We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT restaurant, nice location. A little dated though.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marcoola
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT restaurant, nice location. A little dated though.”
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Pros:

Excellent food and value for money at the on-site Gecko's Restaurant. Most times service staff were friendly and efficient.

Booked a studio room with ocean and pool view. Lovely views.

Shower nice and big, bathroom small, but new.

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful enough.

Gym was decent, good variety of machines - but no free-weights or punching bags.

Lovely beach, patrolled. Small sand crabs about, which is nice.

Cons:

Dismayed to find dried semen stains along the bed scarf!! eew. Cleaning needs to be more thorough and attentive!

Experienced some rude service by younger waitresses on one of our nights there, clearly inattentive.

Studio room small, air-con very noisy, no plate provided and only water source was bathroom sink (although they did provide kettle, mini fridge, and cups for tea and coffee).

TV out-dated, small CRT screen - in this day-and-age new technology should be standard across hotel rooms.

No bbq facilities, no public spa or sauna, no tennis court/basketball.

Kids noise from the pool drifts up and dampens mood for couples or business people. Corporate events were always happening.

Blinds are badly designed so there is no privacy in the room as people at the pool can see right in. Or else if the blinds are down, it is like a dungeon and must turn the lights on.

Notes:

Public bus services right outside. Very handy - 40 mins by bus to Noosa, 15mins to Marcoochydore Sunshine Plaza. (also, the Australia Zoo courtesy shuttle bus stops right outside if you request it).

Also, the hotel is literally right next door to the airport, although it is still about 3kms walk from the terminal. We walked about 1km to David Low Way to catch a bus (hourly) to the hotel (a 2min trip). *Translink is supposed to be altering the bus route shortly to be more convenient and take you right to the terminal.

Don't bother wasting money with the local chinese restaurant. Small portions and low quality. Fish and chip shop across the road was also poor value for money. Stick to the on-site restaurant. Subway is across the road at least for quick takeway. Choices for snacks and groceries within walking distance are a small mini mart, or 7 eleven across the road. Need a car to drive to local supermarket.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    195
    143
    99
    58
See reviews for
184
265
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marcoola, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

After looking around for an investment property, found the Surfair Resort, thought we would stay a few nights to see how things ran. If you do own a unit in this complex you will shudder what your clients pay for.
Yes the location is wonderful. Below is our experience from the day we arrived.
1. Given a room facing the airport, very old and unclean.
2. Asked for an upgrade, given one ! at no extra charge thank you.
3. moved in at 2pm, went down to reception to inform them the air conditioner did not work.
4.Went out and bought batteries for it - Waited 24 hours and rang again, sent someone up and informed us it did not work.
5. Gave us a small fan for a balmy 29 degree nights.
6. Went out in the morning for room to be cleaned. Came back !! not cleaned by 2pm
7. Ran reception to ask what time - also reported the air con again. Told girls finish at 4 should be done by then
8. Rang again at 5.20pm ### all gone home ### - alas we cleaned it ourselves, they bought up towels and garbage bag, NO COFFEE as asked.
9. Went down stairs to ask for coffee, got that - great !!
10 Mentioned the old disposable nappy on the ball game court that had been there since we moved in over 24 hours ago, also the alcolhol can on the main walkway to our room, made a note for housekeepers.
11. At last ! a hot shower after the days fiasco and shopping, to my amazement a huge hole in the towel.
We are not ones to complain, travelled up and down the east coast and stayed in many hotels, I believe this hotel would be lovely if some co-ordination with house keeping and reception.
In saying all this our experience we encountered has give us second thoughts to purchase an investment property in this complex. We have one more day here, let see how we go today.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 250953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marcoola hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Where to begin, the blinds are hard to use, the television is the size of a laptop and the channels don't work. We were told there was in house movies and after informing the staff that our movie channel did not work, we were there for the entire trip without anyone coming to look at it. The dishwasher did not work and the lights did not work. We were told we could have a late check out and they extended it by one hour only. Reception very rarely answered there phones and when they did as you can see they did not follow through on fixing anything. Through the bad now the good, the rooms were roomy and the pool was great for the kids (the maintenance staff at the pool are very lovely). Ate at the restaurant every day (as there is not much else around ) but be careful of the wait (one night I waited over an hour for 2 meals to takeaway - oops bad again) but on the next night food was ready in 10 mins and the gentleman serving was incredibly helpful. Face to face the staff were very friendly, (however one night I waited so long at the bar to order a drink that it was quicker for my husband to go across the road to the seven eleven and bring a bottle back from there ). Overall i would say if you had alternatives choose somewhere else. This place could have been really good if the service and maintenance was kept up - and I would say stay away until these things change.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirra03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We arrived to find a room with only 1 bed, instead of 2. Waited hours with a crying baby to be allocated another room. Not very apologetic and even though there were rooms available with ocean views, we received one overlooking the airport. We were travelling with 2 children but only had 2 towels in the new room. When we asked for just one more, they said they'd run out of towels and did we really need an extra one. The pool was very heated which was lovely and the beach is right there but otherwise it's a bit isolated. Great specials in their restaurant but very tough steaks.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnieBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Beautifull location with a heated pool which was lovely and right next to the beach. Dispite the reviews on here about it being poor, we really had a lovely time and loved our room. We had a 1 bedroom apartment with full kitchen and balcony with a bit of an ocean view. The staff at reception was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Thanks Tessie for making our stay so great!

Emma & Jay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

My wife and I found the Surfair to be in a good location, with a better than average view over the ocean but after staying 4 days we were very disappointed with the service, coffee and tea was not replaced in the room, bin wasn't emptied shampoo ect. not replaced, towels were taken by cleaning staff and not replaced, the floor needed vacuuming when we moved in . When I contacted the front desk to have a look at the room they said they would come straight away and have a look at it, but it took three times speaking to them before they would look into it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greg075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Service at front desk was ok. Restaurant and bar staff were friendlier. The room was huge, it was three bedroom with 2 bathrooms. It only had a view of pool but from a distance set back quite far. The restaurant , bar, TAB and pool are the drawcard here and also a gym and day spa. It is a close drive to Noosa. Coolum only has a small strip mall across the road but there is a small grocer, subway, bottle shop, chemist , chineese. The marcoola surfclub is a short drive away and has a great view.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marcoola
15.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
502 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Twin Waters Resort
Novotel Twin Waters Resort
#1 of 1 in Twin Waters
3,153 reviews
4.8 mi away
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premie...
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
874 reviews
13.7 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach

Property: Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach
Address: 923 David Low Way, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia (Formerly Surfair on Marcoola Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Marcoola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marcoola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront, Ramada Marcoola Beach Resort is situated right in the heart of the Sunshine Coast, offering the perfect base to explore the Sunshine Coast's many attractions. The resort has a superb beachfront location, with the pristine surf of Marcoola Beach right on your doorstep. Stay in a self-contained apartment or hotel room, and enjoy Marcoola Beach - the Sunshine Coast's best-kept secret. With a 60m lagoon-style heated pool, children’s pool, resort shop, bistro, bar, bottle shop, local surf beaches (Patrolled), a multitude of iconic family attractions nearby (Australia Zoo & Eumundi Markets to name two), Ramada Marcoola Beach is the ultimate family resort. Boasting breath taking views of the coast line or the hinterland plus direct access to 14km of walkable beach front Ramada Marcoola’s location and facilities will offer an ultimate beach side holiday. Ramada Marcoola Beach is the perfect place to take a relaxing short break or set up a base to explore all the coast has to offer. Do not hesitate to contact us to access some of the best value holiday deals on the Sunshine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfair On Marcoola Beach Hotel Marcoola
Surfair On Marcoola Beach Noosa
Surfair Marcoola Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing