We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a night it was, ...”

The Rockin' Horse Cookhouse & Bar
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Maple Creek
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: Our made from scratch food arrives fresh, in ample portions, with the single goal of satisfying your hunger. We believe in delivering delicious, comforting food that speaks for itself. Our bar is stocked with an amazing selection of beers from around the world. Our service is genuine and welcoming. Above all, the one thing that sets us apart from the rest is this...our steaks are delicious! Every time! Why? We use fresh, never frozen Canadian AAA, aged 28 days and cut in house. From rare to well done, we will cook your steak just the way you like it! We love to entertain! Our customers are considered guests of the highest honour and we carry on the tradition of Saskatchewan hospitality every day. There is always something delicious and fun happening at The Rockin' Horse!
Reviewed October 12, 2013

A trip through the Canadian prairie provinces did bring us to Maple Creek (Sk).
For a meal we stopped at the "Rockin' Horse bar". And what a nice place it is! Lovely atmosphere, good food and great talk with the owners and staff. Because of it all, it became a nice and lovely night at the bar.
Thank you, Ralph, Laurie and your hole team.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Troubledmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 63 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were on an RV trip across southern Canada and were tired and hungry after a long day. We headed into Maple Creek in search of a meal with pretty low expectation. What a surprise! This place has a nice atmosphere, a great and varied menu, and great service. The owner stopped by and spent considerable time inquiring about our meal and offering great information about the area and sights to see, We may have found it by accident but we will make Rockin Horse a do not miss on any future visit ti the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Russ41048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

While this is usually our favourite place to eat when visiting Maple Creek, tonight we unfortunately made the mistake of commenting that the food was cold when we were asked why the entree was not finished. Great consternation ensued and the owner was summoned by the wait staff. The owner told us that we were mistaken as no other clients had made this comment. No recompense was asked for and certainly wasn't offered. We simply offered constructive criticism and were told we were liars. We hadn't even really complained. Not the way to get repeat customers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriejleigh, Owner at The Rockin' Horse Cookhouse & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Please accept our most humble apology! We had all been working flat out since the doors opened that day. I am sure that you noticed the entire place was packed when you came in. We had literally been running for 4 hours when you arrived. We are a very small team of people and do our best to go above and beyond when it comes to servicing our customers. As you mentioned, you have eaten here before and experienced our good food and service. I hope that you will come again and give us the opportunity to make amends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We went into Maple Creek looking for a place to eat and I spotted a Bakery/lunch spot but as we were about to enter I asked a guy if it was a good place to eat. He said he didn't know because he hadn't eaten there but the place next was 'awesome' We hadn't even noticed the sign but went into the 'Rocking Horse" and had a great lunch.
Looks pretty new inside - bar in the back corner was quiet but it was midday. We had the made on site hamburgers which were delicious as well as a salad with their 'secret recipe' Saskatoon vinegret.

The décor is nothing fancy but the restaurant and bathrooms were clean and well stocked (always important when travelling). The food was fresh and tasty. Well worth driving a few miles off the highway!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bojalago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I love the food and the atmosphere of this place! Almost everything is made fresh from scratch...you can't beat the sevice or the owner

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mu33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rockin' Horse Cookhouse & Bar also viewed

Maple Creek, Saskatchewan
Maple Creek, Saskatchewan
 
Maple Creek, Saskatchewan
Maple Creek, Saskatchewan
 
Maple Creek, Saskatchewan
Maple Creek, Saskatchewan
 

Been to The Rockin' Horse Cookhouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing