We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very family friendly.”
Review of Atlantis Marcoola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantis Marcoola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We stayed in a three-bedroom roof top apartment for five nights in June. The apartment was very spacious with three large bedrooms, two bathrooms, a large living area and well equipped kitchen (heaps of crockery, cutlery, cooking utensils etc). There was a balcony off the living area with beautiful ocean views and then a roof top area with spa accessed via a spiral stair case from the balcony. There is a lovely pool with spa and toddlers pool which our kids (3 year old daughter and 16 year old step-son) loved - they were in there every morning and night despite the cooler weather in June. There are also games and fitness rooms, a tennis court, half basketball court and play ground. The grounds are extensive and very well maintained. The apartments are beachfront, so there is no busy road to cross which was something we didn't see very often in other places we visited on the Sunshine Coast. As has been mentioned many times in other reviews, the managers of the apartments are very friendly, generous and helpful which was a big plus. The location is very quiet (between Mudjimba and Marcoola), but this didn't worry us as we had a hire car and could get around. It is very close to the airport, but again this didn't bother us as it is not an overly busy airport.

We all enjoyed our stay at the Atlantis Marcoola.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnieLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 418 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2009

Despite bad wether we enjoyed an excellent apartment with great views. The hotel is right on the beach and a short drive to a number of restaurants. The managers are incredibly welcoming and friendly and even have a 'friendly managemnet guarantee'

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Have stayed a couple of times at Atlantis. Marcoola is great if you want to stay absolute beachfront (no roads to cross to get to a patrolled beach) Views from ocean front rooms are great - front on with a strip of nice heathland and the beautiful ocean. You can book and pay for ocean view, so you know what you will be getting, unlike some other places. This time we stayed in a 3 br apartment. Must say it was much nicer than the 2 br we had last time, with the main bedroom with a full glass door onto the balcony overlooking the ocean (the 2br only had a small main bedroom with a window - hence hard to lay in bed and watch the sunrise). The 3 br apartments are really quite large with separate toilet and laundry. The apartment we had was well equipped with at least a dozen plates, bowls, wine glasses, coffee plunger, books etc - everyting you could think of. I prob wouldn't describe the furnishings as luxurious, but they are ok (no flat screen TVs, kitchen cupboards falling apart in places, etc). Air con in each room was quiet and efficient, although not needed much at this time of the year.
Probably you would only choose Marcoola if you want that feeling of absolute beachfront which is not found in many places on the sunshine coast. It's great and safe with kids, and there's no traffic noise. There certainly aren't many shops/cafes/eating places within walking distance, only basic fish and chips (which mysteriously was closed some nights over the Easter weekend), bland 'Australian' chinese, subway. Small, very basic supermarket, although BILO is only a 5 five minute drive away.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ethelredyappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Still a great place for children to aboput age 15, then they start to miss what Mooloolabah has to offer.
We were disapointed our bedroom Air con was not working and had obviously not done so for some time as the main unit was turned off out side. So a very hot holiday, uncomfortable at night.
We had acess to private spa and BBQ although acess was only gained by going through the lift lobby and 3 doors and then the bar fridge did not work and the BBQ was not hot enough to even cook prawns let alone good steak.

Staff were still wonderful but the unit owners need to keep up with their maintenance,.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenhide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Managers, Owner/Manager at Atlantis Marcoola, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2009

Dear Greenhide, Thank you for your comments, and for giving us the opportunity to answer some of your grievances.
I agree some teenagers prefer to be amongst the action of Mooloolaba, but many parents prefer the safety and quiet of Discovery Beach for their teenage children and no-one would argue that it is paradise for most children with all of the great facilities and such a stunning beach so close to the front door.
In explanation for the unfortunate situation with the air conditioning, as we explained to you on arrival, the unit in the master bedroom was out of action until a part could be located to repair it, and as we were fully booked we were unable to offer you an alternative room. We were very careful to ensure the high powered fan was installed in the bedroom while the a/c was out of order and had we realised you were so uncomfortable, we would have been happy to organise a portable a/c as we have done on other such occasions. Many of our guests prefer to sleep without air conditioning, so when we didn't hear from you, we weren't aware you were so uncomfortable.
With regard to the rooftop access, we are very careful to explain when our guests book that access to the rooftop in this apartment is via the fire stairs as most of the rooftop terraces are accessed directly from the unit, to avoid disappointment on arrival, so I'm sorry that this was overlooked and caused you grief.
As we suggest in our welcome letters, on arrival and in our compendium, there is so little we can do once guests have left to make their stay more comfortable and enjoyable, so we request that any faults, missing items and any other issues are brought to our attention as early as possible in your stay so that we have a chance to rectify the problem at the time, and enhance your stay. Thank you for your kind words about our relief managers, they are lovely people who do a great job in our absense.
Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to explain our shortcomings in a public forum and hopefully, as we suggested in the letter of apology we sent you when you left that you will give us another chance to show you that Atlantis has indeed not "gone off the boil", but is still striving to offer amazing value, family friendly, absolute beachfront accommodation. Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We stayed at Atlantis Marcoola for 6 weeks with our 4 year old and our 2 year old. It was fantastic. The staff were absolutely lovely and the facilities were great. They have a great pool and play area which is perfect for kids. The beach is right at your front door and is safe and patrolled. We highly recommend this resort for families.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonkywonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We thought the accommodation was fantastic, resort had all amenities we wished for, beautifully maintained. Loved the position really close to the beach without the need to get in car and drive. Lifesaver on beach located at end of the pathway which meant swimming in between the flags was easy. Local shops also easily accessible for food,general supplies, beautician, hairdresser etc
Hosts were friendly, thoughtful, generous, helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Atlantis Marcoola. Staff were fantastic, the unit we stayed in had everything we could possibly need. Right on the beach and a really big pool, so you weren't on top of each other.
Am definitely going to stay there again (hopefully in April school holidays!!)

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank graysiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marcoola
4.2 mi away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#2 of 4 in Coolum Beach
295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pacific Palms Motor Inn
Pacific Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Marcoola
168 reviews
5.1 mi away
Element on Coolum Beach
Element on Coolum Beach
#1 of 4 in Coolum Beach
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach
2.1 mi away
Novotel Twin Waters Resort
Novotel Twin Waters Resort
#1 of 1 in Twin Waters
3,302 reviews
1.9 mi away
White Shells Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Marcoola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Marcoola

Address: 903 David Low Way, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Marcoola
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Marcoola
Price Range: $113 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Marcoola 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis Marcoola is an award-winning resort located on the natural dunes of one of the Sunshine Coast’s most pristine beaches. Offering a range of spacious 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments our facilities include a heated 30m pool with spa, a full-sized tennis court, ½ basketball court, gym, games room, playground, cable TV & free internet access. All apartments offer balconies, either with stunning ocean views or overlooking the tropical resort gardens and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantis Marcoola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Marcoola
Atlantis Resort Marcoola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing