hotel.

But was Hotel Roggerli a good choice? In terms of location, views and tranquillity you really can’t ask for more. In terms of comfort, there is room for improvement. Even assuming that this is a budget hotel, there are a few details that surely will make the stay a bit better without heavy investments. For instance: replacing the existing bulbs for new ones that could produce enough light to read a book; a bit more soap in the bathroom and a bit of fresh fruit in the breakfast buffet would have been very welcome.

There are no other complaints than these: the room was clean, the bathroom had a decent shower cubicle and there was even an elevator (something quite rare in a 12-room hotel). No complaints either about the hotel staff, for they were friendly and professional.

We went to the hotel restaurant on our first night. Let’s say that we did not find any reason to return on the following nights.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules_et_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elias R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loppi61, Inhaber at Hotel Roggerli, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank anicalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loppi61, Inhaber at Hotel Roggerli, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Arcomare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loppi61, Inhaber at Hotel Roggerli, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die See-Sicht wählen ist ein guter Tip!
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loppi61, Inhaber at Hotel Roggerli, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank alessio a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loppi61, Inhaber at Hotel Roggerli, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hergiswil
0.2 mi away
Seehotel Pilatus
Seehotel Pilatus
#1 of 3 in Hergiswil
215 reviews
2.2 mi away
Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Seehotel Kastanienbaum
#1 of 1 in Kastanienbaum
138 reviews
2.6 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Seehotel Sternen Horw
1.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#3 of 3 in Stansstad
29 reviews
4.4 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roggerli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roggerli

Address: Riedmattstrasse 21, Hergiswil 6052, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Nidwalden > Hergiswil
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hergiswil
Price Range: $156 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roggerli 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Roggerli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing