We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Marino by the Sea
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We have just had 3 nights at San Marino by the Sea and it was perfect! The apartment was absolutely gorgeous and very well equipped. Across the road is one of the best bakeries we've ever found - great for pastries and buns for breakfast. Also just across the road is the Can Do Restaurant which makes the yummiest pizzas. Will be recommending San Marino to any other Kiwis we know coming over to the Gold Coast. Thank you Mal & Lidi.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here.
Glad to see you promoted the Bakery and the Cando restaurant over the road, so convenient and delicious.
You and your other Kiwi friends are always welcome over on our sunny shores being the Sunshine Coast just north of Brisbane.
Oh, and congrats on the rugby – hang onto it tight though as we will be coming after it again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 106 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

We had a wonderful, comfortable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and the patrolled beach directly outside the hotel was never crowded. I was surprised to find such a peaceful, affordable place along the south coast. Will definitely consider Marcoola for future holidays!

Room Tip: We had ocean views but would have preferred a balcony facing East instead of south to get optimal be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2011

Thank you for your great review and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Also glad that you have 'discovered' this area and how peaceful it is and the beach uncrowded. We love it here and many of our guests come back time and again after visiting this area. Next visit remind us that you would like to try an east facing unit so you can enjoy even more of the ocean views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is our third time at San Marino but this time was with our daughter and three adult children and their partners,. We had a great time by the pool, playing tennis, on beach[close by] Beautiful sea views from our apartments and close to shopping and cafes.
Thanks again Mal and Lidi

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ironbarkdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

It is always a pleasure to see our guests come back time and time again.
Thank you for your review as it does encourage us to keep the standard high.
We are also happy to know that you enjoyed our facilities as well as the awesome beach we have here at Marcoola.
While the beach has been patrolled as a surfing beach from September holidays through to end of Easter holidays next year 2012 will be the first year it will be patrolled all through Winter (weekends and winter school holidays). That is great news for the southerners who come up for a winter warmer holiday.
Also for your info the Marcoola David Low Way section of road in front of the resorts here will be street-scaped and improved which will force the traffic to slow down and making this area and more friendly people place - new name to be Suncoast Boulevard.
You will enjoy this area even more next time. Hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We have stayed at Marcoola before but this was our first visit to San Marino. We were not disappointed. Our three bed corner apartment with private rooftop terrace entirely lived up to expectations: clean, comfortable, well equiped and with the best sea views we've ever experienced. Slight confusion with operation of TV/DVD was quickly resolved for us. Pool area is exeptionally nice- heated pool and lovely shower area meant we could really make the most of our last day after check out. The stunning patrolled beach is a two minute stroll through a privately accessed gate, just perfect. There is a skateboard park for the kids a 5/10 minute walk away and a great kids playground at Mudjimba- 25 min walk on beach or short car ride away. There are a few shops and cafes across the road or Coolum is a 15 minute drive away if you need a wider choice. We have stayed at quite a few different resorts on the Sunshine Coast but Marcoola remains our favourite for a quiet get away (the airport noise is minimal) and I think we'd be hard pressed to beat San Marino.

Room Tip: High floors have amazing sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pol2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Wow, what can I say, what a great review for both Marcoola and San Marino by the Sea - thank you. We know Marcoola is a special place and love it when others discover her secrets and appreciate the area. Thank you again for your comments. We do hope our guests all enjoy their stay here and try to make things the best that we possibly can. Spring is a beautiful time of year on the Sunshine Coast and so happy that you enjoyed your time here. You are always welcome at San Marino and it will be a pleasure to look after you when you come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We have enjoyed 3 nights at ths San Marino Hotel and will be back for moere later in the year. Located metres from a flagged beach, the 3 bedroom unit had fantastic ocean views. The room was well appointed with BBQ, pool and tennis facilities kept in excellent order. Run by Mal & Lidi Butler, they give the resort has a warm personal feel- a nice change from the big chains of hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for us. So many people have yet to discover this beautiful area. We love having families visit and hearing the laughter of children in the pool and enjoy the facilities and the wonderful Beach at Marcoola. This year we provided a few pool toys for the children and families to enjoy and they all seemed to have a fun time in the pool. The weather has been so kind to us the past weeks it was a great opportunity for family holidays at the beach. We look forward to your future vists and we always offer our return guests a great deal to visit again. We must remember book some perfect weather for the next holiday season. All the very best and may the time pass quickly till your next holiday break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Mal and Lidi Butler at San Marino by the Sea helped to make our short stay on the Sunshine Coast a memorable one. Their service was friendly and efficient, with nothing being too much trouble. The units are clean, comfortable and well appointed, and located right on beautiful Marcoola beach, close enough to all the Sunshine coast has to offer. The complex is quiet and family friendly, definitely the right place for your next holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Thank you so much for your generous review. It is a pleasure to see our guests from near and far enjoy this unspoilt area and beach. We have to give credit to the owners of the apartments who allow us to keep their apartments in top condition. As you can imagine there is much maintenance and cost maintaining an apartment by the beach. I also have to give Lidi kudos for her tireless work in achieiving her high standard of presentation and cleanliness. While we know it is expected it is often and thankless task. All the very best to you and your family and we hope we can provide you with the same if not better level of service and standard next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The managers are very lovely and approachable. Rooms were lovely, well furnished and clean.

Room Tip: 4th and 5th floor ocean view rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hagedoorn-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Thanks so much for your review. We do hope you all enjoyed a very special weekend with family and glad we were able to assist in any way possible.Yes, the views are great the higher up you go, the shrubs on the beach sand dunes are growing after all the rain early in the year. All the very best and hope to see you again for another visit sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marcoola hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Marcoola
Atlantis Marcoola
#1 of 7 in Marcoola
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marcoola Beach Resort
Marcoola Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Marcoola
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Coast Airport Motel
0.9 mi away
Pacific Palms Motor Inn
Pacific Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Marcoola
170 reviews
1.8 mi away
White Shells Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marino by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marino by the Sea

Address: San Marino 917 David Low Way, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Marcoola
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Marcoola
Price Range: $114 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Marino by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Marino offers affordable 1, 2 and 3 bedroom Self-Contained Sunshine Coast Holiday Accommodation. Opening up onto private balconies overlooking the ocean. Marcoola Beach Family Holiday Apartments are tastefully decorated and generously sized. All apartments are spacious, open planned,contain fully equipped kitchens complete with full size refrigerator, oven, dishwasher, microwave and full laundry. Marcoola Holiday Apartments are absolute beachfront and perfect for a relaxing holiday escape. Quality Sunshine Coast Holiday Accommodation in a tranquil setting, while still being totally accessible to the areas of Mooloolaba, Noosa, Coolum and Maroochydore. Try San Marino at Marcoola, we are sure you will be pleasantly surprised. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Marino by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing