We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and excellent food”
Review of Les Platanes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Les Platanes
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pont-de-Vaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed there on route to the ski resort. We booked in advance and asker for room 6.
King size bed, individual airco and a large bathroom with bath and separate shower.
We also had dinner and enjoyed it very much. Good quality and fine peresentation.
Breakfast was good with a wide choise of products.
You can park behind the hotel and the parking will be closed at night: very important as most of the luggage stays in the car and France is not having the best reputation for car burglerly.
Will go there again next year on our next skiing holidays.

Room Tip: You can see the rooms on their webside. We prefer room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaymondSchilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 77 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Did not stay, but ate at restaurant on journry home. Accomodating, friendly, but staff are obviously brow-beaten as they are a bit stilted - particularly pointed even the single cherry tomato garnish on the plate. Food was tasty, but quality of meat was poor - gristly lamb chops, not so tender fillet. However pudding was amazing!!

Worth a try - given the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrcerec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We arrived with no booking on a day when there were few rooms taken. Greeting was cold and indifferent, but was upgraded when she saw our car (Lotus)..Room was mediocre but air conditioning was a relief, we were warned that the bathroom was small, we didn't mind but could have done with the extractor fan working. The food was excellent and the waiting staff regimented and trying to be friendly, obviously under instruction, ...it was very disconcerting to have the waitress point out every single item on my plate just in case I was too cretinous to realise what a bean or aubergine wrap looked like. We were asked to order our dessert in advance to accommodate the chef's preparation, we opted for cheese platter, excellent again! For the money an excellent stop, trying very hard and achieving ---just need to chill a bit and be a bit more friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreacat780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here on route to Spain and very glad we did. Located not far from the motorway and next to a large waterway and river in a small village/town it was a perfect stopover for 1 night. While the bedrooms are on the small size the bathroom was larger than average both of which were nicely appointed, beds comfortable and with a room at the rear a goods night sleep is assured. The evening meal in the hotel should not be missed and one will not find better outside, the wine list is extensive and sensibly priced, good quality and service was evident and appreciated. It would be advisable to have a sprinkling of French as apart from one person nobody spoke English. It is surprising to see that not more reviews have been made, perhaps everyone wishes to keep it a secret! This is a place worth staying in

Room Tip: Room at the rear are away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calonge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

In an attractive town on a useful secondary route between Laguedoc/Provence and Paris/northern France, this hotel has comfortable, good value rooms & a restaurant which punches above its Michelin Bib Gourmand rating (more like one rosette, in our estimation) and a sensibly priced wine list. The maitre d speaks excellent English and took a great deal of trouble to arrange the return to the UK of my overnight bag, stupidly left at the desk. Free secure parking and Monday opening (a rarity in rural France) are added virtues

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank housebunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

The restaurant was excellent, surpassing all expectations. The food was very good quality and costing only a set 30 euro menu was fantastic with mis en bouche and cheese as well as three courses. Wine menu was good as well. The hotel rooms were a reasonable size and had recently been updated, with state of the art bathrooms and lighting.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pookie013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Christophe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pont-de-Vaux
4.0 mi away
Moulin de la Brevette
Moulin de la Brevette
#1 of 1 in Arbigny
130 reviews
39.7 mi away
Camping Aux Rives du Soleil
Camping Aux Rives du Soleil
#1 of 3 in Pont-de-Vaux
8 reviews
0.8 mi away
La ferme du Grand Faubourg
La ferme du Grand Faubourg
#3 of 3 in Pont-de-Vaux
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Platanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Platanes

Address: Les Quatre Vents, 01190 Pont-de-Vaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Pont-de-Vaux
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pont-de-Vaux
Price Range: $76 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Les Platanes 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Les Platanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing