We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
77
27
3
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
27
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunshine coast discovery beach resident manager we booked a bedroom apartment great spot our home away from home third floor full size tennis court ocean front garden view the air conditioning a great place to stay neil complex furniture surf roomy
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 109 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I really needed a break and had previously stayed at San Marino so I went back. The 2nd visit was even better than the first (even though it was great too)!

The managers are outstanding. They are professional and provide amazing service to ensure your stay is perfect. They send you a text on the day you are to commence your stay to let you know when your apartment is ready for you to check in. You receive a thank you email after your stay and will help you with anything in between.

The apartments are wonderful. Great ocean access (it's wonderful not having to drive to the beach). there is everything you could want in the apartment - comfy beds, big balconies and they are exceptionally clean and well maintained.

Thus is the perfect place for a great holiday or short break! Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

Thank you for your generous review of our property. We are so happy that you have enjoyed your stay once again. We have so many great great apartments with awesome ocean views we look forward to you coming again so you can try them all. Stay well and till next time....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Overall, a very nice place to stay. Relaxed atmosphere and nice rooms. Mal & Lidiana go out of their way to make sure your stay is the best it can be. Close to shops, restaurants and the beach!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ringtail05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Thank you for your time to write a review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We make every effort in making sure all our guests and residents enjoy their stay here. We hope to see you again when you can make it up this way again. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We have stayed at San Marino frequently and so have many friends and family.
Mal and Lidi are excellent hosts and always available. They keep the whole area in excellent clean condition and the gardens are lovely. The units are privately owned and so have different furnishings and equipment etc but always absolutely spotless. We have our favourite units which are in the front in the middle. The views of the sea are great and there is little noise from the nearby airport or local traffic.
Highly recommended ! There are nearby shops for essentials and eateries although other entertainment (movies etc) are about half an hour away in either direction along the coast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

Thank you for your generous comments. Having been here for 3 years now our regular guests become almost like family. Seeing the family turn up at different times of the year is always great to catch up again. The area is also much like a village atmosphere so you know you will be surrounded by friendly locals without the rush of the city here at Marcoola. We are always happy to have our regulars, their friends and their families come back again and again. All the very best till next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

The Service was 1st class from my first contact until after i got home with a follow up e_mail.
Our apartment was upgraded to a breath taking room with a late check out the apartment was spotless and had everything needs in it.(just be sure to take your ipod or cd's with you )
Location location unspoilt peice of coastline with plenty of food options and great friendly service..like a small country town.
the hightlight of the stay was our breath taking veiws from our apartment..
And not to forget the Marcoola surf club very friendly, good meals, bar prices.
thank you Mal &Lidi We will be returning.

Room Tip: ocean veiw room
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee062Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

It is a pleasure to have guests stay here who enjoy what we and Marcoola have to offer. We do our best to provide the apartments and facilities in top shape and condition. The beach we can call our own is magnificent from any perspective and at this time of year is where they get the phrase perfect one day better the next. We do try to offer freebies for our guests, possibly a room upgrade or a early or late check out when and where possible. Thank you again for your appreciation, it's what drives us to continue providing top service to our guests. We look forward to when you can stay and visit again with us here at San Marino on Marcoola Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Mal upgraded us from a Garden view room to an Ocean view on the top floor which was a great way to start the trip. The apartment was great, neat and clean but was lacking in all the kitchen utensils like a non stick pan that one would expect.
IT was close to the place where I had to go for classes and not too far from Maroochodoyre and well linked by bus. Nice place to go for a holiday.
Mal, the resident manager is very friendly and helpful in booking tours and recommending things. IF only they could provide guests free WI fi rather than the 6$ for 30 mins, it would be nicer.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We do take any comments very seriously and act on any deficiencies in the apartments. It's a pity we were not made aware about the lack of a non stick pan or lack of utensils. All our apartments are equipped to suit the 4 star standard as a minimum and being owned by individual investors they each have their own character and level of appointments. Some apartments have more pans, crockery & utensils than could ever be needed and others have all the basics you would expect. On the whole they are generously equipped. We have even gone out and bought specific items during a guests stay to make it more comfortable for them. The WiFi is provided by a broadband supplier MyPort and information about them to find out about their charges is sent to all guests with the booking confirmation. Other neighbouring resorts also use this service. I do hope you are very successful with your business endevours and hope your family will consider returning to Macroola again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews