We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food + Great View + Friendly Service = Wonderful Experience”
Review of El Fogon De La Curva - CLOSED

El Fogon De La Curva
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: We are a family place with traditional foods & with a breathtaking hilltop ocean view!
Reviewed February 7, 2010

The view from the dining room is amazing and a great place to watch the sunset. We had the lechon (roasted pig) and found it to be the best we had tasted on the island. The friendly staff was bilingual and helped us determine which of the many side dishes we wanted to try. I had the amarillos (fried ripe plaintains) and pana (fried breadfruit). There is a full bar and a fish market attached to the restaurant. The owner, Fred, showed us some lobster he had just caught. We had a wonderful experience made even better by the low prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfogon, owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2010

We are so glad that you enjoyed our place, thank you for letting everyone else know that you had a wonderful local experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for El Fogon De La Curva
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 100 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2010

It 's one of those places you keep driving past. There are always cars out front, but it looks a little scary to go in. Well, don't be shy! It's really good, really local, puerto rican cooking.
Barbequed ribs, broiled chicken, fresh fish, The side dishes are the most interesting. Cooked ripe plaintain, fried breadfruit, rice with pigeon peas, 'name',which is like a potato. Be a little adventurous and try some of this stuff!
The beer is ICE COLD and there is a rooftop bar for awesome sunsets.
$6 for lunch entrees, $8 for dinner entrees.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Thank annebam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

THE place in Rincon area. The roast pig was spectacular, the low-key unpretentious restaurant and wonderful hosts, Tommy and Nancy made this our daily dinner place while on vacation. With very few menu items - pig, fresh grilled fresh-caught fish & grilled chicken - the choice is simple. What more could you want? And the prices are truly the best & lowest of all the joints in the area. Can't say enough good things.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cabin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfogon, owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2010

Thank you for your wonderful comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

If your looking for the best restaurant in Puerto Rico then you need to visit EL FOGON DE LA CURVA located at CARR 115 K.M. 7.1 Anasco Puerto Rico [--]. We were on our vacation and we found this place. The Catfish is amazing and the side dishes are excellent. The choices on the menu are outstanding. We are from San Antonio Texas and visited Puerto Rico. We had dinner at this restaurant and it was incedible. Warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like no where eles. nancy and her staff are great we wish you the best and we can't wait to visit in June of 2010.
Rose & Julio, San Antonio Texas

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RoseJulioBre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfogon, owner at El Fogon De La Curva, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2009

Thank you for such a wonderful review & hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Loved this spot on the 115 between Anasco and Rincon. Proprietors Fred and Tony made this gringo feel right at home describing all of the side dishes. But the main courses are self-explanatory. A whole pig roasted everyday (thurs. thru mon.). Also whole chickens and fresh fish from the pescaderia speared on the reef that morning by Fred himself. Being right up the hill from our suite at the Lemontree, we would swing in there for a to-go order of pork and chicken, or fresh fillets to grill on the lanai. Perfect for us, but I would recommend dining in as the view from the restaurant is amazing and the has the most reasonable drink prices I found around Rincon. Also the perfect bar to stop in for a cold beer and a perfectly grilled shark pinchon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rinconnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon De La Curva also viewed

 
Anasco, Puerto Rico
Anasco, Puerto Rico
 
Anasco, Puerto Rico
Anasco, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing