We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, mediocre service, small portion sizes”
Review of Mai Thai

Mai Thai
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Clarens
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

We always eat here during the Montreux Jazz Festival - usually on their outside terrace but this evening with poor weather we had to opt for the main in door restaurant. Initial response from owner who answered the phone for the reservation was very rude - but we worked through that and gave him the benefit of the doubt. The great shame was though that the food was great but the service poor. The lady in charge was all in a huff, the portions were small - and they even put two portions ordered by different people on one plate making the portion per person even smaller - then they constantly tried to clear the table before we'd finished. Shame as the food was good but not worth CHF 64 for two small portions of pad Thai... Doubt we will bother again...

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank lesb138
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 266 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

Nicely located across from the lake, serves excellent food and offers a good variety of options. We he spicy beef, cashew chicken, 3 orders of steamed rice and 2 soft drinks for 86 CHF. I highly suggest that you reserve in advance, especially if for a party bigger than two persons.

تشكيله واسعه من الخيارات. العاملين لطيفين لاكن شوي مفهين. طلبنا لحم حار، دجاج بالكاجو و ثلاث طلبات رز تايلندي و طلع الحساب ٨٦ فرنك. اقترح الحجز لان المطعم صغير

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank Bandar149
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 4, 2016

.We came without a reservation and had a small child.The owner said it was full and never even proposed for us to wait, or have a drink etc. He just said no and was very rude. He took on other people without a reservation in our presence,and offered them a seat as they waited for a table. Since we were a different race from everyone , we felt discriminated. The owner needs to be more sensitive to such issues, because you never know who the person is in front of you. Racism is wrong, common courtesy is expected at all times

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Liza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

We come early. All table arround free. We order first and very hungry. After all other table arrive and order. What happen to us. All other table get food first. We get nothing!!! After one hour waiting, we decide to leave the restaurant. Very bad experience.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank sulou99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 12, 2016

Gold but not délicate as expected. Nice place and Nice people, inside It looks more lime a "chalet" thane a typical thaï decorum

Date of visit: February 2016
1  Thank PBa_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Mai Thai also viewed

 
Vevey, Canton of Vaud
Territet, Montreux
 

Been to Mai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.