We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was perfect, exactly what I needed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunwolf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunwolf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brackendale
Certificate of Excellence
maitland, nova scotia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was perfect, exactly what I needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

The cabins are cozy & clean in a perfectly natural beautiful setting. It's excellent being in a less populated area away from the hustle and bustle, if you need Whistler it's only 40 mins away. The owners and staff are really friendly. It's a natural place as it should be appreciated.
Those homemade sausages in Fergie's Cafe are perfect. So handy to have it right there for breakfast in the morning.
I'll definitely be back for rafting this summer.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwolfOutdoorCentre, Owner at Sunwolf, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. I'm glad you enjoyed our homemade sausages - they have been a huge hit in the cafe! We look forward to seeing you again soon for some rafting action!

Jessamy Freese
Owner/Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    31
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
52
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cloverdale, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

These cabins are cozy, comfortable, clean and are a wonderful getaway. The staff is terrifically friendly, the hot tub was nice and clean, with spectacular views of the nearby mountains. The trails lead you through a gorgeous piece of land where you can follow the lovely riverside. Excellent rates, and a very relaxing stay. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeekendTravels28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We didn't stay in the cabins, but enjoyed Sunwolf's winter eagle-watching river raft trip. It was a bit of a wet, grey day so being greeted with a cup of coffee/hot chocolate after our drive up from Vancouver was a good start. The staff were lovely...very friendly, helpful and good with the rafts. Was really pleased to find they had all the wet-proofing gear we needed including wellies, trousers and jackets - and of course life jackets. The trip down the river to spot eagles went perfectly thanks to the guide, and the bowl of stew that greeted us on return was really very delicious. A fantastic half-day rafting adventure that I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara5london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2008

The location is quite far away from civilization but only a few minutes off the highway. This is great place to stay if you are tired of the party atmosphere in Whistler but want to take advantage of the great outdoor activities on the Sea to Sky corridor.
There are rafting trips daily from this location in the summer and eagle watching trips in the winter. We took part in a rafting trip and had a fantastic time! It was great to come back to Sunwolf, have a snack, talk about our experience in the raft and then walk a few steps back to our cabin.
The cabins are nice, clean and fit in with the overall experience. This is not a resort for those looking for a fancy hotel, it's a great outdoors experience if you want to go hiking, rafting, mtn biking or enjoy any of the many outdoor activities Squamish has to offer.

  • Liked — location, view
  • Disliked — no restaurants on site
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topaz123604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2007

We stayed at here for one night when passing through Squamish. Unfortunately, due to the time of year, no activities (rafting etc) were available and it was the wrong time to see the Eagles. This would be the key reason for staying here, as the accommodation or location was probably not good enough to warrant a special trip or diversion from the highway. That said, the grounds surrounding the cabin were pleasant enough, right on the banks of the Cheakamus river.

The cabins were clean but basic, the pine furniture was nice but the pine floor made the room feel a little bare. We payed $10 extra for a small kitchenette as there is no restaurant etc on site.
There was plenty of room for cars and two big dogs at reception.

The staff were quite friendly and were helpful, letting us use the phone at reception to get cinema times. We had an awful meal at the local Boston Pizza as the choice of local restaurants was very limited (and generally found Squamish to be unpleasant).

All in all, not bad, especially for the money. I imagine that if you were able to go on one of their trips or see the Eagles the cabin would add to the experience.

  • Liked — Views, value for money
  • Disliked — Not being able to do the activities
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chubbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwolfOutdoorCentre, Owner at Sunwolf, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review of your stay here 4 years ago. In that time, Squamish has undergone a transformation and as well as having a great range of restaurants to choose from, Squamish is now known as the "Outdoor Recreation Capital of Canada"! Whatever time of year you come to visit, you will be amazed by the wealth of activities on offer: Whitewater Rafting, Mountain Biking, Rock Climbing, Fishing, Hiking, Wind & Kite Surfing, Canoeing, Kayaking, Golfing, Flight-Seeing, Sailing, Scuba Diving, Horseback Riding, Bald Eagle Viewing, Backcountry Skiing, Snowshoeing and Snowmobiling, plus lots more!

After a hard day's playing, our quiet riverside setting is still a very pleasant place to return to. Sunwolf is now under new ownership and we think you'll be impressed with all the changes we have made, including newly renovated cabins and a fantastic on-site cafe. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, and will make sure you are not disappointed with the activities on offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brackendale
3.6 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
5.2 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
4.2 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#3 of 8 in Squamish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
21.8 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
23.5 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwolf

Property: Sunwolf
Address: 70002 Squamish Valley Road | PO Box 244, Brackendale, Squamish, British Columbia V0N 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish > Brackendale
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brackendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunwolf 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunwolf is situated at the confluence of the Cheakamus and Cheekye Rivers in the beautiful Coast Mountains of British Columbia. With over 5 acres of grassy woodland and stunning mountain views, Sunwolf feels wild and remote yet is only an hour from the bustling metropolis of Vancouver. Our twelve cozy cabins, which line the river banks, are perfect for a romantic escape, a family gathering or anyone who fancies a luxurious retreat in the heart of nature. Nearly all of our cabins are equipped with cooking facilities but why not really take it easy and eat your breakfast and lunch at our fabulous on site cafe, Fergie's Cafe (rated on TripAdvisor as the best restaurant in Squamish). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunwolf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwolf Brackendale, Squamish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing