We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent wait for ferry”

Restaurant Het Jagershuis
Cuisines: Dutch, Seafood, European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
norwich
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent wait for ferry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Arrived early for the overnight ferry to Harwich and found this restaurant by taking a wrong turn! The proprietor was welcoming and made us feel at home. Food was marvellous and served very well. Whilst not cheap the quality of the food made it very worthwhile. Would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank garrysandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Arriving early for a North Sea ferry we found this gem by virtue of good reviews on TA. Don't be put off by the exterior as the food is truly fantastic. Such tender lamb fillet and beef as well as a superb creme brûlée. So highly recommended. A wonderful gem of a restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Almost there.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The bar area is incongruous compared to the main restaurant. Predominantly dark leather seating - business like; where as the restaurant is smart, upmarket pleasantly formal.
Food was excellent, however the interval between courses was unacceptably long - especially as there were only 2 tables occupied in the restaurant.
Waitress service was amateurish.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Netgezien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“sssssst iam enjoying my dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

One word for this hidden gem: awesome! One of my favourites..especially the fishdishes are mouthwatering! So go lean back and enjoy! Find something not okay just mentioned it and they will take care of this in a very satisfying way!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wowwie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, always a pleasure to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

I live in Switzerland but I go quite often to Hoek van Holland as my partner comes from there. I have been to this restaurant 4 times, and I was never disappointed. The food is delicious, and the wine is great. We always pick the surprise menu and the owner always makes a great selection of the wine for each course. It can very well compete to any Michelin star restaurant. One minus is perhaps the fact they do not have a webpage.
Cannot wait to go back this weekend. Yummy, or how to Dutch say: lekker!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ionucutza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Het Jagershuis also viewed

Hoek van Holland, South Holland Province
Hoek van Holland, South Holland Province
 
Hoek van Holland, South Holland Province
Hoek van Holland, South Holland Province
 
Hoek van Holland, South Holland Province
Hoek van Holland, South Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Het Jagershuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing