We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Dining”
Review of The Angel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We dined here on a Friday night which is the grill night where you can choose from an amazing selection of wonderful steaks, ribs, chicken, pork or lamb chops as well as fish and vegetarian specials. We were lucky to get a table in the bar as we had not booked but advise it for future visits as the food was absolutely delicious. The menu allows you to select your main course and then choose which potatoes, sauce and side you want meaning to can create your own perfect meal. The service and ambience was top notch and we all agreed this was one of the best meals we had had for a long time. It is slightly more expensive than your average pub meal but there is nothing average about it and well worth every penny. We all highly recommend you visit and don't pass up the opportunity of triple cooked chips - mmmmm they were wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 382 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Group of 10 of us went out to eat at the Angel inn as it had been recommended by a friend and we were in the area.
It did not disappoint.
Great atmosphere...we were sat by the well and next to the fire ( super) had some fabulous food ( ox cheeks were gorgeous) and the staff were so friendly, accommodating and helpful.
When I'm in the area again I'll definitely go.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank cockneyreggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

From the moment I picked up the phone to make a booking the staff were so friendly, so helpful. We stayed in room 4, a quaint room with lovely decor & pretty views.
It was was Easter Sunday & we had some chocolate eggs on our pillows, a thoughtful touch.
We're definitely going to visit again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soph1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed another wonderful night at the Angel, this time to collect our daughter fom Uni and also a treat for our Wedding Anniversary. We had a truly lovely evening, warm and welcoming as always. We had travelled through some horrific snow and a drink in front of the log fire on arrival was just what the doctor ordered. Stayed in room 4 which is small but cosy. Ate in the resteraunt which was really nice. Grill night on Fridays, brilliant idea, delicious sirloin with the best chips i've ever eaten. Enjoyed a bottle of wine with a board of cheese in the relaxing lounge area after dinner, this was not available on the grill menu but no problem when we made a special request. Slept through the night and woke to a blanket of snow and it was still falling! Decided to skip breakfast and hit the road. On checkout the young lady ( lovely girl with dark hair and glasse) offered us sandwiches and toast to go for our journey, we were very impressed. Massive thank you to all the staff, Becky, Dan and the chef, it's so good at the Angel because of you guys, well done, excellent team. See you in a month when we take Katie back to Uni, Kindest Regards, Nick & Lynne Collier

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Staff are always very welcoming and friendly. Great menu! The food, wine and service are always amazing, truly recommended. We have been for a large party of 20 people, for a meal and many times as a small group of 3/4, service and quality of food kept to a high standard at all times.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojopops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed from Saturday afternoon to Sunday morning and have nothing bad to say. The room was nicely decorated and clean and very comfortable. The drinks in the bar were nice with some very good local beers.

Had a fantastic meal in the restaurant which has a great atmosphere. The breakfast the next morning was equally as good with perfectly cooked, fresh, good quality ingredients.

Staff were always extremely help and attentive and willing to do what they could to make the stay even better.

Would definitely recommend and will hopefully visit there again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USMELLSIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Late notice booking for Mothers Day Sunday lunch. We were advised that our table had a time limit which was fine, they were really busy but didn't have to wait long between courses. Staff very polite and attentive, roast beef cooked to perfection, all other food was fabulous. Will now visit regularly. Like the 'Crown' across the street used to be. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidybatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke by Nayland
0 mi away
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
#1 of 1 in Stoke by Nayland
522 reviews
3.9 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
220 reviews
9.2 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stoke by Nayland B&B Poplars Farmhouse
Stoke by Nayland B&B Poplars Far...
#1 of 2 in Stoke by Nayland
391 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Address: Polstead Street | Stoke by Nayland, Stoke by Nayland, Babergh District CO6 4SA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Stoke by Nayland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stoke by Nayland
Price Range: $92 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Angel Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Packed full of character, AA have awarded The Angel Inn with 5 stars and a Great British Breakfast Award as well as an AA Rosette for its fine dining. It is a traditional Grade II 16th Century Suffolk coaching inn with open fires, original brickwork and oak beams. It is a typical "Old English" country pub restaurant downstairs offering fantastic food in a stunning setting with six beautifully styled boutique bedrooms, all set in the heart of Constable country. Within easy reach of Colchester and Ipswich via the A12 which is a 5 minute drive. It is owned by Exclusive Inns who also own The Anchor at Nayland and also the Swan Inn at Monks Eleigh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Stoke By Nayland
Angel Inn
The Angel Inn Stoke By Nayland, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing