We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst restaurant food ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marcoola
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit which had fantastic views (although we were struggling to see through the glass which was thick with salt spray).

The room was market as air conditioned but on arrival we found there was a split system air conditioner in the main living area and nothing in the bedrooms - not even a ceiling fan. Not what you want in Queensland in January!

There's something not so good about a hotel with a distinctive smell. It wafts by as soon as you walk in the door. I think it's just that fittings in the corridors are very sorn and the carpet bears the scars of a lot of stains and traffic.

But - above anything else - never, ever eaton the restaurant. It possibly has the absolute worst restaurant food I have ever encountered. It was beyond bad. I really I can't undated why anyone would ever back up for a second meal there.


  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seaview088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Seaview088,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are currently working with the owners of the apartments to install additional air conditioning units because like you mention, there are times during the summers, when one in the main room is not enough. We have also recently replaced the carpet in the North Tower hallways as part of our ongoing maintenance of the hotel.

In relation to your feedback about the restaurant, I invite you to contact me at Damien.keenan@ramadamarcoola.com.au with further information of your experience as I would very much like to pass on specific details to the executive chef.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 655 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed for 1 night in October 2011.

* Had no idea where about on the road the resort was located so had to slowly drive along the long road.

* The service at check in was very short and sharp - not welcoming at all. No "enjoy your stay, let us know if you need anything." Reception staff did not even point out that the restaurants were closed due to weddings, we had to find out from reading a printed notice. Only option for food was from the rather dodgy and unwelcoming tavern. We ended up venturing out in the storm and fortunately found a fantastic Thai restaurant, pity I cannot remember it's name.

* We wanted to watch the Rugby World Cup in comfort but could not. We had 2 tvs but the one in front of the bed in the hotel room was not an option as the room smelt horrible and the tv in the living room cut in an out due to the storm and was in front of a rather uncomfortable couch.

* We had booked a "2 bedroom apartment" which ended up being two completely separate parts joined by a private corridor.

One part appeared to be a regular tiny and horrible hotel room which smelt awful (my guess was air-con needed a clean). Could not open window as it opened out onto the main corridor and was big enough for people to climb in. The bath was not a spa-bath as we had been told when booking we would get.

The other part was a one bedroom apartment with only a shower in the bathroom. The balcony was over the empty "courtyard". Said courtyard had no plants or seating or anything! Very tiny ocean view as room boxed in by the towers. Unable to sit out on balcony in evening with light on due to overwhelming amount of large moths.

We wanted to use the internet on the computers on the morning after the storms but the internet was down and reception staff did not offer any assistance.

On checking out the only words spoken by the reception staff member were "that's fine". No wonder they did not ask if we had had a good stay, they must have known already that guests were unhappy.

So much for a romantic birthday treat.

Also the corridors are open so when it rains you get wet walking to your room from the lifts.

Room Tip: Do not stay here at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien K, General Manager at Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Alex Q,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay earlier in the year. The floods that you experienced were the worst that the area experienced in many many years, and certainly took us all by surprise. In addition to not having Austar and internet, we also had no phone lines for a long period of time, like many of the residents of the area. Our staff were unable to leave the hotel for many hours, and some had to abandon their cars on the roads due to flooding. Despite this, we were very proud of how they dealt with the added stresses of the storms and associated flooding.

We’re sorry that we did not have the opportunity to improve your stay while you were here. If you had alerted us to the fact that you were dissatisfied with your room, we would have done our best to move you to another apartment as we always want our guests to have the most enjoyable stay possible. I invite you to contact me directly should you wish to return to the area and I would be delighted to work with you to accommodate you in a room that suits your needs better.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We booked a deluxe ocean view hotel room - not much of an ocean view on the 2nd floor, but the room was a nice size overlooking the pool area. The downfall of this great spot is the service at the pool side cafe - horrendous and most people I speak to say the same thing. Very unorganized, slow - 2 staff on 1 day with over 100 people around the pool and cafe area wanting service. Some of the drinks on the menu these staff didn't know how to make them. We ordered 2 Malibu and lemonades and got plain lemonade, a chai latte came out as coffee with chai syrup at the bottom.At one point our beer was served in a paper milkshake cup as no plastic cups left. Ordered skinny caps - no skim milk was available. Coffees were served in whatever cups available from paper to tea cups to personalised staff coffee mugs.I nearly went to the resort shop and bought them some milk and cups to use. Food was average and not cheap. My 5 garlic prawns were swimming in a bowl of oil and
butter. Nice location and close to take a drive to Maroochy, Perigian, Noosa etc. Wi Fi is expensive on one day there were around 10 groups of people still not checked into their rooms by 3.30pm so they were just hanging around waiting waiting. If you want a peaceful setting then all ok with the beach and walkway. If you want service and amenities , probably not the place.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anjtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

While the location & facilities are overall excellent, we had a tiny hotel style room (Room no:2203). This is one of the smallest rooms we've ever stayed in but at least it had a slight ocean view. However, I'm sure there are larger apartments that would be lovely. The tavern downstairs does well priced meals that are a yummy fulfilling size. Focus on Coffee over the road is a modest cafe that has good breakfasts & coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dezer1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I had previously reviewed this resort in 2009, however felt that it no longer deserved the excellent rating I gave it back then.

Most staff were friendly and welcoming; however I encountered one front office woman who was abrupt and unpleasant - not acceptable in a customer service role.

The furniture in the apartments is starting to look worn and tired. Although clean, our room was inadequately maintained with a number of appliances and lights not working. Really annoying to discover this once reception has closed for the night.

Although the food was good, the sneaky $2 per meal surcharge for takeaway at the restaurant was an unwelcome addition to our bill, particularly for kids meals. The following night we discovered why the takeaway shops across the road are so popular - three pieces of red emperor, calamari and huge serve of chips from the local fish and chip shop was the same price as one takeaway seafood basked from the restaurant.

On a positive note, the grounds and pool area were, as they always have been, immaculately maintained.

Unfortunately, a nice pool isn't enough to bring me back and I won't be recommending this resort to family and friends as I have in the past.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissMoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We would normally go to Fiji for our annual Holiday but this year we thought we'd holiday closer to home as we have an 18 month old and a 6 year old and we didn't want a long flight. We were not disappointed. The Surfair is pretty much right on a spectacular stretch of beach which has surf lifeguards so young and old can enjoy the surf. Better still the beach is fairly gradual so it was perfect for our toddler. And if the kids don't fancy the waves there's a superb swimming pool to keep them occupied all day...

We booked a three bedroom apartment which had fantastic views of the beach and all mod cons. It's so much easier booking an apartment rather than a traditional Hotel room as with kids you can do as much washing and drying as you like. It was a bit of a novelty returning home with suitcases of clean clothes I must say. The Surfair is also within easy driving distance of Coles and you get a complimentary parking space with the apartment - actually with a threebedroom you get 2 - so it makes a family holiday even more affordable.

We also went to the PGA at the Hyatt Coolum which is just up the road so for golfers this place is also a must.

Overall I would have no hesitation in recommending this property for families or couples - nothing is too much trouble and the location to the beach, restaurants and activities can't be beaten. By the way the coffee shop across the road has the best coffee I've tasted in years.....

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed at Marcoola on Saturday night so we didnt have to drive up in the morning.
The room was a Delux room and it cost $140 a night. Two big beds and a nice bathroom. There was no balcony but a nice big window that let lots of air in. I love fresh air! The beds were comfortable and the appartment was nice and clean. The only down side was the smell of smoke through the whole floor (maybe from other rooms?). The restaurant was great for a couple of beers and some nuts as 'recovery' from our drive and the breakfast was ok. I have stayed at the hotel just down the road and we were given a special price of $9.95 for the full buffet breakfast but we were charged $19.95 this time - I didnt like that. I was reluctant to stay at this place again after the first experience (in a smaller room with VERY loud neighbours) but I am glad I did.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bronnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marcoola
15.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
525 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Point Coolum Beach
The Point Coolum Beach
#2 of 4 in Coolum Beach
287 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#3 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
530 reviews
2.2 mi away
Novotel Twin Waters Resort
Novotel Twin Waters Resort
#1 of 1 in Twin Waters
3,222 reviews
13.7 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach

Address: 923 David Low Way, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia (Formerly Surfair on Marcoola Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Marcoola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marcoola
Price Range: $90 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront, Ramada Marcoola Beach Resort is situated right in the heart of the Sunshine Coast, offering the perfect base to explore the Sunshine Coast's many attractions. The resort has a superb beachfront location, with the pristine surf of Marcoola Beach right on your doorstep. Stay in a self-contained apartment or hotel room, and enjoy Marcoola Beach - the Sunshine Coast's best-kept secret. With a 60m lagoon-style heated pool, children’s pool, resort shop, bistro, bar, bottle shop, local surf beaches (Patrolled), a multitude of iconic family attractions nearby (Australia Zoo & Eumundi Markets to name two), Ramada Marcoola Beach is the ultimate family resort. Boasting breath taking views of the coast line or the hinterland plus direct access to 14km of walkable beach front Ramada Marcoola’s location and facilities will offer an ultimate beach side holiday. Ramada Marcoola Beach is the perfect place to take a relaxing short break or set up a base to explore all the coast has to offer. Do not hesitate to contact us to access some of the best value holiday deals on the Sunshine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfair On Marcoola Beach Hotel Marcoola
Surfair On Marcoola Beach Noosa
Surfair Marcoola Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing