We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed, didn't even bother getting in the carts.”
Review of Big Kart Track

Big Kart Track
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We went to the track and had a look, the track looked really good, but the carts looked really slow. We asked the attendant if the carts that were on the track were the only ones for hire and we're informed that they were. We then searched trip advisor to find that this seems to be an ongoing issue that has not been addressed. Such a shame, unless you are between the age of 10-13 I think you would be bored very quickly as the track was set up to be not very technical, with big straights and the carts able to go what looked like full speed around all of the corners. Because of this, I thought that it was a waste of money. Such a shame as the track and location has such potential. I am also surprised that after repeated reviews outlining the same problem, all over the net, that this issue has not been resolved yet. Even though the advertising states "new faster carts" listen to the people!! They must be right!!

2  Thank Andy_engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferre-owner, Owner at Big Kart Track, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Andy,
As I said before ...our karts are of top quality (listen to the reviews you say ? ...there is nothing to fix!...as for the fact that you feel the karts are to slow ...you should see the Rules and regulations on the matter and not to speak of insurance!)
Sir , please do yourself and ourself a favour and come to discuss this with me personally so I can point you in the right direction instead of writing it wrongly on the net.
We are bound by lots and lots of rules and cannot give willy nilly fast karts to anyone who thinks he or she is a professional racer.Sorry but for that you need to get a proper race kart and join a race club...we are a tourist operation open to all!
Hope to see you again soon at the track for some fun !
Ferre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great fun"
in 20 reviews
"full throttle"
in 3 reviews
"safety gear"
in 2 reviews
"staff were friendly and helpful"
in 2 reviews
"driving around"
in 2 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 4 reviews
"an absolute ball"
in 2 reviews
"big kids"
in 2 reviews
"sunshine coast"
in 8 reviews
"viewing platform"
in 2 reviews
"height restrictions"
in 2 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 4 reviews
"few hours"
in 3 reviews
"school holidays"
in 2 reviews
"steering wheel"
in 3 reviews
"hair nets"
in 2 reviews
Filter

105 - 109 of 139 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

Good for older children and dad. The karts were a bit too fast for the girls. So the girls went shopping while the boys had fun.

Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Second visit with family and only returned as was advertised that all new cart, precision steering. Not the case carts poorly maintained and one cart we got the steering was very sloppy and performance between carts highly variable For the cost not recommended if you are after an adrenalin filled experience

1  Thank Rae1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferre-owner, Owner at Big Kart Track, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Hi Rae,

I just don't get it.
After all these years and great reviews , suddenly these remarks about our karts ?
I personally check the fleet every morning for maintenance and safety...and no kart goes on the track unless it is 100% ok.
Of course during the day ( especially in the very busy holidays) it is possible a kart breaks down , but it will do that in a complete safe way and will be replaced immediately...unless you broke the rules and treated the kart as a dodgem...
Also , why not talk to us on the day ? It is our motto to please our customers! Talk to us when you are on the premises so we can help you ...I think it is unfair to comment in such a way that we do not know the cause of the complaint!
Rae , I hope to welcome you again at the track so we can show you our operations.
Ferre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

such apitty that they have such slow and poorly maintained karts for such a great track !
such apitty that they have such slow and poorly maintained karts for such a great track !
such apitty that they have such slow and poorly maintained karts for such a great track !

Thank Athena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgianaussie, Owner at Big Kart Track, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Hi Athena,
Thank you for your compliment on our track ! It is the largest commercial go kart track in Australia with the best maintenance procedure in place for our karts .They are of high standard and I cannot see how you perceive them to be not so ...especially when you write it 3 times.. haha.
Please do come back and visit us so we can treat you to the great Big Kart Track experience we aim to give all our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Very expensive for the condition of the karts and track. The karts obviously are not maintained well. Considering the price i expected better. The staff i noticed talk inappropriately amongst themselves. I wouldnt bother take my kids there again

Thank one_chance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferre-owner, Owner at Big Kart Track, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear one_chance1,

We are very proud to say that our track and the karts are of top class and conditions.
They are maintained on a DAILY basis to above standard requirements !
We do not understand how such a comment is warranted ( especially months after you visited us).
Very expensive you say ?
Please do check out some other go kart facilities in Australia and you will find that our prices lower than most and with us you race on the largest commercial track in Australia.
As far as the staff talking inappropriately amongst themselves...that has been addressed and will be a major topic at our staff meet next week.(whether it happened or not)
All this aside , I am sorry to hear that your experience at the Big Kart Track was not what we aimed for , and we hope to see you again soon so we can deliver on what we've been doing so well for the last 30 years ...
Ferre De Deyne
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Kart Track also viewed

Beerwah, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 
Tanawha, Sunshine Coast
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Big Kart Track? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing