We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent homestyle puerto rican food”
Review of El Fogon De La Curva - CLOSED

El Fogon De La Curva
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: We are a family place with traditional foods & with a breathtaking hilltop ocean view!
amity harbor,ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent homestyle puerto rican food”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

this is a very nice, basic and simple restaurant that serves fresh homestyle puerto rican food. the fish is fresh which was probably caught the same day and the pig is roasted daily. it is inexpensive and the owners are always there to help their customers. i visit rincon several times a year and always go here. the views of the ocean are awesome.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfogon, Owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Thank you! We are very proud of our home style family place & try our best to make everyone welcomed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    24
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We decided to have lunch here after reading that this could be a whale sighting location. Great 180 degree view of the water since the restaurant is perched on a hillside just south of the Rincon strip. The lunch-special pork sandwich was very good. Didnt realize until after we left that we were probably overcharged - 2 small bottles of beer were $9. Also had the heavy antiseptic smell that a previous poster commented on, but we took that as a positive for the cleanliness of the place.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cnyrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfogon, Owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Glad you enjoyed our Great view & thanks for the review !
(our beers are 12oz for 3.00 each...which is very reasonable compare to many other restaurants & bars in the area),.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
`ny
1 review
“This was the best restaurant of my trip. Awseome service, hospitality and the best view on the island.”
Reviewed December 6, 2010

This was the nicest place to eat. Great local food. The service was excellent and the owner was one of the loviest locals I was blessed to meet. Thanks for the local hopsitality. xo

Helpful?
Thank christinehawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfogon, Owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this review, December 7, 2010
Muchas Gracias (Thank you so much)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome fresh fish and spectacular view”
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We have been to PR 3 times this year. Discovered El Fogon on our 1st trip and have eaten there several times since then. We eat fresh fish everytime we go. Took our 4 grandchildren for a summer trip from the States. They loved the pizza, lobster and ice cream. The view is beautiful. We love this place. The staff and owners take good care of their patrons. We highly recommend this restaurant.
.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lpurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfogon, Owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
Thank you, & hope to see you soon so you can visit our Sushi & Martini Den!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY
1 review
“Stayed in Puerto Rico 5 weeks and this was hands down the BEST place!”
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Their fish is the best I have ever had and I am from NYC so that is saying a lot! The food is authentic and wonderful and the atmosphere is so laid back and friendly. With all the places we went this was the best, we went back every week, can't beat their $7.99 fresh fish dinner, couldn't even finish the HUGE portions! If you are visiting, you MUST go there, it doesn't look like much from outside, but it will be the best meal you have in all of Puerto Rico!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LilJenks9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon De La Curva also viewed

 
Anasco, Puerto Rico
Anasco, Puerto Rico
 
Anasco, Puerto Rico
Anasco, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing