We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lakeside location”
Review of Seehotel Pilatus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seehotel Pilatus
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hergiswil
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely lakeside location”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here as part of a Shearings coach tour, so our experiences are based on what we, as Shearings customers, experienced. If you stay independently you may find things a bit different.

The hotel is right on the lake side and our room was in one of the modern bits of the building. We had a balcony, with a side lake view. The room was clean and comfortable but we could never find out how the room was heated or how to amend the temperature. This wasn't a problem for us March though I could imagine it may be a little more problematic in summer. The only minor down side was that there were no facilities for making a hot drink and the bathroom was very dated and very small. It was dark green in colour, which made it feel even smaller, with an oddly shaped shower area with a cheap shower curtain that insists on clinging to you throughout your shower.

As Shearings customers, we were separated from normal paying guests at meal times, but the food was more than adequate. We were provided with three courses each evening plus tea or coffee and there were generally two choices for each course. Having given Shearings advance notice that there was a vegetarian in the party, a separate vegetarian menu was provided each day. Breakfast was the usual continental affair, not to everyone's liking but passable.

The staff were generally friendly and helpful and drinks at the hotel bar were average prices for Switzerland. There is free wi fi access throughout the hotel. The owners also have a large white German shepherd who looked a bit scary, but she was just a big softie who would quite happily sit there and let you tickle her under her chin.

For a first trip to Switzerland, this wasn't a bad introduction.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian-and-Peg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    70
    32
    11
    3
See reviews for
28
96
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was a little worried before our holiday as i had read the reviews and it did not sound too good.We were on a coach holiday with shearings,and i can only say we had a fantastic time ! The hotel has an older part & a newer part,we were in the newer part.We asked for a high floor room and we could just see the lake which was beautiful.The room was a good size,lovely & warm,clean,and the beds were very comfortable,our bathroom was great ,dark brown tiles & lime green sink and toilet,pine ceiling very retro 1970,we did laugh but it was nice & clean.Our rooms were cleaned & beds made every day.The lift is out of the ark but it works,never had any problem using it.The main restaurant looked very olde world dark wood,beams etc,but the diningroom for shearings was in the newer part of the hotel.The food we had was not the same as in the main restaurant,the food we had was ok not the best,not the worse,we did not go hungry.There was a modern bar area with a disco down stairs (drinks down there very expensive) The lady owner was friendly & always smiled,a few of the others were grumps ,but the bar & waiting staff were lovely,mainly young people.My advice is give it a go,it not 4* but its clean & comfortable,and i would return tomorrow if possible.The location is great,coffee bar across the road,supermarket co-op, by the lake,beautiful view of the mountains,and if you are staying here with Shearings you will have a perfect holiday.....

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room for a better view,quieter too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JPerry89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is nicely situated and has a great lake view. The rooms are outdated and small. Staff is unfriendly and the kitchen is not good. If you add this to the rates and menu prices, there is no relation to be found.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank J-W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I took a coach tour to the Pilatus Hotel in August and everyone loved it, wonderful location, especially sitting under the trees by the lakeside with a gin and tonic. It was a very hot week
and we could have been more comfortable with air conditioning. The bedrooms were basic with two small beds but they were comfortable, we had a side room with a balcony, outlook was trees but if we turned our heads we could just see the lake. The bathroom waa ok and we had clean towels everyday. The food was good and I had no complaints from 40 people which was wonderful for me

Room Tip: obviously the lake view rooms are superb but you have to pay a supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christinekettlewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel is in a superb location, it overlooks the lake in a quiet village with easy access to Lucerne. The swimming pool is great and everything is spotlessly clean. The room we were given which overlooked the lake didn't resemble any of the photos we had seen. It needs total updating and the bathroom was circa 1970 with hideous tiles and the washbasins and surrounds were starting to crack. The towels were thin and the patio furniture on the balcony was cheap plastic. Although we enjoyed our stay there it was very poor value. We were very disappointed in the quality of our room. There was no air conditioning and the rooms got incredibly hot. We had to keep the window and balcony door open which meant we could smell smoke and tobacco from the balconies on either side and from the restaurant terrace below.

Room Tip: Don't book number 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IndianOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I was in this hotel 1 Night, room 116. I didn't know it still has hotels with small beds (80cm)... Shower and the bath generally very small! The fitness is very old and the room small.
Breakfast is ok but I've seen much better too.
Whirlpool and pool are nice, nice location and nice food (but expensive).
The parking is not guaranted, take care!
For 120 swiss francs for 1 night ok, but i would not go there one more time....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taxyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a Tryen Rail Holiday packag tour.
We wasnt disappointed!
Fantastic hotel located in the small quite lakeside town of Hergiswil.
The hotel was wonderful, our room was clean and big. The room, which we was lucky to get looked out over the lake and the views were amazing.
We had a couple of meals included in our package holiday and they were very good.
Enjoyed sitting by the lake in the evening, it was peaceful and relaxing.
Would love to stay here again one day!!

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel look out over the lake. these will cost more, so i hear, than the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hergiswil
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roggerli
Hotel Roggerli
#2 of 3 in Hergiswil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
2.0 mi away
Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Seehotel Kastanienbaum
#1 of 1 in Kastanienbaum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Winkelried
Hotel Winkelried
#1 of 3 in Stansstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
1.8 mi away
Seehotel Sternen Horw
2.7 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Pilatus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Pilatus

Property: Seehotel Pilatus
Address: Seestrasse 34, Hergiswil 6052, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Nidwalden > Hergiswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hergiswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seehotel Pilatus 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seehotel Pilatus is situated on the shores of Lake Lucerne. It has a large indoor pool with jacuzzi, and offers spacious rooms with mountain views, and free Wi-Fi. Seehotel rooms have large windows and come equipped with flat-screen TVs, and radios. Some rooms feature furnished balconies with lake views. The Wilhelm Tell restaurant offers international cuisine, and waterfront dining. Pilatus has a nightclub with live music, and a fitness centre with cardiovascular equipment. The Seehotel Pilatus is 300 metres from Hergiswil SGV Ferry Station, and provides free on-site private parking. Public trains are running every 15 minutes to Lucerne main station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Seehotel Pilatus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing