We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude.. Shame... As it has a lot of potential”
Review of The Langford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Langford Inn
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here for our wedding night. Staff were rude, didnt call back every time we tried to contact them via email and calls and there was not hot water or smiles. Disnt stay for lunch as they had already taken a lot of money from us which i preferred to give to someone with manners.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jules1002006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 143 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We went here for dinner on a local recommendation (we were staying at a nearby farm B&B). It was our wedding anniversary and we wanted somewhere good to dine - we were warned that the portions were large. Well that bit was true, they were huge. Size did not make up for quality though. My wife had the roast beef - a pretty safe choice you'd think. I have never witnessed roast potatoes quite so awful as the ones served up here. They must have been reheated. They were cooked and looked OK nice an brown, but the outside of the potato was an extraordinary consistency not dissimilar from rubber - how did they do that? The beef was overcooked and tired and drowned in a dull gravy - hey maybe this is British cooking at its most iconic, i remember things being this bad at school dinners in the 50s. For my part i had French Onion soup, tasteless apart from the excess of sweetness delivered through the onion caramelization process, and followed it with the worst tuna steak i have been served with anywere in the world. On the plus side, the whitebait were fine. I would never eat here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The pub it self is ok with good beers and half decent food but the rooms; well the rooms need sorting out. Bed ok with clean sheets but the whole room seemed to be covered in a layer of dust and dirt, worst of all I had a dirty toilet!

The whole place is in a good location with really nice looking and designed rooms but the basic hygiene lets it down, I won't stay again which is a shame as I visit the area quite a lot on business.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Captain-S_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langfordinn, Owner at The Langford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

We would like to apologise to the gentleman that one of our rooms was not up to our usual standard. Unfortunately this was not brought to our attention,during his stay. It is our policy to rectify any shortfalls during the stay. Unfortunately we were not given the opportunity to rectify this issue and due to the lack of information we cannot investigate this customers comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I booked 2 rooms in this inn for 2 nights prior to flying out of Bristol airport. I would have booked the Premier Inn nearby which we stayed at last time but it was fully booked.
As a pub the Langford is nice and the food (we only had dinner there once) was good. But as a hotel/B&B it was poor. The rooms were not cleaned properly. In both rooms there was a lot of accumulated dust on the headboards of the beds and the TVs. In one room there were bits of food and even a 20p piece on the floor so it had obviously not been cleaned before we arrived. The ensuite bathroom was also in a poor state - some black mould spots, missing grouting on the tiles around the bath and a sink plug that wouldn't open or close properly.
The manager did apologise when I complained and one of the bar staff quickly cleaned the worst room. The bar staff that we spoke to were all friendly, but I missed not having a proper reception desk. We were planning to have breakfast there but the breakfast times were too late (from 7am on weekdays and 8am on Sunday I think) so we had to buy breakfast elsewhere.

In general I would class this as a pub with rooms. Fine if you are going there to drink/eat but NOT recommended for people with kids (we had to make up a bed on the floor using the bed covers for our 3-year old as there are no spare mattresses), people with busy schedules, or people used to staying in clean hotels.

Room Tip: One of our rooms (the Yatton) had a bath, the other (the Burrington?) only had a shower. Yet the pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fecster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langfordinn, Owner at The Langford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Whilst there was aproblem with food and money on the floor which was cleaned immediately. The gentleman refused my offer of a bed or cot for the infant with him

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

A fried and I attended a wedding in Bristol and decided to stay at the Langford. Upon arrival all seemed lovely and the staff greated us well. We was given our rooms and payed £80 for the evenings stay each. We was surprised to learn breakfast was an extra £7! So not really a B&B is it ?? We quickly unpacked in the room and I noticed a loud buzzing sound which I was told by staff it was the kitchen fans that would be switched off by 9.30 which was fine!
This woke my friend up in a separate room around 6.30 am( when breakfast is avallible!) but management denied it was switched on. Fair enough
When I arived back that evening the bathroom had been painted which over the corse of the night gave me a terrible headache even with the window open! It also was very noisy with guests above me kept awake till 3.30 am and had to drive 2 hours home next day.

There was no soap in dispenser and my friends room shower door was broken
Which flooded the room a bit!

In the morning we both politely asked for a discount as we were dissatisfied with the room. management said "yesterday when you asked about the fan we should have told you to leave!". We was taken aback with the hostility of the owners. But after a while they refunded our money. Shame lovely location lovely looking rooms but if fancy trying sleeping in lovely but fimsy built room then this is
for you. Stay at the Hilton for £65 they have a spa

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louismac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Used this place for an evening meal for the family, as seemed reasonably priced compared to other venues in area. Staying overnight elsewhere, for Bristol Airport.

Sat down to have a constant earful of Bon Jovi, they were playing some sort of local radio station which does not fit the establishment. As they seem to advertise “has been rated AA four stars for food and accommodation”, (notice has), we were getting anxious to what was going to be served, and was half thinking of going elsewhere.
Did not have to worry as the food was very good, better than expected, it all seemed very fresh. Service not that friendly.
So here’s my message to the landlord, get rid of the pop music, spruce up the service, make it feel more like a four star AA establishment. You are serving very good food, but not doing yourself justice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aus4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The staff are very friendly and helpful,the room was clean and tidy and we were not disappointed.We went in to the pub and had a lovely birthday dinner,the food is good home cooked food and the pub it's self is a cute country like pub,i am a vegetarian and was not disappointed in the menu they had lots of veggie food options. In the pub it's self it also had a little room with a log fire which is great for those long winter nights.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tink0376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Langford
2.4 mi away
Penscot Inn
Penscot Inn
#1 of 1 in Shipham
94 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ring O' Bells
Ring O' Bells
#1 of 1 in Compton Martin
110 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Litton
The Litton
#1 of 1 in Litton
119 reviews
1.1 mi away
Milton's Country Lodge
Milton's Country Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lower Langford
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langford Inn

Address: Lower Langford, Lower Langford BS40 5BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Lower Langford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lower Langford
Price Range: $102 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Langford Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Inn which has the benefit of accommodation, a lovely refurbished bar area, a lounge to sit and relax and 2 lovely restaurants where meals are served 12 midday to 9-30pm on Friday & Saturday, 9pm the rest of the week. We also serve breakfasts from 8am - 10am every day The Inn is in a rural village so all the comfort you need from a quiet location, superb walks nearby and cycling ever popular We have a range of local and guest beers on offer as well a local ciders, and a healthy range of lagers, we also stock a quality wine porfolio as well as specialist whiskies and a gin menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Langford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langford Hotel Lower Langford
The Langford Inn Lower Langford, Somerset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing