We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Mahi Mahi Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Anasco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mahi Mahi Restaurant
Anasco, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I was hesitant to even go at all after reading some reviews but some friends wanted to meet up here so I decided to give it a try. Service was ridiculously slow, we ordered an appetizer sampler and it took almost forty minutes.. the place wasn't even packed! While we were waiting we ordered the famous mojitos, those were good and refreshing but also took a long time. Everything took so long and trying to get the waiters attention was so hard we simply decided to finish the appetizers and leave. I would not recommend this place at all there are far much better restaurants in the area than this one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Enriquez3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    60
    24
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

we ate here as a group and they were very accomodating. also the food was not bad but you do have to have aquired tastes for the food. prices were about $9-15 a plate.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sylvia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Needs better service”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Food is good, not excellent.(the mahi plantains are excellent). The service is slow and bad. Plates did not arrived at the same time. there was one plate that arrived after every body had finish. If you needed something you would almost have to get up to find the waitress.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guayaba33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Bacardi Mojito Winners, Family Owned and Cook the BEST Mahi-Mahi in the entire Caribbean! LOVE IT!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

First, don't get yourself wrong because of the restaurant's and parking size, which is quite smaller compared to the 'average' restaurants. We live pretty near the restaurant and as locals, we can tell we know about neighbors who walk to the restaurant to be served the BEST Mojitos of the World, won by one of the restaurant's owner' son. This is a family owned restaurant and they will also treat you with the best of attentions and like if you were already part of their family. They are very nice and client service oriented. Although this is a smaller restaurant than others, I have to give them credit for some recent space and inside area renovations. They included some flat tvs and mojito's ambience to what has become throughout the years their biggest talent and publicly recognized talent: CREATING THE BEST MOJITOS EVER! They've been throughout the years winning the well recognized and respected 'Best Bacardi Mojito' Awards and the Public's Choice award ones, which - to be honest and fair - they REALLY disserve. Their mojitos are SPECTACULAR! And if you can't or don't want to consume alcohol they'll be more than glad to prepare any of their unique Mojitos for you like that. This people just make it better and better every time we go there. Our favorite plates are the Mahi-Mahi in a unique shrimp and passion fruit sauce with the 'arroz mamposteao' as side platter (a mix of a creole full-of-flavor home style rice with beans, small pieces of sweet-salty-soft plantains, small pieces of ham, fresh herbs/spices and condiments... mix this attributes to the plate, have a Mojito and it'll be THE BEST THING EVER. TRY IT! You'll have no regrets. I can tell they have the BEST Mahi-Mahi in the entire Caribbean. It's full / packed most of the time so you'll may want to consider making reservations. They cook fresh and at the moment of your request/visit, so don't expect the plates to be right out of the kitchen in 3 minutes. They'll make your order right away at the time you order it so, if you're very hungry, I would suggest you to ask for the mixed entries plate ('picadera'). I really liked the way the bar looks now, which also has a great name related to their experience and multiple recognitions as the number one / best mojito's creators: 'Mojito Lab'. Try them. You'll have no regrets at all. If you're more of a 'meat eater' you'd like to try the filled stake with white rice and beans, or better than that, with the 'arroz mamposteao', in a 'Tamarindo' sauce. If you like alcoholic beverages they will have a plenty variety to offer and will be served to you by the best bartenders of the Island. Again, don't let the appearance of the restaurant fool you. Their food is GREAT, the mojitos THE BEST and their service feels like home. We've seen them many times bringing their own property's fresh herbs for the mojitos and other veggies and spices. They've been in the coast their entire lifes and are used to bring the most fresh of sea food, meats, spices and herbs. You'll be in great hands as we've been for the past three years. We're loyal fans and customers. Try them.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelqueenpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice place, friendly staff, good parking”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This place was recommended to us as being the best place around Rincon to eat so we had to try it. I got a local fish which was pretty good we tried the plantain chips, pretty good. Moderate prices, pleasant atmosphere. It was not as good as they said but was good place to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ksprenger111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahi Mahi Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Anasco, Puerto Rico
Anasco, Puerto Rico
 
Anasco, Puerto Rico
Anasco, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Mahi Mahi Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing