We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, spectacular views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marcoola
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We actually went for a family gathering here. We leased a 3 brm selfcontained unit. It was very spacious! 3 bthrooms and 3 very large bedrooms. Living area less spacious but certainly adequate as we were out enjoying the surrounds. Pool area lovely for the kids, beach beautiful & well patrolled. Although we went in a peak season this area is not overrun with people as it is a little out of the limelight. We had a hire car and you need one unless you want to just see the resort. This is a very central location to the sunshine coast. With a car, Noosa 20 mins north Mooloolaba 20 mins south. Shopping centre 15 mins south, restaurants across the road but we went to Coolum 10 mins north. We went to Australia Zoo from here and it was probably 25 mins south too. Restaurant is pretty good. Staff were really really welcoming. Manager went out of his way to help us many times during our stay organising tables, helping the wedding party etc etc. Would definitely recommend for a family with children under 14.

Room Tip: Room service poor because they charged to change your towels within the week. Made beds daily if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jays4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skye B, General Manager at Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Jays4,
Thank you for your recent review. It's lovely to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel. As you point out, with such a central location, we have a great spot for families to discover all that the Sunshine Coast has to offer, or just to relax on the beach.

The apartments are self-serviced (with washing machines and dryers in each one), but our house keeping team does empty bins and tidy beds as a courtesy. We are also currently talking to the owners about installing additional air conditioning units to take the pressure off the existing AC units when trying to cool the entire apartment.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 654 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in March. Having read some of the other reviews we were a bit concerned but were given the stay as a gift for our anniversary. I didn't need to worry. On arrival and throughout our stay the frontdesk and restaurant staff were nothing but pleasant and helpful, equipping us with information, printouts of directions and generally looking after us. The hotel is clean, if in need of a little upgrading, but you get what you pay for. Our room was small but again was clean, comfortable bed with a view overlooking the pool to the sea. We happened to stay on the 2 days which had the worst storms on the sunshine coast for a century, but again the staff coped admirably with flooding, catering in the restaurant etc.

If you are looking for a luxury hotel, you'll be disappointed, but for a good standard hotel as a base to explore the sunshine coast, no complaints at all.

Room Tip: Try and pay for the seaview as the other side of the hotel looks out onto a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TracyandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skye B, General Manager at Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Tracy and Neil,

What a time for you to be on the Sunshine Coast! The floods we experienced were crazy and certainly threw the area into temporary chaos for a day or so. We were very proud with how our team reacted to all of the unforeseen circumstances that the floods brought with them and will pass your positive feedback on to them.

Thankyou for your review and kind words.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The staff were incredibly accommodating. We booked for 1 night but stayed 4. We did stay in 4 different rooms so we got a chance to stay in lots of rooms and they were al comfy and clean.
Prefe the king room with ocean view but was a little more expensive.
The restaurant downstairs did great food at a very reasonably price. Close to the airport, right on the beach and small shopping centre across the road. This was a great stay.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skye B, General Manager at Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Surfsydney,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. Our Deluxe Hotel Rooms and Deluxe Ocean View Rooms that you mentioned are very popular due to the fact that they have been refurbished in the last 12-18 months. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back again in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Booked through Wotif and check-in process was painless and well executed. Room was on level 2 and had a nice view. However room was dirty and there was a larg dead cockroach on the shower. We put this this to one side and tried to get on with our holiday.
We had breakfast included, this was the 1st mistake. A thrown together breakfast buffet - full of sloppy scrambled eggs, baked beans, still frozen bread to toast. All served on rickety old tables.It was wort about $3 per head and would be what you would expect at boarding school in 1970. We raised our concerns with the hotel reception. There response was that they dont eat there either! Instead the GM recommended a place further north. Obviously a proud man.

The resort pool is delightful and lagoon like. However, if you and your family wish to use it make sure you bring a room key. All five pool gates require a deadlock to be opened before access can be gained.

In summary - Ramada appears stuck in the 70's. Crap food, filthy rooms, security crazy and a GM who does not eat at his own resort. AVOID.

Room Tip: try one of the smaller resorts and eat in Coolum
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Horrific experience. Booked a 3 bedroom apartment for 5 nights at $1680. Waited over 45mins in reception upon check in as room was filthy and not ready. TV was pre historic had to ask for it be changed dvd player didn't work. Remote controls to the air con were missing. Sliding door to the bedroom was not lockable due to lock hanging on by one bolt. Bare minimal furnishing which was old and uncomfortable. Not as described on website. Hotels comment was the apartments are individually owned.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bellexc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Bellexc,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay earlier in the year. From what you have described, we appreciate your stay was far from satisfactory.

While you are correct that the apartments are all individually owned, all owners are required to maintain their apartment to Ramada’s strict global standards. Had you advised us of your dissatisfaction at the time of your stay we would have done our very best to move you to another apartment so that you could enjoy your stay.

We constantly work with the owners encouraging them to continue to invest in their property, and as such we would very much like to know which apartment you stayed in so that we can pass your feedback on to the owner. As I can’t find any record of you advising us about the issues you experienced around the time of your stay, I would be most appreciative if you could make direct contact with me via Damien.keenan@ramadamarcoola.com.au or on 07 5412 0100. Unfortunately we are not always made aware that a DVD player is broken, or that a lock is not functioning as it should and things like these are not always noted by our housekeeping team, especially if they appear in order.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

On a quick business trip to the Sunshine Coast, I booked a 1 night stay via Wotif.com. Being a regular traveller I know what you typically get when booking a last minute web hotel deal but this place takes the cake.. it all started with check-in, now I'm a very patient person but the reception staff made me test my patience.. First they couldn't find my booking, then I had to wait for them to locate my booking from Wotif.com and then they wanted to charge me for the accom when I clearly had pre paid and had confirmation on my phone from wotif.com. The girl on reception had a very bad customer service skills and I felt I was in convincing her by being there.. After 30 mins I finally got to my room in which the aircon didn't work, the bathroom had hair in the sink and the room had a awful smell of cigaret smoke.. I didn't bother to ask to change rooms seeing as it was such an effort at check in.. This hotel needs improvements big time if they want to get guests to come back.. Surf air marcoola... I'd say stay elsewhere... Or keep driving to Coolum!!

Room Tip: Keep Driving!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poppy_Long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Poppy,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Ramada Marcoola Beach. While delays do sometimes occur, we believe how they are dealt with is the most important thing and in this case the service you describe fell short of our standards. As such we have addressed your feedback as part of our ongoing customer service training. I appreciate your patience was wearing thin by the time you arrived in the room, but I am sorry we did not have the opportunity to move you to another room, as is our policy where alternate rooms are available.

Since our rebranding earlier in the year, we have been reviewing all of our standards and procedures and we welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Where to start?
Location: Marcoola has little to offer besides a quiet beach. Here you won't find a variety or cafes nor shops to peruse, and even the quiet of the town is ruined by the planes coming in and out of the airport, of which Marcoola is based around.
I booked our room off Wotif, and I chose it because the room looked so nice compared to other rooms at other hotels in our budget accommodation (we only needed a 1 night stay). The photos, however, were very deceiving. Our room was the basic motel room, and it was so tiny that it was claustraphobic. Our view was of the street below, so the blinds remained closed. The bed was uncomfortable, the room was old, the bathroom was old. The television was from the 90's (a tube television!) and the air conditioning chugged all night long. The room was not sound proofed, and the light from the hall and the street broke through the door and the blinds. This was possibly the worst room I've ever stayed in.
The staff are nice, which is the only positive thing I can say.
Pay the extra money to stay in Coolum, where you will be a short stroll to wonderful restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank naynay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien K, Owner at Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Naynay9,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Ramada Marcoola Beach earlier in the year. What you have described is an example of our Standard Hotel Room. I agree that the rooms are simply furnished. We recently commenced replacing all non digital TV’s throughout the resort, and this is nearly complete. We are also currently working with the owners of our Standard Rooms to facilitate a refurbishment later in the year. While our Deluxe Hotel Rooms are advertised on wotif as being refurbished, in light of your review we are also looking at changing the description of our standard rooms to better reflect that they are older in style.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marcoola
15.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
524 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#2 of 4 in Coolum Beach
287 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#3 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
525 reviews
2.2 mi away
Novotel Twin Waters Resort
Novotel Twin Waters Resort
#1 of 1 in Twin Waters
3,220 reviews
13.7 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach

Address: 923 David Low Way, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia (Formerly Surfair on Marcoola Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Marcoola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marcoola
Price Range: $90 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront, Ramada Marcoola Beach Resort is situated right in the heart of the Sunshine Coast, offering the perfect base to explore the Sunshine Coast's many attractions. The resort has a superb beachfront location, with the pristine surf of Marcoola Beach right on your doorstep. Stay in a self-contained apartment or hotel room, and enjoy Marcoola Beach - the Sunshine Coast's best-kept secret. With a 60m lagoon-style heated pool, children’s pool, resort shop, bistro, bar, bottle shop, local surf beaches (Patrolled), a multitude of iconic family attractions nearby (Australia Zoo & Eumundi Markets to name two), Ramada Marcoola Beach is the ultimate family resort. Boasting breath taking views of the coast line or the hinterland plus direct access to 14km of walkable beach front Ramada Marcoola’s location and facilities will offer an ultimate beach side holiday. Ramada Marcoola Beach is the perfect place to take a relaxing short break or set up a base to explore all the coast has to offer. Do not hesitate to contact us to access some of the best value holiday deals on the Sunshine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfair On Marcoola Beach Hotel Marcoola
Surfair On Marcoola Beach Noosa
Surfair Marcoola Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing