We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & decent not plush & luxurious” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rincon Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rincon Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anasco
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice & decent not plush & luxurious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The 3 stars are relative to what's around the area. Puerto Rico isn't super luxurious to begin with, and Rincon is definitely more low key. That said, the beach was great (especially compared to the large sandboxes that pass as beaches in San Juan) and the pool and hot tub areas are large, clean, and nice. We took an upgraded room with a patio. Probably the equivalent of a nice Holiday Inn (older fixtures, but nice bed/bedding) so if you're looking for luxe, you'll need to spend more. If you have a relaxed state of mind and aren't too picky, the resort's natural surroundings make up for the dated building.

Room Tip: The ground floor units walk out on to the hot tub/pool/game areas (ping pong, mini golf, etc.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    259
    150
    74
    34
See reviews for
208
286
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our first visit to the west coast staying overnight, and an uncommon couples get-away. The Rincon Beach Hotel is perfect for my husband & I, but one can easily come w/ families. We arrived on the shirttails of Hurricane Sandy, having just flown over it in Florida, so it was raining, the ocean waters were rougher & more littered than usual for the west coast, but all returned to picturesque thereafter. We met the hotel manager within our first 5 minutes checking in, and saw him working throughout our stay, which I appreciated his availability. Our oceanview room wasn't available as guaranteed, so we were upgraded to the only room left during a wedding, a 2nd floor suite w/ ocean views. The large balcony offered excellent views and space and privacy. I noticed the upgrades in the room, mostly cosmetic, but wonderful bed, linens, dark wood furniture, pretty light fixtures, huge bathroom w/ jacuzzi tub, etc. The building is an older stucco concrete, so the wear and construction flaws are easy to spot (i.e. cracks in plaster, water stains, etc.) But any question/issue we had, the front desk person had it immediately taken care of by staff. I'm not aware of the full price of this suite, so don't know if it's reasonable. But we were happy to have it, although we spent most of our time outside or on the balcony. We appreciate the charm and beauty of this boutique-y hotel. There are many sitting/lounging areas available to read or have drinks, and never a croweded feeling, although a wedding was taking place when we arrived, and we couldn't tell. Very relaxing lobby and grounds. We hiked the beachfront south from the hotel, which you can continue on for over an hour, seeing a couple of homes, a public beach, and then it is Robinson Crusoe; very easy just to enjoy water front and never see other people. Having a car is great to travel north to visit lighthouse, famous surfing area of Rincon beach, and wide range of restaurant types within 20 min. All pretty foliage & views while driving in the area. The restaurant at hotel had outstanding food, and the staff was inconsistent w/ service, but mostly due to lack of English not service ability. The only fault we could find w/ our stay was lack of morning coffee. There are no coffee makers in the rooms, so one had to buy cups from restaurant when it opened @ 6:30am. Just having a self-serve pot of coffee sitting in lobby by 5am would have helped us a great deal. We are not used to dressing to go down to buy coffee when we want it, to bring back up to room. And having to pay $4 for 2 cups each morning was costly. Otherwise, we will return, probably with family, as they have large rooms for big groups as well. But we totally enjoyed the quaintness of this PR run charmer. Large top floor viewing balconies great for sunsets & stargazing. Never anyone on them.

Room Tip: Our 2nd floor end suite was excellent for honeymooners or special couple get away. Or if you like ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachcomber1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

When you Google for the Rincón Beach Resort, you will get three distinct hits. This review is about the one with the web site: http://www.rinconbeach.com/resort/

Rincón Beach Resort is a tropical dream. The architects of this resort did a perfect job making nature part of the resort's design.

Visitors will love the openness and airiness, even before they actually enter the lobby. This airy openness is consistent throughout; the large court and the buildings containing the rooms, the large swimming pool and the beach.

There are no words to do it justice. Nature, palm trees, flowers, and plants are an integral part of the resort. As stated, this is not unusual in tropical architecture, only in this case the architects were particularly successful. As one wanders through the grounds, the calls of Coquí, the unique Puerto Rican frogs are omnipresent.

Past the swimming pool is the beach. The first part is under shade trees with more than plenty beach chairs, followed by the open, sunny beach washed by gentle waves. Bathers will find the depth to increase very gradually. There are no currents. Usually, the water is clear.

Stepping into the water and looking back toward the beach one beholds a Robinson Crusoe like view of coconut tree lined shore stretching in both directions and in the background toward the south are blueish mountains.

Sunsets are almost always memorable.

Within a few miles there are countless eating places for all tastes and wallets. Surfers know that some of the best surfing is right at the northwest corner of the island. Located a few minutes' drive from the resort, even before one reaches the corner, there is the Rincón Lighthouse Park on top of the cliff. From there one can see Desecheo Island, watch the surfers and stunning sunsets. Divers find plenty of places to their liking. Desecheo island, too offers great diving.

For those who want to just rest, they find the resort's built-in restaurant, a large and bar in the lobby, and a snack bar at one end of the pool.

Personnel is very helpful and friendly and cleanliness is good. They went out of their way helping us when needed.

The rooms are ample and adequately furnished. The balconies allow the visitor to marvel at the views that this tropical paradise offers.

Room Tip: I'd always ask for rooms as high up as available for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank guenthpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

No room service!!! Room was not done at check in. Rooms need to be updated. No bell service when you arrive. Telephones didnt work. Expensive. The projectors
from the ball room didnt work!! The maid service was good. Beautiful pool and beach. Beautiful ball room. Good food.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gvgapuertorico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have just returned from the Rincon Beach Resort and I have to say that this hotel was a huge disappointment and not what I expected for the high season price (overpriced) and from the lovely portrayal on the hotel's website. The rooms are spacious enough but are in need of maintenance, updating and serious extermination. I was first greeted by red ants in my bed and later encountered several cockroaches. A worker was sent to my room with a can of Raid and instructions to change the bed linens, which by the way are worn out and cheaply made. I was later moved to another room in the other building (after a lot of discussion and appeal). The new room seemed bug-free but the air conditioner unit was in disrepair and there was a moldy smell in the room. Both rooms were not as clean as we would have expected, were a bit dismal, and completely no-frills which is fine if that is what you are looking for and paying for. The roaches are unacceptable in any case. On the positive side, the pool is clean and pretty enough. The restaurant decor is very nice (although the food and coffee is mediocre at best), and the beach area was just fine. Some of the staff members (most) are nice but one or two could use some customer service training. Nobody likes to spend over 200 dollars per night (close to 300 when they tack on the 14% "resort" charge) to encounter roaches, ants, and substandard conditions. The hotel needs maintenance, landscaping, upgraded linens and a good exterminator!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LunaB222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lido Beach, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is not your 5 star resort hotel, nor elegant boutique relais and chateau type of hotel. However, it's clean, the staff is great, and it's on the really only good swimming beach in Rincon area. The ocean front rooms are fine and they are truly ocean front. The 1 and 2 or more bedroom suites are fabulous for families, but mostly are not ocean front if that matters to you. The property is small,so the walk to the beach or pool is not an issue. The manager, William, is incredibly helpful and attentive. There is a restaurant on premises which is quite good. There is also a small area for lunch which is good as well. But you really must have a car to enjoy the ambiance of the Rincon neighborhood. There is always some place new to try or something fun to do.
The hotel has a great beach, where the lounges are plentiful, the water is gorgeous. The entire atmosphere is low key, friendly, and fun. The weather for Christmas week was nothing short of fabulous. Some may want more in the way of luxury and amenities, but it doesn't belong here. There are clean, air conditioned rooms, restaurants, a wonderful beach, good pool area, large clean hot tub, super staff, and A+ weather.
There are 2 bedded(queen) rooms and junior suites. The junior suites are much larger but have only one bed. The prices are quite reasonable and the room rate includes breakfast. You really cannot expect much more. And Rincon generally has excellent weather in early winter, while the San Juan area and the east coast of Puerto Rico can expect more rain at this time. This is a place I have been to before many times and will go back to again.

Room Tip: If you are traveling alone or as a couple, choose the beach front rooms. However, families are bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandg27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in December with my husband for my birthday. They upgraded us to a suite with a sea view. It was quiet, clean, comfortable and spacious. The hotel and pool were beautiful. The beach was perfect for walking and picking up sea glass. Only giving four stars because the food and coffee wasn't very good and was expensive. Nothing else within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JERMiddletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anasco
3.6 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
3.5 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
6.4 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
104.0 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rincon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rincon Beach Resort

Property: Rincon Beach Resort
Address: Road 115 km 5.8, Anasco 00610, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Anasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rincon Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Bay of Añasco in Puerto Rico's West Coast, Rincon Beach Resort is the perfect escapade for relaxing days under the sun or enjoying an unforgettable dining experience. The West Coast of Puerto Rico, known as Porta del Sol, is home to some of the world's best beaches and surfing areas. Rincon Beach Resort features 112 newly furnished guestrooms with 24 spacious one or two-bedroom condo villas perfect for families, an infinity freeform swimming pool with Jacuzzi overlooking the Caribbean Sea, a swim up bar, lobby bar, Brasas Restaurant and Pelican Beachfront Grill. Rincon Beach Resort offers its guests an array of activities to ensure a memorable experience throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Rincon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rincon Beach Hotel Anasco
Hotel Rincon Beach
Rincon Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Anasco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing