We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Views, Lovely Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colon Thalasso-Termal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Colon Thalasso-Termal
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Caldes d'Estrac
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Views, Lovely Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

About 45 min drive outside of Barcelona, this lovely spa hotel is right on the beach (and when I say 'right on the beach' I mean literally 'on the sand') its amazing! Staff were really nice, most spoke basic English which was handy as I know no Spainish. Breakfast and evening meals were very nice and filling. My room was amazing, very spacious with an incredible sea view. I didn't get chance to use the spa but I did see it and it looks very nice. All in all a very nice, modern hotel which is geared for relaxation, which was a shame as I had to work.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WellyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    123
    104
    38
    46
See reviews for
39
240
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
189 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Colon thalasso is a contemporary building with glass walls in a significant part of the venue, I did not get to see the termal pool, unfortunately but my room had inspiring views, it was really clean and we only paid 100 euros a night!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivonne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

My wife and I really enjoyed a very relaxing stay in Caldes d'Estrac and a lot of that had to do with this hotel. We traded off the relatively higher cost of staying here by spending two nights prior in Calella at a much cheaper hotel. However, for the extra money we spent here, I feel we had a lot better value. Not to mention that Caldes d'Estrac is a much nicer town with far less of a touristy feel than the (Benidorm meets Ibiza) Calella.

The room was very well appointed and left nothing lacking. We were facing away from the beach but heard nothing from the market or train that ran immediately outside our back window, the room was insulated from noise very well. The bathroom was very luxurious. The breakfast was exceptional with a wide variety of pastries and meats, freshly squeezed oranges juice, cereals and the traditional fry up. It wasn't too oily as is often an issue.

The hotel has it's own (indoor) seawater pool (Therm) which they said was heated but certainly was tepid at best. There is a range of bubble massages and elegant showers however whilst I was there there were children not entirely observing the tranquility the 'SILENCE' sign was attempting to achieve. Nevertheless, with their squealing extinguished by submerging my head under the water, it was well worth it and included in the room price at no extra cost. Whilst I didn't use the gym it was VERY impressive in size and range of equipment.

The hotel has a beach club with sun lounges which were almost at the point of requiring replacement. The beach here is absolutely lovely and we spent most of our time lying blissfully in the sun. If you can't get a massage by the hotel therapist (and I would recommend booking well ahead), you can get a cheap but very nice one by the masseurs on the beach - just make sure you are in the shade - I got very sunburnt.

The hotel is very close to the town which is amazing, a very authentic Spanish upmarket town with some nice eateries and great food stores and markets (especially seafood).

There were only a couple of things that could be improved.
(1) Whilst the hotel has WiFi it has no business centre or computers for guest use. The WiFi signal is very patchy and slow. We had to access it on our iPhones from the foyer.
(2) There is a very tranquil outside bar but we found the bar staff very abrupt and in some cases quite rude and arrogant, reacting quite inappropriately to our indecision on which cocktail to order. In fact, given the amount we were paying per night, all the staff seemed quite unhelpful and, in some cases, rude. The beach club staff very aggressively corrected my mispronunciated request of 'aqua' to 'agua'. The reception staff seemed very reluctant to call our last hotel to see if we had left behind some jewellery and near refused to recommend any restaurants in the local town. We were told the township was very small and there was nowhere nearby to eat - a blatant lie with a plethora of eating establishments - some in fact less than 50m from the hotel door!!! Clearly an attempt to steer guests towards the overpriced hotel restaurant.

Having said that, we had a very relaxing stay and would certainly return in an instant if we had the money. I would highly recommend this place. Two nights is probably enough before you might start to get bored, but longer if you want the ultimate in escape and relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CambridgeCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stayed on business on other visits, this was first time with family. Extra bed in normal room, great ocean view. Did not use spa services, costs were more expensive than we could do back home. Beach was nice, towels and loungers for guests. Breakfast was very complete, but service a bit slow. Bar is nice, good service. Too bad you don't have an ocean view when sitting outside, as there is a strange angled wall that blocks the view. Should have a glass wall at the outside bar to enjoy the view and drinks at the same time. Did not try dinner at the hotel, but enjoyed some Xingirito restaurants along with beach with local friends. Overall a bit expensive, but it was a nice break for a few days after staying in downtown Barcelona.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank junkbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
185 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

This hotel just outside of Barcelona (Mataro) further to the east is a definate top location in terms of the beach. Located right by the water there is nothing that parts you from a great view over the meditaranian sea. The Spa is fantastic with numerous Saunas and mineral baths. The spa also offers massages and various treatments of all kinds. I very much enjoyed my stay there and will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ambassadorger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2008

We arrived here for a three night break believing we were checking into a beach front spa hotel geared towards people who wanted a 'spa break' tied in with a nice relaxing time on the beach. The hotel staff are not necessarily rude, but certainly treated us with apathy and we felt unwelcome.

This is a business hotel, geared towards conferences and, perhaps, business travellers.
The decor would have been very grand in the 70s and, despite everywhere being very spacious, could only be described as functional at best. It felt very Franco-era to me.

I don't think a newly engaged couple requesting a double bed is extraordinary in this day and age, but they do not appear to have any rooms with double beds.
We requested a double room with a sea view and were given a twin room with a side on sea view. The hotel seemed empty, but a room change was out of the question. Seriously, for the money you pay here, you can get something a LOT better.

The hotel website says that golf, windsurfing, and tennis were available. We brought our tennis rackets and when we asked reception where we could play, she seemed shocked and confused as to why we would ask. She managed to give us an address in the next town, but didn't know where it was and they don't have ANY maps to give you at reception. Noone was windsurfing anywhere and I strongly suspect you would have to go somewhere far away for that.

The beach is okay. The sea is not great for swimming and the loungers are standard fare.

The spa is excellent, but border treatment rooms that look like they belong in a hospital and the whole thing has a clinical feel.

Unless you can spend a half day in saunas and indoor swimming pools, you will get bored here quickly.

After a day and a half there, we were desperate to get out and did something we had never done before - we checked out early. This too proved problematic as they told us we would have to pay for the third night anyway. After a long list of complaints we were allowed to leave without paying for the final night.

We checked into another hotel that was more modern, with better facilities and a better location. Most importantly, however, we were treated as valued customers, which you are unlikely to get at the Hotel Colon.

  • Liked — The spa
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caldes d'Estrac hotels

Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

Stayed for 2 nights. It is not cheap but has a lovely spa with pool, sauna, steam rooms etc. and is very attractively decorated. Breakfast was really good. Easy to get to by train from Barcelona as it is right next to the station. The sea view rooms can be noisy because the bar is open until 02:00 am on Fridays and Saturdays. A room on the side would still have sea views with a balcony and be quiter. Rooms on the back (I think they are called park view rooms) would get noise from the train and the bars

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The noise of the outdoor bar
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gansosalvaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caldes d'Estrac
5.0 mi away
Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro
1.4 mi away
Sa Voga Hotel Amb Encant
Sa Voga Hotel Amb Encant
#2 of 2 in Arenys de Mar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
4.6 mi away
New Hotel Colon
New Hotel Colon
#4 of 5 in Mataro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hotel Blancafort Spa Termal
5.7 mi away
Hotel Gran Sol
Hotel Gran Sol
#1 of 1 in Sant Pol de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#7 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colon Thalasso-Termal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colon Thalasso-Termal

Property: Hotel Colon Thalasso-Termal
Address: Placa de les Barques S/N, 08393 Caldes d'Estrac, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Caldes d'Estrac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Caldes d'Estrac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colon Thalasso-Termal 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colón Thalasso Termal **** is located at on the Maresme Coast, 36 km up north from Barcelona, in a small town with an important thermal water tradition (Caldes d´Estrac). It is a new building which faces to the sea and it is the first one of this kind in Spain to use seawater and thermal water in its treatments. It is suitable for health and beauty. Modern style with sea-view first line, this four-star hotel has 84 rooms. All the bedrooms are provided with heating and air-conditioning, TV with satellite channel, mini-bar, free mineral water, free safe box, hair dryer, free WIFI internet connection and telephone with outside line. FREE ACCES TO THE THALASSO TERMAL CLUB: The room rate includes weekly programme of supervised activities and free access to Club Thalasso: heated indoor seawater pool (jets, Niagara jets, swan-neck jets, bubble beds and chairs), plunge pool, ice fountain, shower temple. Mediterranian sensations pathway, sauna, hamman, caldarium, spring water Jacuzzi, gymnasium, aerobics room and relaxation area. Towel, robe and swimming cap service. Note: Flip-flops must be worn to enter the Water Area. Access to Club Thalasso is included from check-in until 12 am on the day of departure. You can enjoy as well all installations provided by the hotel such as a reading room, television room, business centre, meeting rooms with sea-view, and at the top we have our solarium and Jacuzzi with splendid views. Private parking just for hotel's clients. An amazing thermal spa. More than 2000 square meters with the most modern equipment in 4 areas: Health and Esthetic Medicine, personalized treatments with specialized doctors, massages rooms, jet showers, hydrotherapy and cromotherapy baths, Vichy massage, wrappings with seaweeds, beauty rooms. Termal Area with thermal water baths, wrapping with mud. Indoor heated swimming-pool (with water jets, Niagara jets, swan jets, beds and chairs with bubbles), ice fountain, temple of showers, the way of Mediterranean sensations, sauna, hammam, caldarium, jacuzzi, gym, aerobic room, relax room with diethetic bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Colon Thalasso-Termal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Thalasso-Termal Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing