We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend an afternoon or evening”
Review of Les Bains de Lavey

Les Bains de Lavey
Book In Advance
More Info
$818.95*
and up
Full-Day Bains de Lavey Spa with Private Transfer from Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
New Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an afternoon or evening”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We've done a few therms in Germany and loved them. The German therm's offered a larger selection of saunas and more of a sauna ceremony which is a very nice touch. This therm, although different from our German experience, is just great. A large indoor outdoor pool complex with the Alps to look at. A complex of steam rooms and saunas, a few of which allowed you to go without your bathing suit, an indoor pool which played classical music which you could hear when your ears where under water, and a great outdoor pool with a propelled current circle. Locker room and showers. Immaculately clean. The facility didn't offer much more than a snack bar, unlike the two German therms I've been two which offered everything from snacks to full restaurant service. We where there on a Monday afternoon, not crowded at all, with plenty of room for all. We had a afternoon to kill on the day of our arrival and this was the best possible way to relax and rejuvenate after the plane trip from Newark to Geneva. Both my partner and I swim laps regularly for exercise and we were able to get this in here with the Alps for a view. If you've never been to a European therm it's hard to explain as there is noting in the States anything like them. I wish there was. After visiting the therms in Germany, and now this one is Switzerland, it makes you say the Europeans just know how to live. If you've have some time to kill and want to relax this is the way to do it.

If you want to have dinner locally after the Therm, right out of their parking lot is Le Chalet des Bains. We had a late dinner there are enjoyed it. Well review the restaurant separately.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chiefcopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    159
    22
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Relaxing in the sun”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We have visited Lavey several times over the years. It's clean, well run and very relaxing. This last visit has noy disappointed with an updated cafe area. Cost for family 72 CHF or about £50ish, special at the moment 3 hours extended to 5 at no extra charge. We worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank osianrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superbly restful family afternoon in the pools”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The entry fee of SF25 for adults & SF17 for kids seems steep for three hours - every extra half hour is SF5. In fact, it's superb value. All the water is beautifully warm, there are lots of discrete sttendants not only keeping everyone safe but also keeping kids calm and quiet - other people's brats will not spoil your day. The main pool with its sprays and circular current section are big enough, with side pool full of jacuzzi type bubbles. The inside pool with underwater music is relaxing - and the relaxation rooms in the child-free lodges are superb. Now, if that makes it sound cheerless and non-family friendly, the opposite is true: kids can't run amok, but they still have a great time. My 11 & 14 year old loved it. Everyone loved it. With the heat, three hours is just perfect - a luxurious, clean, fun, relaxing way to spend an afternoon. Highly recommended

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TallSimonWeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great way to relax”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Lavey les bains is a favorite in this region. The thermal baths is great, lots of features even the children (from 4) can have fun.
Only drawback is that since its popular, it gets crowded and the queue can really be long. Avoid around official holidays or go as early as one can. Though I've been there when it is really crowded, apart from the queue to get in, the thermal heat always relaxes me. Also, fee is for 3 hours (minimum), it is more than enough.

Also, I notice they clean the floors every so often.
Never miss this.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anditso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A spot of heaven on earth”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have been to Les Bains de Lavey about 30 times since I was born and it has always felt like a break in the space-time continuum. For me, these thermal baths are one of the best in the country and you can truly relax there. The choice of activities is quite large with different kind of sauna, steam baths, turkish baths, a color therapy room, different kind of jacuzzis, whirlpool rapids, dark rest rooms and of course a very large outdoor heated pool. The best to do is to go there when it's snowing, it is a great experience! Also, the atmosphere gets even chillier and more romantic during nightime. By the way, it is a good place to bring your better half. On the other hand, it is not the best place to go with children since it is really a place to relax, and adults there expect to do so. The prices are a bit high, like everywhere in Switzerland, but it is worth every swiss francs. The only downside might be the behaviour of some people there: some use to speak out loud in the sauna while it is suposed to be a chill place...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Bains de Lavey also viewed

Saillon, Canton of Valais
Aigle, Canton of Vaud
 
Ovronnaz, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Les Bains de Lavey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing