We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Marino by the Sea
Reviewed April 29, 2011

A great place for a family to stay. As very well traveled international visitors the San Marino by the Sea is our preference when we stay at the Sunshine Coast. We have stayed at the resort on a number of occasions with our two children and would highly recommend it to anyone. It's only 90 minutes from Brisbane Airport, opposite the Sunshine Coast Airport, and only a short drive to the hustle and bustle of Maroochydore and Collum Beach. Most importantly we save our holiday dollars by using the self catering facilities and the poolside barbeque area to prepare most of our meals, and it’s within walking distance of a number of small grocery stores, resteraunts and of course a bottle shop. The resort overlooks the pristine Marcoolla Surf Beach which has a regular Surf Life Saving Patrol present. The two and three bedroom apartments are fairly well appointed and well equipped, and if there is a problem it is always addressed in a very efficient and professional manner by the managers Mal and Lidi Butler. A great stay if you are into a quiet surf beach without all the bright lights and glitter of the main tourist destinations.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samara1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2011

Thank you for your positive and informative review. We value the time taken to post this review. It is always great to receive positive feedback and we also welcome any negative feedback as it allows us to improve what sometimes may have been overlooked.

We do value your holiday times are special occasions and we hope we will be able to offer you a restful and enjoyable stay again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 106 of 106 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2011

Amazing value for money. It is in the most idyllic location in the world. The managers were friendly and welcoming. We were on the 4th floor and had a spectacular 180' ocean view. With a patrolled beach at the door. People were friendly, small quiet location but great live music at the Surf Club.

Room Tip: Room 28- 3 bedrooms- views & great decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holiday255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2011

Thank you for your compliments and taking the time to write a review. It is always good to know you enjoyed your visit here. Marcoola Beach s a special place isn't it. We as managers do try to make our guests visit that little bit extra special. We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Nice relaxed week, management very informative a lovely atmosphere unit well maintained and we have stayed in 4 different ones. If they could of fixed the weather it would have been a dream come true.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28031994Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2011

Thank you for your compliments and taking the time to write a review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your visit here.
Let me know next time when you are coming and I will sort out the weather guy.... I wish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

San Marino has to be the best value-for-money holiday on the Sunshine Coast. Many of the units at San Marino have 180 degree ocean views. You take the lift to ground level, walk across a well tended lawn down a sandy track and you're on a breathtakingly beautiful patrolled beach. No roads to cross, no traffic noise wafting up to your balcony. That whole beachfront hidden by the strip of units surrounding Surfair at Marcoola is a genuine suprise. The lawns dotted with native trees leading onto the sand are so charming people choose to take their wedding vows there. And the beach goes for miles, literally. You can walk for an hour and a half north to Coolum and never leave the sand, crossing three patrolled beaches. And it'd take you another hour to stroll southward back to the Maroochy River. Or you could take a four minute walk from your room to Surfair Hotel for a beer and a good meal, while across the road is a commercial strip which offers reasonable take aways. The entire complex is immaculate with beautifully maintained pool and tennis court. Staff are easy going and friendly, the rooms are clean and well presented. They're not oppulent, just comfortable, breezy, unpretentious units that complement the relaxed atmosphere of the coast. Perhaps what is most extraordinary about the place is how many people don't know it exists. Tourists thinking Sunshine Coast tend to head to Noosa, Caloundra or Maroochydore. It may be Marcoola's proximity to the airport that scares them off, but I didn't heard aircraft noise during my three day stay at San Marino. And a close airport means interstate visitors could be sitting on their balcony gazing at the ocean having a glass of wine 20 minutes after touch down. I was told while I was there the streetscape opposite the San Marino complex on David Low Way is supposed to be renovated by the local council in the year ahead, which will only make it more attractive. Seriously, if you just want to immerse yourself in the natural beauthy of the Sunshine Coast and aren't overly anxious about being seen on Noosa's Hastings Street, paying $6 for a cup of coffee, check it out.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2011

Thank you for the time taken for your lengthy detailed review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your visit here.
We are in a very special place here and it is true Marcoola's Discovery Beach is a 'hidden Gem'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We love it here because you need never get the car out and you can walk for miles. Who would bother to go to Noosa or Mooloolaba when you can go at your own pace at Marcoola.

Room Tip: Pick room at the beach front and up high for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2011

Thank you for your positive review.
This is a great area and we feel privileged to live here.
Those long morning beach walks are definitely good for the body, mind and soul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Overlooking beautiful Marcoola Beach. Walking distance to shops, services, and restaurants.
Love the sound of the ocean at night!
Mal attended to any concerns immediately.
Would definitely stay there again!
Awsome view of beach and Old Woman Island.
Quiet and private beach!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zsa_zsa_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmar917, Manager at San Marino by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2011

Thank you for your kind review. I can certailanly agree that Marcoola Beach is a beautiful part of the Sunshine Coast and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marcoola hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Marcoola
Atlantis Marcoola
#1 of 7 in Marcoola
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sand Dunes Resort
Sand Dunes Resort
#2 of 7 in Marcoola
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Conference Centre Marcoola Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pacific Palms Motor Inn
Pacific Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Marcoola
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Coast Airport Motel
1.8 mi away
White Shells Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marino by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marino by the Sea

Address: San Marino 917 David Low Way, Marcoola, Queensland 4564, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Marcoola
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Marcoola
Price Range: $89 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Marino by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Marino offers affordable 1, 2 and 3 bedroom Self-Contained Sunshine Coast Holiday Accommodation. Opening up onto private balconies overlooking the ocean. Marcoola Beach Family Holiday Apartments are tastefully decorated and generously sized. All apartments are spacious, open planned,contain fully equipped kitchens complete with full size refrigerator, oven, dishwasher, microwave and full laundry. Marcoola Holiday Apartments are absolute beachfront and perfect for a relaxing holiday escape. Quality Sunshine Coast Holiday Accommodation in a tranquil setting, while still being totally accessible to the areas of Mooloolaba, Noosa, Coolum and Maroochydore. Try San Marino at Marcoola, we are sure you will be pleasantly surprised. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your San Marino by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing