We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunwolf
Nearby Hotels
$127
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Squamish(Squamish)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
First Tracks Lodge(Whistler)(Great Value!)
$161
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Legends(Whistler)(Great Value!)
$144
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
136
41
14
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
41
14
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverhot tubfire pitrafting tripday bedrelaxing getawaylong hikerunning watersmall fridgeclose to towni'd recommendfisherman's cottageriverside cabinsbritish columbiabbq areawould love to come backcoffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 192 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Myself and a group of friends have just returned from a weekend away, staying in the lovely cabins here at Sunwolf. We had an amazing time and I would absolutely love to return. The area was beautiful and it was nice to go somewhere so peaceful and relaxing.

The cabins were very nice – you have the option between a regular cabin or one with a kitchenette; I would recommend booking a kitchenette one as even though the regular ones do provide cups/tea/coffee, they ask that you wash your dishes before checking out and obviously that’s not the easiest thing to do if you don’t have a proper sink! My cabin had a kitchenette which meant there was a sink and some plates/bowls/cutlery, a coffee maker, a small stove, and a toaster-oven. All the cabins had a fridge too which was really useful. There was also a decently-sized en-suite bathroom, so no traipsing off through the darkness to some kind of communal shower area, hooray!

Possibly everyone’s favourite amenity was the hot tub, which 10 of us could just about squeeze into. It was in a nice location on the deck with a good view of some of the mountains, and right next to the BBQs too (of which there were 3, so you wouldn’t have to worry about trying to share with other guests).

And if you want to do more than just relax in the hot tub / communal cabin (which was pretty big and had a small kitchenette / fireplace / board games / books – perfect for curling up in should you end up with bad weather during your stay), the surrounding area was stunning; we had a lot of fun on a couple of walks through the woodland trails and along the river. We didn’t have time to do this, but I think the Chief is fairly close by too if you fancy a ‘proper’ hike.

Also, Fergie’s café is a must! It’s pretty small but there’s a lot of seating outside, and the ones on the deck have heaters overhead in case it’s a bit chilly. Decently priced and meals that are incredibly filling; we went there for brunch on both days we stayed there and loved it. Plus the staff are all super friendly (and so smiley!) and welcoming – likewise with the staff who own the cabins; they were very helpful when it came to answering questions about the cabins before we arrived.

The only thing to watch out for is the freight train that passes by very close to the cabins. If you're a deep sleeper it won't bother you, but it is very loud...!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sepavely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwolfBC, Owner at Sunwolf, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind and detailed review. I'm very glad you liked Sunwolf - you seem to really 'get' us - but more than that I am delighted that you found everyone so friendly and smiley. We would like all our guests to feel truly welcome, and clearly our team in the cafe have been doing a fantastic job of this! As you noticed, we're not too far from the railway tracks, but luckily we only get 2 freight trains passing through per day so hopefully you weren't too disturbed. As the days get warmer and the rivers swell with melt water, the sound of running water is pretty much the only thing you can hear around here!

We look forward to welcoming you back here in the future. Thanks again for your review.

Jake & Jess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here from Friday to Sunday with a group of friends and I have to say it was one of the best weekends ever. The people who run the site were so friendly and chilled out, and the on-site café provided us with 2 excellent brunches.

The site is a lovely, peaceful setting with access to a hot tub and a bbq area. We didn’t get to try out the camp-fire area but I’m sure that was great too. It was lovely to wake up in the morning with the sound of the river rushing by, and the view of the mountains when the clouds cleared was stunning.

Thanks for a fab time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kattymckrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is a minimalist's paradise.
It may not be for everyone, but if you value a quiet and straight-forward cabin as a base of operations for your outdoor pursuits, then this is the place for you and yours.
Adjacent to the confluence of the Cheekye and Squamish rivers, this is a great pet-friendly facility where you're not sharing a wall with a neighbor.
Fergies Cafe (reviewed elsewhere) is within walking distance!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndsci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwolfBC, Owner at Sunwolf, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. It's the kind of straightforward, candid assessment that's really helpful for others! Sunwolf, as you said, may not be for everyone. But as you can see from all the positive reviews we've received, for the right person it is a kind of paradise! If you value a spectacular mountain view over having a TV in your room; the sound of rushing water lulling you to sleep over a swimming pool; a grassy woodland path over a carpeted corridor; a unique little cafe in the woods serving locally sourced food over a fast food outlet - then this is the place for you!

Thank you again, we'd love to welcome you back to our "minimalist's paradise".

Jake & Jess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The eagle viewing tour was so nice. The food was very good and there were a lot of eagles. The guides are friendly and helpful. The tour is about 1.5 to 2 hrs. Its very relaxing to watch the eagles and just enjoy the nature.


Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MelaSas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I spent last weekend at Sunwolf and must say that it was a wonderful and relaxing experience. The staffs are great, helpful and caring. The raft to watch the eagles is the kind of thing that you wish will never end :o) It is peaceful and magical. Everything is made to make you feel cozy. The overnight stay was perfect. It is an ideal place to have your peace and quiet away from the city. Thank you for the amazing experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genne_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews