We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must-dine for Rincon”
Review of El Fogon De La Curva - CLOSED

El Fogon De La Curva
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: We are a family place with traditional foods & with a breathtaking hilltop ocean view!
Reviewed March 21, 2010

This place is awesome. The food at the restaurant and fish market is the best quality per price in all of Rincon. A full plate is $5.50 at lunch and $8 at dinner. The roast pork, cut from a pig slow-roasted over charcoal all morning, is moist and delicious. Among the many local side dishes, the fried breadfruit (texture like a potato, but slightly sweet, with a tasty skin) is highly recommended. There is a spectacular hill-top view of the cove below. Drinks are cheap. Service is very welcoming and relaxed.

Even more strongly recommended is the associated fish market next door. Fred's catch varies, but he's had red snapper, mackerel, yellowtail, swordfish, tuna, parrot fish, and lobster when I've come in. Everything he offered was caught that morning. The only thing better than the quality, which has been uniformly superb, is the price, which is a steal compared to prices at home in Boston. A filleted yellowtail, from which I made delicious sashimi for 2, $6. 7 large fillets of mackerel, $35. You can't beat it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew2357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfogon, owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 100 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2010

in our five days in rincon, we really wanted to avoid the tourist-y, fancy-menu restaurants and go local. el fogon was our favorite. only 3 main items on the menu.. we had the roasted pork and chicken, which both were excellent. they also have catch of the day. very cold beer, very friendly waitress, very inexpensive...highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adamks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfogon, owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2010

Thank you for your great review & don't forget to visit us again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We have been to Rincon many times and have eaten at many of the local restaurants. In short, this food is the BEST. As a matter of fact, we chose to eat at El Fogon every day during our vacation-- the pork is outrageously delicious and tender, the chicken is extraordinary and the sides are perfect, especially the tostones (fried plantain) and the fried breadfruit.
The staff and owners could not have been more friendly and helpful.
On top of this, the restaurant windows which look out on the ocean.
If you are in the area, be sure to eat at this restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank orienters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

OMG, this place simply has the best Lechon around. So moist and flavorful, and plentiful. The arroz con gandules was great too, the perfect level of sabor (flavor). Cheap flowing Medallas (local beer) and a great view, WONDERFUL and friendly owners. Nancy you are the best, so knowledgeable and helpful and kind. Freddie the fish monger knows his stuff, we purchased snapper and lobster that he just caught and grilled it at our villa, INCREDIBLE fresh fish, and I had a lesson on freshness from Freddie that I use when purchasing fish here in NYC. The Mofongo with Lechon is a rich and hearty and soulful comfort stew, tostones are great...I can't say enough about this place, we ate there 3 times in one week! We will return again and again, if you don't go to this place on the tip of Rincon on the way to Mayaguez (115) you are truly missing out...Nancy much love to you and we will see you soon...From the Bronx crew who stayed at Anna's place at Tres Palmas right before xmas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gremlin608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfogon, owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2010

Thank you so much and hope to see you guys real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

The view from the dining room is amazing and a great place to watch the sunset. We had the lechon (roasted pig) and found it to be the best we had tasted on the island. The friendly staff was bilingual and helped us determine which of the many side dishes we wanted to try. I had the amarillos (fried ripe plaintains) and pana (fried breadfruit). There is a full bar and a fish market attached to the restaurant. The owner, Fred, showed us some lobster he had just caught. We had a wonderful experience made even better by the low prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfogon, owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2010

We are so glad that you enjoyed our place, thank you for letting everyone else know that you had a wonderful local experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon De La Curva also viewed

 
Anasco, Puerto Rico
Anasco, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing