We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it again”
Review of Sand Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sand Dunes Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2007

This was our second time staying here and we loved it just as much. Apartments are extremely clean and roomy. All apartments have a great view of the pool. Car parking is secure. Nearby facilities (eating, groceries etc.) are fine but it is much better if you have your own transport. Resort is just near the local airport but aircraft noise is barely noticeable and certainly not late at night. Fantastic beach just over the sand dune from the resort (no roads to cross). We decided to stay an extra night (on top of the five nights we had booked) and this was no problems and we got a bargain basement price from reception. We love this place and will come back as often as we can.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Blueysmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 174 of 174 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2007

We've stayed at Mantra Sand Dunes 3 times now -- once in a 3BR Villa (Sept/Oct 06), once in a 3BR Beach House (Nov 06), and once in a 2BR apt (Mar 07); every stay has been top notch.
The pool/s are great, especially in the summer/early spring, as the big pool is not heated; smaller pool is heated (not too high), and there's a large open spa. Layout of the resort is very nice, with almost all of the units & villas facing out onto the pools with big balconies or patios. Most of the villas have electric BBQ, the beach house have gas BBQ, and there are two communal gas BBQs.
Very nice, quiet beach; proximity to the beach is perfect, with access without crossing any roads. Patrolled areas are a bit of a hike (maybe 750m), but Marcoola is growing, so may be more patrols in the future. This is a great place to go with kids, but not the best location if you want to walk to shops (only little corner type shops nearby). Coolum, Noosa, Maroochydore, Mooloolaba all short drives away; Sunshine Coast airport 2 minutes down road, but not anything that bothered anyone (if anything, my kids loved seeing small planes occasionally).
Make sure you book direct with the resort, rather than through Mantra/Breakfree, as you're more likely to get a good deal.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank canuckinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2007

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment very clean and modern with aircon in all rooms which was great but could do with fans also to save using aircon. Fantastic pool huge and one half solar heated with big spa. Could not find any faults at this place staff very helpful and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank ratbagx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Voir le commentaire ci-dessus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1998ssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marcoola
4.5 mi away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#2 of 4 in Coolum Beach
290 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Atlantis Marcoola
Atlantis Marcoola
#1 of 7 in Marcoola
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Novotel Twin Waters Resort
Novotel Twin Waters Resort
#1 of 1 in Twin Waters
3,262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach
2.2 mi away
White Shells Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dunes Resort

Address: 130 Mudjimba Esp, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia (Formerly Mantra Sand Dunes)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Marcoola
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Marcoola
Price Range: $132 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sand Dunes Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Dunes offers a luxurious resort atmosphere, just metres from beautiful beaches. The resort features a selection of luxury two bedroom apartments, three and four bedroom poolside villas - all overlooking our 75m award winning lagoon pool, heated spa and gardens. Also on offer are luxury three and four bedroom beach houses that must be seen to be believed. Featuring their own private barbecue & entertaining area with backyard and rooftop Jacuzzi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sand Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing