We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surfair Not up to standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marcoola
Marcoola
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surfair Not up to standard”
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Hole in Bathroom Door
No Remote for TV
Bed edges filthy
Carpet worn and stained
Surfair shows no interest in my stay and I am a regular client.
Contacted Surfair and Resort Owners numerous times without a reply

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karmeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    192
    142
    97
    58
See reviews for
182
261
22
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Pool area was the best feature of this hotel. The Ocean View room was very small, very shabby with stained carpets, terrible blinds, no remote for TV and a towel rail which fell apart and landed on my foot. Really not worth the $160 charged.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GiniGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marcoola hotels

Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

We've been return guests for a few years now, and we always enjoy our stay. The staff are friendly and happy to assist.

LOCATION

What I love most about Surfair is that there is no road to cross to get to the beach, so it's great for kids. The resort is across the road from Maroochydore airport, but you only notice one or two planes a day, if any at all. Across the road on David Low Way, there is a Subway restaurant, an organic store, servo, fish and chips, and a bottle shop.

If you're just looking for a place to hang out and relax in one spot, you won't need a car but if you want to do day trips (eg. to Noosa) you will need to drive. Marcoola surf club is just down the road and they have a courtesy coach which will pick you up if you want to go for dinner.

ACCOMMODATION

This time we had a huge apartment in the south tower on the 4th floor, with superb ocean views - which we didn't pay extra for. We have stayed in a (very small) 3 bedroom 'ocean view' apartment on the 4th floor in the north tower, however our view was partly obscured by the multi level beach house complex in front of it.

Due to the 'U' shape design of the resort complex with the hotel in the middle, privacy could be a concern for some, but we didn't spend much time in the apartment (and we shut the blinds at night) so it didn't really worry us. Each apartment is airconditioned, and has a table and chairs on the balcony. Most (but not all) of the apartments have a sofabed in the lounge room.

The apartment kitchen has a cooktop, oven, microwave, fridge, washing machine, dryer and dishwasher, and is equipped with basic cookwear, crockery and cutlery (no coffee plunger though). A couple of sachets of dishwasher powder and dish liquid are provided, however these are not replenished during your stay. Daily servicing only includes the bin being emptied and beds made each day. A hairdryer is provided.


FACILITIES

The pool and surrounds are well maintained and clean, with beautifully manicured gardens and lawn.

You'll need to get in early for a nice shady spot or umbrella, however the pool is shaded by mid afternoon. It would be great to see a shade sail over the kiddies pool as it does get extremely hot.

Food and drinks in takeaway containers are available from the restaurant, and cocktails from the bar can also be served to the pool area.

A small resort shop sells ice creams, pool toys, clothing, newspapers and magazines etc.

There are two internet terminals near reception ($1 for 6 mins), and a gym located on the ground floor.

You can also hire boogie boards and bikes (there is bike track along the beachfront).

There is a day spa on site.

There are DVDs available for hire from reception, and 2 Foxtel movie channels are available free of charge in the apartments.

DINING

There are always fantastic deals on food at this resort (eg. kids eat free, or $2 steaks etc.) on different days of the week.

Breakfast is a continental buffet and the hot food is cooked to order.

The restaurant has an al fresco dining area, as well as a room with xbox and playstation to keep the kids occupied after dinner :-) Kids meals include a choice of steak, fish, chicken, spaghetti or pizza, as well as a softdrink and icecream.

Highly recommend the eye fillet - cooked to perfection every time, as was the snapper. Can't say the same for the 'no frills' burger I tried at lunchtime a few weeks ago though - the beef pattie tasted like it was from the supermarket freezer.

Overall, it's the perfect place for families (particularly groups travelling together) - everything is right there at your doorstep in a safe environment.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

I would never stay here again. I asked for a sea view. Our tiny "deluxe" room had a sea view, we also had a direct view into dozens of other rooms as they did ours. No privacy whatsoever. And the airport transfers are dependant upon whether the guy who drives the bus feels like it that day. Didn't that day.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank optionalextras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Very disappointed with the quality of service provided by staff. Our rooms were never cleaned, and when requested we were given a rude response by the reception staff.
Staff were not helpful. On top of that, when checking out, there were extra items added to our room (which we did not use) and staff hesitantly removed the items from the bill.
I'd never go back there again or recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

I stayed at Surfair when it had its 're-opening'. The location was disappointing - there were no nice shops or restaurants within walking distance so a car is a must.

We were given a room on the ground floor where we could hear the beach but couldn't see it from our communal balcony. The room was extemely hot - there was air con in the lounge room but it was extremely difficult to sleep in the bedroom in the heat. The second bedroom was especially bad - it was a separate part of the apartment which is locked off when a one-bedroom apartment is booked. It was even hotter than the master bedroom.

The decor was nice and everything was clean seeing that it was newly refurbished at the time.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisbane12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

So I booked a weekend getaway for my husband's birthday up to Sunshine coast...went to Zuji (similar to Travelocity here in Asia Pacifi) and did some research...came onto Surfair's listing and it was rated as a 4 star hotel....plus they had a really good deal for an ocean view room for the two nights we were planning to stay there, so I booked it right away.

Well, when we checked in and went up to the room, the room was not at all as I expected it to be and looked nothing like the room pictures that were on their website. It actually looked like a dorm room at a uni!!! The white brick walls had black marks all over them, the carpet was stained and scruffed up and the bathroom door didn't even lock...it was a sliding door!!

Then I found some stains on the towels and asked for fresh towels, where they insisted on charging me $2.50 for each towel. I explained to them there were stains found on them so they need to be replaced...which they finally did free of cost.

Also the air conditioning did not seem to work!! The temperature was set to 16C when we walked in and the vent was blowing out warm air....and it was one of the hottest days on top it!

To top it all off....the toilet did not work! We asked the reception to change our rooms due to all the problems and they informed us they were fully booked up and that we could try in the morning. So that meant we actually had to use the reception washroom at times during the night, and sleep in about 30C temperature through the night. In the morning when we left the hotel to grab some food/sight see...we asked them to change our rooms and also if they cant change it, then to atleast have the A/C and toilet fixed by the time we return. We returned after 5 hours and they showed us another room, which was exactly like the room we were in but without the ocean view and NO AIR CONDITIONING..so we decided to stay in the room we were already in and thought the toilet would be fixed atleast. well it turns out it still wasn't. the maintenance guy came and spent about 2 hours in our room which meant we had to stick around to give him repeated access into our room.

So yes, we were quite disappointed because it was definitely NOT a 4 star hotel...maybe max 2.5 to 3.....and they did not compensate us one bit for all the problems/inconvenience caused. Spent most of our time outdoors seeing the area/ on the beach...came back to the hotel just to sleep really.

Would not recommend people to go stay there unless they actually start to provide 4 star service/accommodation! On top of it its a Wyndham Resort which really shocked me because I have stayed at Wyndham resorts before in the US and I had more expectations!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and Quality of the Room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBB80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marcoola
15.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Pacific Palms Motor Inn
Pacific Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Marcoola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
13.7 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
4.8 mi away
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premier Resort
Breakfree Alexandra Beach Premie...
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach

Property: Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach
Address: 923 David Low Way, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia (Formerly Surfair on Marcoola Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Marcoola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marcoola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront, Ramada Marcoola Beach Resort is situated right in the heart of the Sunshine Coast, offering the perfect base to explore the Sunshine Coast's many attractions. The resort has a superb beachfront location, with the pristine surf of Marcoola Beach right on your doorstep. Stay in a self-contained apartment or hotel room, and enjoy Marcoola Beach - the Sunshine Coast's best-kept secret. With a 60m lagoon-style heated pool, children’s pool, resort shop, bistro, bar, bottle shop, local surf beaches (Patrolled), a multitude of iconic family attractions nearby (Australia Zoo & Eumundi Markets to name two), Ramada Marcoola Beach is the ultimate family resort. Boasting breath taking views of the coast line or the hinterland plus direct access to 14km of walkable beach front Ramada Marcoola’s location and facilities will offer an ultimate beach side holiday. Ramada Marcoola Beach is the perfect place to take a relaxing short break or set up a base to explore all the coast has to offer. Do not hesitate to contact us to access some of the best value holiday deals on the Sunshine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfair On Marcoola Beach Hotel Marcoola
Surfair On Marcoola Beach Noosa
Surfair Marcoola Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing