We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Angel Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland(Stoke by Nayland)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa(Leavenheath)(Great Value!)
$130
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marquis(Layham)
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Colchester(Dedham)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel(Colchester)(Great Value!)
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Globe Hotel(Colchester)
$67
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
279
80
22
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
279
80
22
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday lunchthe pubconstable countryfish chipspuddingeggs benedictlog fireroast beefliverexcellent foodscallopsbooked a tablemain coursean evening mealwine listcheese boardset menu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 396 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just enjoyed another short break at the Angel. This time a party of six of us and we had a fantastic time. Staff as always amazing, food fantastic and the whole place tastefully decorated for the Christmas festivities. We love this place, thank you for making our weekends away from home so special. Merry Christmas to you all, see in in 4 weeks:) The Collier Family.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank afallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights with breakfast and dinner. Room excellent and staff very friendly and most helpful. Food vety well prepared and presented. Excellent menu. The management have got this place spot on - will certainly be voming back !!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dr_geoffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this beautiful old inn in Autumn 2013. The staff were excellent throughout, welcoming, courteous, helpful; nothing was too much trouble. Our superior double room was spacious, clean,comfortable and tastefully furnished. Breakfast and dinner menus offered a good range of meals for all tastes and all of the food that we chose was superb. The Angel inn is a combination of local pub and small hotel in a quintessential English village with village street, church, post office, thatched and timber framed period houses. A perfect base from which to explore the lovely countryside, towns and coastline of Suffolk.A great place to stay to relax and escape temporarily from the hustle and bustle of the 21st century into an altogether more peaceful and tranquil way of life that had seemingly been lost forever.

Room Tip: We had a superior room at the front of the hotel which overlooked the main village street. Noise was minimal; in the mornings agricultural vehicles drove past but this all added to the hotel's charm. The rear room(s) may be quieter still if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We took a works engagement to The Angel Inn Saturday and what a joyous afternoon was to be had. We located ourselves in the public saloon bar and had our every need catered to. I must congratulate the staff on their attention to detail in their service toward us throughout the afternoon. They made the tavern feel like a local. I wouldn't hesitate to return again for a Saturday afternoon. Kind regards, Tuckers Pigeon Hoof

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TuckersPigeonHoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Fabulous accommodation, designed by someone with a great eye for detail. The only little niggles were that the room was fairly dark, there was no chest of drawers just hanging space and small drawers to fit one or two bits of underwear. Also the shower over the bath wasn't great, would have preferred a walk in power shower. Having said that, I would stay there again.
Breakfast was hearty, and the dinner was of very good quality. I had calves liver and bacon and it was divine. The food was a bit pricey and the drinks were very expensive. My mother is infirm and had problems with the steep stairs, and having to climb into a bath to have a shower, so not so good for her.
The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank watershedSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews