We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, as usual!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Marino by the Sea
Mackay
1 review
“Wonderful, as usual!”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We first stayed at San Marino a few years ago and have been back several times now - it's hard to think about going anywhere else once you've experienced it. We've been in several of the units, they've all been a bit different but all are spacious, spotlessly clean and contain everything you need. The views from the 4th and 5th floor units are amazing and you'll see whales if you're there at the right time of the year.

The area is quiet and relaxed but there's a bakery, fish and chips shop and coffee shop just across the road and they're all very good. There's also a restaurant that does the best pizzas I've ever had. There's a Coles supermarket only a couple of minutes drive away.

Mal and Lidi make the whole experience just that little bit better than it already is and always have time for a friendly chat. We've only ever had one very minor issue (couldn't get Austar to work) and it was fixed immediately.

The beach is beautiful, never busy, and stretches for miles. The flags are up every day (at least they have been every time we've been there) and the lifesaver is always happy to have a chat. We spend most of our time on the beach but there's a very nice pool in the complex and a barbecue area too.

There's usually no rush to be out the door on the dot of 10am on your last day which is really nice (check with Mal and Lidi first though - I'm sure sometimes this wouldn't be possible). We highly recommend San Marino and can't wait until we can go back for our next visit.

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floor for the amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you Sue. You guys make our lives easy as managers at San Marino. You know you and your family are always very welcome here. It’s great to see our regulars come back time and again. It is a great spot and as you said you have everything you need close by. The beach is a highlight and it is arguably one of the best beaches on the coast. All the best for Easter and hope to see you again soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    26
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
25
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I have stayed at this property twice. First with a group of friends on a girls' weekend in January, and as we liked it so much, last week with my partner. The resort is in a great spot - direct beach access with beatuiful, natural, uncrowded Marcoola Beach out the front. The beach is flagged during the summer which is a bonus. Even though the airport is across the road and you can hear planes from the road, once you are in your ocean-front apartment, they don't bother you at all. The loudest noise is the sound of the waves. While the apartment is an older style, it's is very well-maintained. Both apartments I have stayed in were roomy, spotlessly clean, the beds were comfy and the kitchen was very well-appointed (no frustration because there was no egg flipper or tongs for example). The grounds are also very well-maintained with a lovely barbecue area at the pool.

The managers, Mal and Lidi are friendly and helpful and happy to discuss the attributes of individual apartments to help you book the best one. They also offer discounts for return visitors. One of the beauties of this property is that the apartments can be one, two or three bedrooms depending on your needs - they simply lock off the extra rooms - which means you pay a lower tarriff.

In all, this is a lovely place to stay if you want a quiet holiday in a great location in an apartment that straight away feels like home. It doesn't have the "trendy" Noosa factor or the "bustling" Mooloolaba factor, but if you want to relax, not worry about traffic and parking and have miles of uncrowded beach to walk on, I'd recommend it. We will go back again.

Room Tip: Go for either an ocean view room on levels 3-5 or a south-east corner room. I would least recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerriBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you Kerri for the wonderful review.
We are determined to maintain the standard you have enjoyed. Together with our awesome owners (of the individual units) will work doing our part to present what we have at its best. The amazing beach we have and the local shops (offering everything you need) combine to make Marcoola a great place for a short or long visit.
We look forward to seeing you again when it’s time for you to take a break. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We recently stayed here while attending a nearby wedding - and I'm sure Mal will remember us - as we were the ones pushing the buzzer at god-knows-what-hour-in-the-morning! We'd forgotten our keys!! Mal couldn't have been more helpful, he ducked down to let us in almost instantly. To top it off, we were graced with a complimentary late-checkout in the morning (which really helped our sore heads). Thanks again, we had a great weekend!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OaksHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Glad to know you enjoyed your weekend and no problems regarding the early morning callout. Hope to see you again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2012

On our travels and chasing our dreams we came across San Marino by the Sea at an essential moment on our journey. We needed a place to call home while our international visas were being processed and we need somewhere comfortable and homely. San Marino not only afforded us all of that and more the managers were the most hospitable, always helpful, team one could ask for when stay away from home. In our experience much larger facilities with job-share receptions rarely are able to offer quality customer service when you need it, yet when those times arose the San Marino team were there for us.

Our daughters learned to swim during our stay at San Marino and daily we walked the length of the beach along the path and sand. It was simply beautiful to be right on the beach like that; to hear the waves crashing at night, to watch storms rolling in, and the soft sweet scents that were often in the air from the ocean spray.

The convenience of being close to a mini-mart and a bus stop made life a little easier too and the food across the road is something to boast about. The Coles supermarket is located only a couple of kilometers down the road and the Sunshine Coast Airport is a five minute trip. As a matter of reassurance; you rarely ever hear the planes despite it being so close.

With that I close by saying a huge Thank you to the San Marino team for making our life just that much better during our 3.5 month stay.

- The Litherland Crew.

Room Tip: The apartments were very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Thank you Tiffany for the great review. Marcoola Beach is a great place for familes and couples alike. As you mentioned, no need to be scared off because the airport is close, as the ocean breeze blows any noise westwards. We do hope you family are now settled into your lives overseas in the USA and we are happy that we were able to be your hosts during your stay here.
You are welcome any time when you pop over for a holiday. All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was our 4th holiday at San Marino, Marcoola. Our two children are now 9 and 7. The great thing about San Marino which we love is the safety factor whereby there is no road to cross to get to the patrolled beach. We have stayed in 2 and 3 bedroom units, all which are lovely and well equipped. I request security screens in the bedrooms and Mal & Lidi always manage to secure a unit with that in mind which is brilliant. The last 2 times we have stayed in a 3 bed-room unit, top floor corner which has it's own terrace bbq courtyard up top. This particular unit has a very sensible layout and is always in tip-top condition. San Marino has a great pool which the kids love especially and a tennis court for all to enjoy too. Marcoola is a beautiful place to relax and enjoy the happy smiling faces of our kids. I love falling asleep to the sound of the waves at night; it's beautiful. We will definitely visit again and again and again ... it's a little piece of paradise at the Sunshine Coast and Mal & Lidi are the perfect hosts! Thank you!

Room Tip: We love the corner suites - 3 bedroom units, the top floor. The layout is brilliant and you get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thanks Jacky for your review. It is a pleasure to have such appreciative regular guests.
Marcoola is a great area and we are happy that you enjoyed your time here. Just for your info that Marcoola Beach will be patrolled over the weekends during winter this year for the first time. So that is good news. You are, of course, always very welcome and I hope that when you visit again, that we have found something to improve, so you will be pleasantly surprised next time too. All the best to the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We needed a rest from business and stayed at the San Marino. Had a great time relaxing, and even though it rained a lot it was still a pleasure, quiet, peaceful, great pool and facility, we will be back - Vicki

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Heh Vicki, thanks for the great review. We look forward to having you come and stay again soon we will book a high degree of sunshine for you next time. Glad you can be positive and still enjoy your break 'chill out time' even with the rainy weather that week. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurrajong NSW
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Oustanding in all aspects; spent 6 nights over NY weekend with family in 3 br top floor apartment. Lovely ocean views & breeze, well set out, very well maintained, quiet and very relaxing ..just what we were looking for to "chill out" after a busy 2011. Great to be away from the crowds and cafe's of Noosa & Caloundra, but still have great a Sunshine Coast beach at the front door and a very comfy apartment, that is very handy to everything you want ...5 mins from airport and rarely heard a plane!!! Already booked in again for a longer stay Jan 2013. Thx Mal & Lidi..great hosts!!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a Roof Top entertaining area ...very practical & great for happy hour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thanks Rob for the great review. We do like our quiet spot here on the sunny coast. You are always very welcome and we look forward to welcoming your friends as well. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marcoola
0.9 mi away
Pacific Palms Motor Inn
Pacific Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Marcoola
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Marcoola
Atlantis Marcoola
#1 of 7 in Marcoola
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sand Dunes Resort
Sand Dunes Resort
#2 of 7 in Marcoola
163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Santorini Twin Waters
Santorini Twin Waters
#1 of 1 in Mudjimba
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salerno On The Beach
Salerno On The Beach
#7 of 7 in Marcoola
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marino by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marino by the Sea

Property: San Marino by the Sea
Address: San Marino 917 David Low Way, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Marcoola
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Marcoola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — San Marino by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Marino offers affordable 1, 2 and 3 bedroom Self-Contained Sunshine Coast Holiday Accommodation. Opening up onto private balconies overlooking the ocean. Marcoola Beach Family Holiday Apartments are tastefully decorated and generously sized. All apartments are spacious, open planned,contain fully equipped kitchens complete with full size refrigerator, oven, dishwasher, microwave and full laundry. Marcoola Holiday Apartments are absolute beachfront and perfect for a relaxing holiday escape. Quality Sunshine Coast Holiday Accommodation in a tranquil setting, while still being totally accessible to the areas of Mooloolaba, Noosa, Coolum and Maroochydore. Try San Marino at Marcoola, we are sure you will be pleasantly surprised. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your San Marino by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing