We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Eagle Tours”
Review of Sunwolf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunwolf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brackendale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great Place! Great folks that run the place, and the Eagle River tour was really fun, and cherish those memories. This is a great fun thing thing to do with your friends and family. Breakfast at Fergie's was really great too.
Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwolfBC, Front Office Manager at Sunwolf, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you Glen for your great review.

Yes, the Eagle Season was really successful this year and we are looking forward to the next one already!

Having said that, the summer rafting season is also very exciting, not talking about the other outdoor activities you can do in this beautiful area, when everything is green and full of life.

Take care and we hope to see you soon again.

Sunwolf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Sunwolf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 177 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had a great time as a couple, but it would make an ideal place for a whole bunch of friends to go for a weekend party. We arrived late - just as Fergie's was shutting, but the chef kindly stayed late to make me a delicious sandwich. We went back for breakfast, and I have to agree with others that the food is superb. Simple but imaginative breakfast menu, where much is organic and fair trade. There is a common room with out door hot tub, barbecue etc., and you are only about 45 minutes away from Whistler, and right beside the Cheekye river. As accommodation is so expensive in Whistler, I would consider staying at Sunwolf for a skiing holiday. Sunwolf is also a very pet friendly location. My only complaint is that Fergies closes at 3pm or 4pm - I wish they had a bar for the evening, but aside from that, for us it was exactly what we were looking for; a short (one hour) drive from North Van to escape the city for a weekend in a log shack by a river. Awesome!

Room Tip: the logger's cabin, although more expensive than the others, has a log burning stove and a cute...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRandHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwolfBC, Front Office Manager at Sunwolf, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for your positive review.

We agree! Sunwolf offers something for all, families, romantic couples as well as for those who love to get way in solitude, away from noise and distracting visuals.

Just the sound of flowing river, signing birds and rustling leaves is all you need to re connect with nature in its purest form!

We hope to see you soon!

Sunwolf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

If your looking for an affordable and quick getaway from Vancouver this is perfect! The most cozy cabins and location I have been in a long time. Pet-friendly was a great bonus, my Boston Terrier loved curling up to the fire place. The perfect spot for couples or a group of friends. The outdoor hot tub was breath taking. The perfect year round spot and getaway.we can't wait to go back! No complaints.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwolfBC, Front Office Manager at Sunwolf, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Starruin,

Thank you very much for your positive review.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Sunwolf as much as your Boston Terrier!

As you correctly stated, this place is great all year round and we hope to see you soon again.

Kind Regards,

Sunwolf Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Can't say enough good about this family-run outfit for an winter fantastic eagle-viewing float! My group of 33 was large but we were handled efficiently and like family. Jake, who is very animated was excellent in catiivating our attention in explaining not only how to board our four large rafts but how to stay in them during the float. And, the wildlife was plentiful with numerous close-up eagle-sightings, as well as hundreds of snowgeese and gulls handing around the Cheakamus River. It was a photographer's paradise and a perfect day-away excursion from Whistler where we were skiing for a week. I would not hestitate in using the company again for my group. Jake, and Jess (Jake's wife) are great folks!

Room Tip: Only used this company for the Eagle Float Excursion.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We’d heard chatter about a cafe up near Squamish called Fergie’s Cafe that people would literally drive up from Vancouver or down from Whistler for. We had to try it for ourselves, so one recent foggy morning we hopped into Nathan’s car and headed up.

Even better was that Fergie’s is part of Sunwolf resort in Brackendale, who offer “Eagle Floats” during December and January where guests hop into a raft and gently float down the river and see hundreds of majestic eagles up close as they gather to feast on spawning salmon.

A cluster of adorable cabins and lodges along the river, Sunwolf has been popular with fishermen for decades, but only under the recent ownership and management of Jess and Jake Freese has the operation become a destination of choice for those wanting to get away and enjoy the quiet of BC’s nature. I knew as soon as we drove up I was going to like it here.

Jess and Jake are originally from the UK, but relocated to Whistler a number of years ago and recently to Brackendale to pursue their dream of making a living while enjoying their many outdoor pursuits. I can totally relate to their love of nature and the beautiful BC backcountry, but I admit that even after living in Vancouver for over 30 years, I’ve always driving by that big eagle sign at the entrance to Brackendale and never really checked it out.

Considering Sunwolf is only about 45 minutes from downtown Vancouver, it’s amazing how remote it feels. The rustic setting reminds me of vacations far away from the distractions of work and life.

The cabins are quaint and comfortable, and the sound of the rushing river nearby provides the kind of white noise that results in the deepest, most refreshing sleep. And a dunk in the hot tub before bed doesn’t hurt either. ;-)

In the morning, we awoke to the smell of pork being smoked, later to be used in the chilli served at lunch by the fire. Can you imagine a better way to wake up? I can’t. Nathan and I ventured out early to the river, shrouded in fog, with eagles swooping low as they headed to their breakfast of salmon.

Chef Brad created amazing culinary wonders in his cozy kitchen, while chatting with guests in a friendly manner.

Speaking of breakfast, ours was amazing. Our food nerd friends weren’t kidding. We enjoyed generous portions of duck confit, beef short ribs and pulled pork Eggs Benedict, each served with fruit salad and duck fat potatoes. Perhaps it was the thought of the thousands of salmon dying in the river nearby, but ironically none of us ordered smoked salmon Eggs Benny!

Jess and baby Flynn joined us for breakfast, telling us the interesting story of how they ended up trading in an exciting life in London for one of back country skiing, white water rafting, and now owning Sunwolf.

After breakfast we donned rain slicks, rubber boots, and life jackets, and piled into the van. Shortly we were wading into the river and jumping into the raft, excited for the adventure ahead.

The river was teeming with salmon, although there seemed to be as many dead salmon and skeletons as there were living, spawning ones.

The fog turned to cold drizzle, but we were cozy and dry as Jake handed out hot chocolate, explaining that this was actually the best sort of day for observing these huge predator birds. He was right—there were eagles everywhere we looked.

It was fascinating to listen to Jake, a volunteers and supporter of Squamish Environment Society’s Eagle Watch program, as we learned interesting facts about bald eagles, from their rapid growth, needing to eat 10% of their body weight each day, how they feed near the river, but sleep in trees a few hundred metres back where it’s a few degrees warmer, and the direct connection between the eagles, salmon and the surrounding ecosystem.

It felt like a privilege to be so close to these huge birds as we silently drifted downriver.

After an 90 minutes on the water, we were warming up with hot drinks by the fire back at Sunwolf Lodge, followed by delicious homemade chilli (with Brad’s pulled pork we smelled in the morning!) and freshly baked bread and cookies.

The whole experience was magical, especially considering that we were back in the city in early afternoon. We’re already planning to go back for another round in the summer when they offer whitewater rafting—and to try more things on the menu at Fergie’s Cafe.

Of course no Foodists adventure would be quite complete without Nathan shoving a camera in my face, so we cobbled together a little video of our adventure. I hope it inspires you to check it out for yourself.

Watch the video: https://vimeo.com/foodists/sunwolf

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

A great place for a quite moment in nature. The cabin washroom could use a little sprucing up. The little restaurant made a cozy breakfast, and the staff and owners here are super sweet. The bed was not the greatest but the sound of the river just outside made for a very pleasant sleep. The main cabin had a hot tub, games, and nice fire. This is not a fancy place, but it is very convenient if you are eagle viewing or on your way to Whistler, or just exploring the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanBurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were a bit disappointed with our accommodations at Sunwolf. The photos on the website don't show the cabins as they actually are. For example, photos show shiny hardwood floors and brightly lighted areas. The floor in our cabin had been finished once upon a time, but had worn down to pretty much bare wood when we visited. The window opening/closing mechanism in our bathroom was broken, so we were not able to close the window during the below-freezing night. The so-called gas fireplace is really just a gas heater, not a fireplace; however it did provide more than adequate heat. We were looking for moderately priced accommodations close to Whistler that would accept our dog, and we did certainly get that, and the young woman running the office was very nice, so our most basic needs were filled. But we probably won't return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brackendale
3.6 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
5.1 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
7.0 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#4 of 8 in Squamish
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
21.7 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,924 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Mountain Retreat Hotel
#5 of 8 in Squamish
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwolf

Address: 70002 Squamish Valley Road | PO Box 244, Brackendale, Squamish, British Columbia V0N 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish > Brackendale
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brackendale
Price Range: $92 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunwolf 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunwolf is situated at the confluence of the Cheakamus and Cheekye Rivers in the beautiful Coast Mountains of British Columbia. With over 5 acres of grassy woodland and stunning mountain views, Sunwolf feels wild and remote yet is only an hour from the bustling metropolis of Vancouver. Our twelve cozy cabins, which line the river banks, are perfect for a romantic escape, a family gathering or anyone who fancies a luxurious retreat in the heart of nature. Nearly all of our cabins are equipped with cooking facilities but why not really take it easy and eat your breakfast and lunch at our fabulous on site cafe, Fergie's Cafe (rated on TripAdvisor as the best restaurant in Squamish). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sunwolf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwolf Brackendale, Squamish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing